FAQ

  • 1. I do not find a standard in the web shop. What do I have to do?

    We will gladly obtain standards published around the world for you. Please contact us about this.

  • 2. Can I make a standard that I bought accessible to others?

    It is forbidden by data protection legislation and the general terms and conditions to copy a standard, e-mail it, post it on a public computer drive or share it in any other way. We will be happy to advise you on a multi-user license which gives you the right to make multiple copies.

  • 3. How do I ensure that my standards are up to date?

    You will receive various subscriptions from us to monitor them and ensure they are up to date. We will be happy to advise you and will be pleased to accept your order.

  • 4. Who should take part in the SNV further training courses?

    We address both beginners and the advanced, experts and managers. The seminars offer great benefits for the respective groups of people depending on subject and content.

  • 5. How large are the seminar groups?

    On average, five to ten people take part in our seminars, ensuring that they can derive the best possible benefit.

  • 6. Do I get a discount as an SNV member?

    Yes, as an SNV member you receive 20% off the participation fee.

  • 7. What is included in the seminar price?

    The attendance fee includes the seminar documents (one or more standards), lunch and the refreshments during breaks.

  • 8. Are standards mandatory?

    Only the directives issued by a government authority (such as laws or ordinances) which has sovereign legislative competence on the basis of the constitution have a generally binding legal force. Standards on the other hand are issued by private-law organizations. These organizations, however, are not authorized to pass legislation, which means that technical standards are in principle not legally binding and do not have the character of a legal rule. Standards are nevertheless regularly referred to in Swiss laws and ordinances, and also in EU directives, which means that in such cases the standards may indeed have legal implications. Legal effects also arise if standards have the status of recognized rules of technology, which is generally assumed to be the case in the construction sector according to the Swiss Federal Supreme Court.

  • 9. What is meant by «state of the art»?

    Standards are (or should be) an expression of the latest technology, the state of the art. They reflect the prevailing view of technical practices. Because technical products (devices and equipment) must meet the recognized rules of technology with regard to safety, the standards which are themselves non-binding do also have legal significance in this sense, or a third-party effect. Thus, for example, it is assumed that a machine built in accordance with European harmonized standards meets the required health and safety requirements.

    In Switzerland, the technical legislation (such as the Federal Act on Product Safety or the guidelines to implement EU directives) also require that the recognized rules of technology are complied with, and require compliance with the current state of knowledge and technology.

  • 10. Why are European standards important for Switzerland, even though Switzerland is not a member of the EU?

    The New Approach concept introduced in 1985 by the EU in the field of product requirements (replaced in 2008 by the concept of the New Legislative Framework [NLF]) results in a connection between legislation and standardization. Both concepts are characterized by the fact that only the essential requirements for the product are specified in the harmonization legislation of the EU for the placing of products on the market. It is assumed that these essential requirements are met if the project was manufactured in compliance with harmonized standards. These harmonized standards are developed by European standardization organizations ( CEN, CENELEC, ETSI) based on a mandate issued by the EU Commission.

    In Switzerland, the harmonized standards are designated by the competent federal office and published in the Federal Gazette. Because Switzerland coordinates its technical regulations with those of its most important trading partners (Article 4 of the Swiss Federal Act on Technical Barriers to Trade – Bundesgesetz über die technischen Handelshemmnisse, THG), and usually incorporates European standards unchanged into its own national set of standards, harmonized standards also apply in Switzerland by way of references made in Swiss law.

  • 11. Why are there so many different names for ISO 9001, such as EN ISO 9001, SN EN ISO 9001, DIN EN ISO 9001, NF EN ISO 9001? Are the standardization organizations not able to use the same names?

    Standards are agreements formulated by experts on products and services in various different economic regions:

    • ISO standards are developed for the international market.
    • EN standards are developed for the European market ( EU and EFTA).
    • SN standards are developed for the Swiss market.

    The standards of the recognized standardization organizations ( ISO, IEC, ITU-T, CEN, CLC, ETSI, SNV, CES, asut) are developed by consensus. The representatives of all the countries and interest groups contribute to ensure that the requirements for goods and services are as far as possible identical around the world, with the standards also describing the achievement, monitoring and measurement of such requirements.

    In order to incorporate an international ISO standard or European EN standard into the national set of standards, the national standardization organizations always provide the core information in a national cover sheet, or a national foreword, and more rarely in national annexes. Thus an ISO 9001 becomes an EN ISO 9001 when it is adopted into the European set of standards, and an EN ISO 9001 in turn becomes an SN EN ISO 9001 when it is adopted into the Swiss set of standards. The designations SN (Switzerland), NF (France) or DIN (Germany) specify towards which market the foreword and the specific annexes are directed. The actual content of the ISO 9001 standard remains the same everywhere.

    This procedure ensures that an SN EN ISO standard is identical in its normative part to a French NF EN ISO or a German DIN EN ISO, for example. The additional benefit of an SN EN ISO consists in the specific national implementation aids provided by Swiss experts and extra information in the foreword or the national annexes.

  • 12. What is a WTO Enquiry Point?

    All WTO Member States are required to establish an enquiry point for matters concerning TBT (Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade) and SPS (Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures), which answer questions relating to technical standards and regulations.

  • 13. What is meant by a «notification»?

    Should technical regulations be imposed or amended either abroad or in Switzerland, the WTO members are to be informed in accordance with international agreements. This report is referred to as a «notification».

  • 14. What is meant by a harmonized standard?

    European harmonized standards are developed on behalf of the European Commission within the framework of the New Approach, and published in the Official Journal of the European Union. The manufacture of a product in accordance with such a standard leads to the «assumption of conformity of the product» with the basic requirements of the respective EU directive.

  • 15. What can I find in the draft standard portal?

    The draft standard portal lists the current draft standards of all subject areas. The portal also offers the possibility to comment on the drafts.

  • 16. What can I find in the national work programme?

    The national work programme lists all purely national standards and draft standards of all subject areas.

  • 17. What is the information SWITEC?

    The SWITEC info is a monthly publication that documents the changes in the Swiss set of standards and provides information on the current status of European standardization.

What is the sum of 3 and 1?

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

Oft gestellte Fragen

  • 1. Ich finde im Webshop eine Norm nicht. Was muss ich tun?

    Wir beschaffen für Sie gerne weltweit erscheinende Normen. Bitte nehmen Sie mit uns Kontakt auf.

  • 2. Darf ich eine gekaufte Norm anderen zugänglich machen?

    Es ist per Datenschutzgesetz und AGBs verboten, eine Norm zu kopieren, per Mail zu versenden, auf ein öffentliches Computerlaufwerk zu stellen oder auf anderem Weg zu teilen. Wir beraten Sie gerne bezüglich einer Mehrplatzlizenz, welche Ihnen die Berechtigung zur Vervielfältigung gibt.

  • 3. Wie stelle ich sicher, dass meine Normen aktuell bleiben?

    Sie erhalten bei uns verschiedene Abonnemente zur Überwachung der Aktualität Ihrer Normen. Gerne beraten wir Sie und nehmen Ihre Bestellung entgegen.

  • 4. Wer sollte an den SNV-Weiterbildungen teilnehmen?

    Wir sprechen sowohl Einsteiger, Fortgeschrittene, Experten als auch Führungspersonen an. Die Seminare bieten je nach Thema und Inhalt für die jeweilige Personengruppe einen grossen Nutzen.

  • 5. Wie gross sind die Seminargruppen?

    An unseren Seminaren nehmen durchschnittlich fünf bis zehn Personen teil, sodass Sie den grösstmöglichen Nutzen daraus ziehen.

  • 6. Erhalte ich als SNV-Mitglied Rabatt?

    Ja, als SNV-Mitglied erhalten Sie 20 % auf die Teilnahmegebühr.

  • 7. Was ist im Seminarpreis inbegriffen?

    In der Teilnahmegebühr sind die Seminarunterlagen (eine bis mehrere Normen), das Mittagessen sowie die Pausenverpflegung inbegriffen.

  • 8. Sind Normen verpflichtend anzuwenden?

    Allgemein verbindliche Rechtskraft besitzen nur die Erlasse einer Behörde (wie Gesetze oder Verordnungen), welche aufgrund der Verfassung hoheitliche Rechtsetzungskompetenz hat. Normen hingegen werden von privatrechtlichen Organisationen erlassen. Diese Organisationen sind aber nicht befugt, Rechtsetzung zu betreiben, womit den technischen Normen grundsätzlich der Charakter der Rechtsverbindlichkeit oder der Charakter einer Rechtsnorm fehlt. Allerdings wird in Schweizer Gesetzen oder Verordnungen und auch in EU-Richtlinien regelmässig auf Normen verwiesen, weshalb Normen in derartigen Fällen durchaus rechtliche Auswirkungen haben können. Rechtliche Auswirkungen entstehen auch, wenn Normen den Status von anerkannten Regeln der Technik haben, was im Baubereich gemäss schweizerischem Bundesgericht grundsätzlich vermutet wird.

  • 9. Was ist mit «Stand der Technik» gemeint?

    Normen sind Ausdruck des Stands der Technik (oder sollten es sein). Sie geben die herrschende Auffassung der technischen Praktiken wieder. Da technische Produkte (Geräte und Einrichtungen) hinsichtlich Sicherheit den anerkannten Regeln der Technik entsprechen müssen, haben die an sich unverbindlichen Normen in dem Sinne auch rechtliche Bedeutung bzw. eine Drittwirkung. So wird beispielsweise davon ausgegangen, dass eine Maschine, die nach europäischen harmonisierten Normen gebaut wurde, den verlangten Sicherheits- und Gesundheitsanforderungen genügt.

    Auch in der Schweiz verlangt die technische Gesetzgebung (zum Beispiel das Bundesgesetz über die Produktesicherheit oder die Erlasse zur Umsetzung von EU-Richtlinien) die Befolgung der anerkannten Regeln der Technik oder die Erfüllung des Stands von Wissen und Technik.

  • 10. Warum sind europäische Normen für die Schweiz wichtig, auch wenn die Schweiz kein EU-Mitglied ist?

    Aus dem 1985 von der EU eingeführten New-Approach-Konzept auf dem Gebiet der Produktevorschriften (2008 abgelöst durch das New-Legislative-Framework(NLF)-Konzept) ergibt sich eine Verknüpfung zwischen Gesetzgebung und Normung. Beide Konzepte zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass in den Harmonisierungsrechtsvorschriften der EU für das Inverkehrbringen von Produkten nur die wesentlichen Anforderungen an das Produkt festgelegt werden. Eine Erfüllung dieser wesentlichen Anforderungen wird vermutet, wenn das Produkt nach harmonisierten Normen hergestellt worden ist. Diese harmonisierten Normen werden von europäischen Normungsorganisationen ( CEN, CENELEC, ETSI) aufgrund eines von der EU-Kommission erteilten Mandats erarbeitet.

    In der Schweiz werden die harmonisierten Normen vom zuständigen Bundesamt bezeichnet und im Bundesblatt veröffentlicht. Weil die Schweiz ihre technischen Vorschriften auf diejenigen ihrer wichtigsten Handelspartner abstimmt (Art. 4 THG) und europäische Normen in der Regel unverändert in das nationale Normenwerk übernimmt, finden harmonisierte Normen durch Verweisungen im Schweizer Recht auch in der Schweiz Anwendung.

  • 11. Warum gibt es so viele verschiedene Bezeichnungen für die ISO 9001, zum. Beispiel. EN ISO 9001, SN EN ISO 9001, DIN EN ISO 9001, NF EN ISO 9001? Schaffen es die Normenorganisationen nicht, gleiche Bezeichnungen zu verwenden?

    Normen sind von Experten formulierte Vereinbarungen für Produkte und Dienstleistungen für verschiedene Wirtschaftsräume:

    • ISO-Normen werden für den internationalen Markt entwickelt.
    • EN-Normen werden für den europäischen Markt ( EU und EFTA) entwickelt.
    • SN-Normen werden für den Schweizer Markt entwickelt.

    Die Normen der anerkannten Normenorganisationen ( ISO, IEC, ITU-T, CEN, CLC, ETSI, SNV, CES, asut) werden im Konsensverfahren erarbeitet. Jeder Landes- bzw. alle Interessensvertreter tragen dazu bei, dass es weltweit möglichst identische Anforderungen an Güter und Services gibt, deren Erreichung, Kontrolle und Messung ebenfalls in der Norm beschrieben ist.

    Zwecks Übernahme einer internationalen ISO-Norm oder europäischen EN-Norm in das nationale Normenwerk versehen die nationalen Normenorganisationen das Kernstück von Information immer mit einem nationalen Deckblatt, teilweise mit einem nationalen Vorwort und seltener mit nationalen Anhängen. So wird aus einer ISO 9001 eine EN ISO 9001, wenn sie in das europäische Normenwerk übernommen wird, und aus der EN ISO 9001 wird wiederum eine SN EN ISO 9001, wenn sie in das Schweizer Normenwerk übernommen wird. Die Bezeichnungen SN (Schweiz), NF (Frankreich) oder DIN (Deutschland) bezeichnen, auf welchen Markt das Vorwort und die spezifischen Anhänge ausgerichtet sind. Der eigentliche Normeninhalt der ISO 9001 bleibt überall derselbe.

    Dieser Prozess gewährleistet, dass eine SN EN ISO im normativen Teil inhaltlich identisch ist mit zum Beispiel einer französischen NF EN ISO oder einer deutschen DIN EN ISO. Der Zusatznutzen einer SN EN ISO besteht in den von Schweizer Experten gelieferten, spezifisch nationalen Umsetzungshilfen und Extrainformationen im Vorwort bzw. in den nationalen Anhängen.

  • 12. Was ist ein WTO Enquiry Point?

    Die WTO-Mitgliedstaaten sind verpflichtet, eine Auskunftsstelle im Bereich TBT (Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade) und SPS (Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures) einzurichten, welche Fragen im Zusammenhang mit technischen Normen und Vorschriften beantwortet.

  • 13. Was versteht man unter einer «Notifikation»?

    Sollen im Ausland oder in der Schweiz technische Vorschriften erlassen oder geändert werden, so sind gemäss internationalen Übereinkommen die WTO-Mitglieder zu informieren. Diese Meldung wird als «Notifikation» bezeichnet.

  • 14. Was versteht man unter einer harmonisierten Norm?

    Harmonisierte Europäische Normen werden im Auftrag der Europäischen Kommission im Rahmen des New-Approach-Konzepts erarbeitet und im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Union bekannt gegeben. Die Herstellung eines Produkts nach einer solchen Norm führt zur «Vermutung der Konformität des Produkts» mit den grundlegenden Anforderungen der betreffenden EU-Richtlinie.

  • 15. Was finde ich im Entwurfsportal?

    Im Entwurfsportal werden die aktuellen Normenentwürfe aller Fachbereiche aufgeführt. Das Portal bietet zudem die Möglichkeit, die Entwürfe zu kommentieren.

  • 16. Was finde ich im nationalen Arbeitsprogramm?

    Das nationale Arbeitsprogramm listet sämtliche rein nationalen Normen und Normenentwürfe aller Fachbereiche auf.

  • 17. Was ist die Information SWITEC?

    Information SWITEC ist ein monatlich erscheinendes Publikationsorgan, welches die Veränderungen im schweizerischen Normenwerk dokumentiert und über den aktuellen Stand der europäischen Normung informiert.

Was ist die Summe aus 3 und 1?

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen