• SNV stories

Here you can find some fascinating SNV stories

The SNV has over 700 members. In 2021, we will be introducing 12 of them. We will show why these organisations are convinced of the benefits of SNV membership and how standards are involved in their day-to-day work.

SNV Story No. 8: Zurich Forensic Science Institute

What do you think of when you think of «forensics»? A crime scene, a mysterious case and a «supercop» who will solve the mystery at the end? Reality looks a little different. Dr Michael Bovens from the Zurich Forensic Science Institute (Forensisches Institut Zürich – FOR) sets the record straight: «The skills you often see a single, fictional «supercop» display are actually distributed among many of us who work here.» There is a huge range of tasks that might need to be done on any given day, so every day is different. The Zurich Forensic Science Institute (FOR) is particularly proud of the quality of its work. As the leading forensic science institute in Switzerland, authorities from other cantons and even other countries often seek the support of FOR. The Swiss Association for Standardization (SNV) spoke to Dr Michael Bovens about the institute, its work and its involvement in the standardization committee on Forensic Science: ISO/TC 272.

More information

SNV Story No. 7: DSM

Summer, sun and the beach … the time has finally come. But the sun can also have its darker side, says Dr Jürgen Vollhardt from DSM. It is a mood enhancer, essential to vitamin D production, and even helps to lower blood pressure. At the same time, however, we’ve probably all come home from a holiday with sunburn as a souvenir at one time or other, and know the pain and after-effects that come with it. While our holiday memories slowly fade once we get back into everyday life, our skin will remember each ray of sunshine for years to come. Skin cancer numbers continue to rise, with Switzerland having the dubious distinction of being No. 1 in Europe.

More information

SNV Story No. 6: Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM)

What does the term «Traditional Chinese Medicine» (TCM) make you think of? Sharp needles, mysterious herbal recipes, or a holistic approach to health and well-being and even disease prevention? An approach to medicine that follows the laws of nature has many faces, all of which have one thing in common: their effectiveness has been proven over a period of millennia, and today they work hand in hand with conventional, Western medicine. The Swiss Association for Standardization (SNV) spoke to TCM Professor Yiming Li and his team about TCM and standards. And to finish off we have three Chinese health tips to help you through the summer and the heat.

More information

SNV Story No. 5: METAS

«Metrology?» – Is that where you try to forecast the weather? No, it isn’t. The word metrology is often confused with meteorology. METAS is the Swiss competence centre for all questions relating to measurement, measuring equipment and measuring procedures. There’s a tendency to think that this particular science takes place in a manner somehow far removed from everyday life – but this impression is wrong. In our daily lives, we all benefit in one way or another from a world that can be precisely measured. We met Dr Jürg Niederhauser and Dr Peter Blattner in Wabern. In a video interview, the two explain what METAS does and demonstrate the importance of standardization on the national and international level. Join us in taking a glance behind the scenes of the Optics Laboratory and find out how LED technology is even capable of increasing our comfort in the office.

More information

SNV Story No. 4: Association for the Condom Quality Seal

The Association for the Condom Quality Seal ensures the quality of condoms and awards the popular «OK» Quality Seal used throughout Switzerland. In order to apply for the «OK» Quality Seal and import condoms to Switzerland, condom manufacturers must first satisfy requirements set out in the harmonized standard for condoms SN EN ISO 4074:2016. Learn more about the founding of the Association, how condoms are tested and the role of the Swiss musician Polo Hofer in our interview with Dr Johannes Gauglhofer, who is responsible for processing quality tests at the Association for the Condom Quality Seal.

More information

SNV Story No. 3: Touring Club Schweiz (TCS)

TCS is seen as the ultimate Swiss institution when it comes to mobility. The organization has been dealing with issues related to moving people for 125 years. Nearly every adult knows that they can call TCS if their vehicle breaks down and that the vehicle test ratings of TCS can be relied on. Consumers in the media throughout Switzerland consider its independent testing reports of vehicles, tyres and child seats a reliable and convincing source of information. In this article, we would like to show why the TCS test team comes into contact with standards practically every day.

More information

SNV Story No. 2: Swisspod Technologies SA

Swisspod is a Swiss transportation technology company, founded in 2019, leading the development of the most sustainable, efficient and comprehensive Hyperloop solution that will enhance connectivity between people and cities. In an interview with Gila Cohen Kropf from Swisspod Technologies, we will dive into this fascinating idea and how they will make it happen.

More information

SNV Story No. 1: Mammut Sports Group AG

Mammut’s success story got its start more than 155 years ago in Aargau, when Kaspar Tanner founded a rope goods factory in Lenzburg, initially to supply the agricultural sector. However, today’s mountaineering ropes made of premium materials have little in common with the oversized hemp twines of the time. Mammut now offers not only ropes but also other equipment, including shoes and clothing. The globally popular brand manufactures products according to international standards. As a long-standing partner of the Swiss Standards Association (SNV), Mammut plays an active role in standardization work.

More information

Unfortunately, there are no results for these filter criteria.

More stories?

Please add 9 and 5.

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

• SNV-Stories

Hier finden Sie die spannenden SNV-Stories

Die SNV zählt über 700 Mitglieder. Im Jahr 2021 präsentieren wir Ihnen zwölf davon. Wir zeigen auf, weshalb die Organisationen von einer SNV-Mitgliedschaft überzeugt sind und welche Berührungspunkte sie in ihrem Alltag mit Normen haben.

SNV-Story #9: CertX

Bei CertX dreht sich alles um ein zentrales Wort: Sicherheit. Als erste Schweizer Zertifizierungsstelle für Funktionale Sicherheit und Cybersecurity leistet CertX einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Zuverlässigkeit von Produkten und Prozessen. Normen unterschiedlichster Art stellen dabei das Fundament für ihre Arbeit und die Zertifizierung bei ihren Kunden. Als SNV-Mitglied engagiert sich CertX stark in der Weiterentwicklung der Normen und somit ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass Normungsarbeit in den Stellenbeschreibungen der Mitarbeitenden verankert und im Kader verbindlich gefordert wird.

Mehr Informationen

SNV-Story #8: Forensisches Institut Zürich

Denken Sie beim Begriff «Forensik» auch an einen Tatort, einen kniffligen Fall und an einen «Superkommissar», der am Schluss das Geheimnis lüftet? Doch die Realität sieht etwas anders aus. Dr. Michael Bovens vom Forensischen Institut Zürich klärt auf: «Die im Film oft auf "den Superkommissar" vereinten Kompetenzen sind bei uns auf mehrere Personen verteilt». Die Spannbreite der Tätigkeit ist riesig und kein Arbeitstag gleicht dem anderen. Besonders stolz ist das Forensische Institut Zürich (FOR) auf seine Qualitätsarbeit. Gerne wird das FOR als führendes forensisches Kompetenzzentrum der Schweiz schon mal von anderen Kantonen oder ausländischen Behörden zur Unterstützung zugezogen. Die Schweizerische Normen-Vereinigung (SNV) hat mit Dr. Michael Bovens über das Institut, seine Arbeit und sein Engagement im Normenkomitee ISO/TC 272 «Forensic Science» gesprochen.

Mehr Informationen

SNV-Story #7: DSM

Sommer, Sonne, Strand ... das Warten hat endlich ein Ende. Viele reisen in die Sommerferien und geniessen die Sonnenstrahlen. Doch Vorsicht beim Sonnenbaden. Die Hautkrebszahlen steigen weiterhin an, ohne Aussicht auf einen Abwärtstrend. Die Schweiz belegt dabei sogar den unehrenhaften ersten Platz in ganz Europa. Auf was Sie bei der Wahl Ihres Sonnenschutzes achten sollten und warum dies so wichtig ist, erfahren Sie in unserem Interview mit Dr. Jürgen Vollhardt von DSM. Das SNV-Mitglied und Material- und Life Science-Unternehmen DSM entwickelt unter anderem UV-Filter für Sonnencremen.

Mehr Informationen

SNV-Story #6: Traditionelle Chinesische Medizin (TCM)

Woran denken Sie bei der Traditionellen Chinesischen Medizin (TCM)? An stechende Nadeln, an mit Geheimnis umhüllte Kräuterrezepte oder an einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz für Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden? Die chinesische Medizin hat viele Gesichter, die eines gemeinsam haben: Sie haben sich in Tausenden von Jahren entwickelt und arbeiten heute teils Hand in Hand mit der klassischen Schulmedizin. Die Schweizerische Normen-Vereinigung (SNV) hat mit Prof. tcm Dr. med. Yiming Li und seinem Team über TCM und Normen gesprochen. Am Schluss verraten wir Ihnen noch drei chinesische Gesundheitstipps, mit denen Sie gut durch den Sommer und die Hitze kommen.

Mehr Informationen

SNV-Story #5: METAS

«Metrologie?» - sind das die mit den Wettervorhersagen? Nein. Das Wort Metrologie wird gerne und häufig mit Meteorologie verwechselt. Das METAS ist das Kompetenzzentrum des Bundes für alle Fragen des Messens, für Messmittel und Messverfahren. Man neigt zu denken, dass diese Wissenschaft fernab vom Alltag stattfindet. Doch falsch gedacht. Wir alle profitieren in der einen oder anderen Form von einer exakt messbaren Welt. In Wabern haben wir Dr. Jürg Niederhauser und Dr. Peter Blattner getroffen. In einem Videointerview erklären die beiden, was METAS macht und zeigen die Wichtigkeit der Normung auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene auf. Schauen Sie mit uns hinter die Kulissen des Optik-Labors und erfahren Sie am Schluss, wie die LED-Technik sogar unseren Wohlfühlfaktor im Büro steigern kann.

Mehr Informationen

SNV-Story #4: Verein Gütesiegel für Präservative

Der «Verein Gütesiegel für Präservative» stellt die Qualität von Präservativen sicher und vergibt das schweizweit bekannte «OK-Gütesiegel». Damit sich die Hersteller von Kondomen für das «OK-Gütesiegel» bewerben können und ihre Präservative in die Schweiz importieren dürfen, müssen sie erst die Anforderung an die harmonisierte Norm für Präservative SN EN ISO 4074:2016 erfüllen. Erfahren Sie in unserem Interview mit Dr. Johannes Gauglhofer, dem Verantwortlichen für die Abwicklung der Qualitätsprüfungen beim «Verein Gütesiegel für Präservative» mehr über die Entstehung dieses Vereins, wie die Kondome getestet werden und welche Rolle der Schweizer Musiker Polo Hofer in dieser Geschichte spielt.

Mehr Informationen

SNV-Story #3: Touring Club Schweiz (TCS)

Der TCS gilt in der Schweiz als DIE Institution schlechthin, wenn es um Mobilität geht. Seit 125 Jahren befasst sich die Organisation mit Fragen rund um die Fortbewegung der Menschen. Fast jeder Erwachsene weiss, dass er bei einer Fahrzeugpanne den TCS rufen oder sich auf die Bewertung des TCS in Sachen Fahrzeugtest verlassen kann. Seine unabhängigen Tests von Fahrzeugen, Reifen und Kindersitzen gelten schweizweit bei Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten und den Medien als zuverlässige und aussagekräftige Quelle. Warum das TCS-Testteam praktisch täglich mit Normen in Berührung kommt, wollen wir mit diesem Beitrag aufzeigen.

Mehr Informationen

SNV-Story #2: Swisspod Technologies SA

Swisspod ist ein 2019 gegründetes Schweizer Unternehmen für Verkehrstechnologie. Als Branchenvorreiter entwickelt es ein möglichst nachhaltiges, effizientes und umfassendes Hyperloop-Konzept, das Städte und Menschen in Zukunft stärker vernetzen wird. In einem Interview mit Gila Cohen Kropf von Swisspod Technologies tauchen wir in dieses spannende Thema und seine praktische Umsetzung ein.

Mehr Informationen

SNV-Story #1: Mammut Sports Group AG

Die Erfolgsgeschichte von Mammut beginnt vor mehr als 155 Jahren im Aargau, als Kaspar Tanner die Seilwarenfabrik Lenzburg gründete und als erstes die Landwirtschaft belieferte. Die heutigen Bergseile aus hochwertigen Materialien haben mit den damaligen Hanfgarnen allerdings nicht mehr viel gemeinsam. Mammut bietet heute nebst Seilen weitere Ausrüstungsgegenstände, Schuhe und Bekleidung an. Die weltweit beliebte Marke produziert nach internationalen Standards. Als langjähriger Partner der Schweizerischen Normen-Vereinigung (SNV) nimmt Mammut auch aktiv an der Normungsarbeit teil.

Mehr Informationen

Zu diesen Filterkriterien gibt es leider keine Resultate

Mehr Stories?

Was ist die Summe aus 3 und 8?

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen