SNV Story No. 1: Mammut Sports Group AG

Those who engage in Alpine sport are one big family – both on the mountain and in standardization

Mammut’s success story got its start more than 155 years ago in Aargau, when Kaspar Tanner founded a rope goods factory in Lenzburg, initially to supply the agricultural sector. However, today’s mountaineering ropes made of premium materials have little in common with the oversized hemp twines of the time. Mammut now offers not only ropes but also other equipment, including shoes and clothing. The globally popular brand manufactures products according to international standards. As a long-standing partner of the Swiss Standards Association (SNV), Mammut plays an active role in standardization work.

Image source: Mammut Sports Group AG

Putting mountains in motion from the tiny town of Seon
The municipality has some 5000 inhabitants and is home to a Swiss company that each year releases onto the market two superb collections of top-notch outdoor items for mountaineering fans while also laying claim to world market leadership in two product categories: mountain ropes and avalanche equipment. The ropes are now produced in the Czech Republic, but they continue to be put through their paces at the company headquarters in Seon. The Swiss premium brand sets high standards for itself in terms of quality and sustainability. Mammut has long recognized that standardization is a strategically relevant issue deserving the attention of the CEO and not simply an expense item on the income statement.

Standards as a factor for success
Product development sometimes does not take place by the book. “Standards bring order to the chaos of our creative process. Thanks to standards, we know the limits within which we can operate. They give us the same security that a rope gives to a mountain climber,” says André von Rotz, who has been part of the Mammut family for almost 10 years as both an engineer and passionate mountaineer. He now serves as Team Leader Product Risk and Safety, Quality Management and Stewardship.

In the interplay between standards and product development, it is crucial whether a product improvement or innovation is involved. With the latter, you start with a blank slate and define standards in parallel with the product, a process that saves time and avoids imposing restrictions. A product optimization that falls within an existing standard can mean that restrictions are tighter, resulting in schedule delays. If the old standards do not precisely match the new innovations that are developed, a safety label will not be awarded. This can lead to the paradoxical situation of having a life-saving product ready to use, but not yet being allowed to sell it. As an example, André von Rotz mentions a new type of mountain rope with outstanding sharp-edge resilience that is just waiting to conquer the market and save climbers’ lives. However, Mammut and its competitors with a similar product are optimistic that the standard will soon be adapted to include the new product features. This is one more reason why Mammut prefers to help determine standards through the Swiss Standards Association (SNV) rather than have the standards influenced by others.

In the test laboratory, many metres of mountain-climbing ropes are destroyed each day to rule out any weaknesses or deviations from standards. (Source: Mammut Sports Group AG)

Those who have great ambitions need more than standards
Mammut not only relies on strict European standards but also meets other requirements. Conventional testing of standards in the laboratory is largely based on individual criteria such as tear strength. Mammut goes one step further and additionally tests the items for their practicality when used outdoors in the natural environment. A rope can be weakened on a climbing tour if it is exposed to hours of strong ultraviolet rays on a south face, for example. On the other hand, a rope should not have any functional limitations in extreme cold and should also offer optimal protection and be able to prevent a sudden fall from one moment to the next. In addition to meticulous laboratory tests, Mammut therefore also has two outdoor test days for each new collection. However, there is no Mammut mountain for this, but instead the appropriate terrain depending on the test design, which is scouted out again and again. Mammut conducts the practical days together with athletes and lead users. Mammut has also set itself the goal of anticipating misuse by less-experienced users and of preventing unnecessary falls due to such misuse. Protecting the lives of mountain climbers is not just an empty and clichéd phrase in some strategy paper but a mission that is embraced and brought to life each day.

Safety on the mountainside is a global issue
André von Rotz is a Mammut representative and SNV expert in the standardization committee CEN/TC 136/WG 5 Mountaineering and climbing equipment. This working group was formed in the 1990s under the aegis of the European Committee for Standardization (CEN).

Development of standards for mountain sports are closely linked to the history of Alpinism. Already in 1864, The Alpine Club in Great Britain defined the first standard for mountaineering ropes. Then in 1932, the International Mountaineering and Climbing Federation (UIAA) assumed responsibility for standardization. There are currently over 2000 UIAA safety labels for more than 70 manufacturers.

Alpine mountain guide Denis Pivot heads this working group with 54 experts from 12 countries. (Source: cen.eu/Climb mountains safely, thanks to EN 893:2019! ) An annual conference is held for exchanging views and further developing the standards internationally. This conference does not take place directly on a mountain, but they often meet in the immediate vicinity of a mountain, allowing the experts to go climbing together after the intellectual exercise of discussing standards. For all experts working in the area of standardization, the collegial manner in which the working group operates and the respect with which competitors treat each other is striking. There is a sense of commitment to a higher goal and not just “bureaucratic sport”. Every decision made could one day save the life of a fellow decision-maker or one of their friends.

Life can literally hang from a thread
Let’s take one final look at the Mammut test lab. Each day, experts test kilometres of mountain-climbing ropes here, with endless curiosity and sustained enthusiasm every step of the way. Mammut has state-of-the-art equipment, with one of the rare test systems being what is known as the “drop tower”, a facility for testing falls that spans several floors. An 80-kilogramme drop mass simulates a climber’s body, allowing a test to be carried out as to whether the mountaineering rope provides the necessary protection in the event of a fall from a height of five metres. However, it’s not enough to run just one test; repetition is an important element in the test lab. For example, fake metal fingers take over this work in the carabiner endurance test, pressing against the movable locking arm thousands of times. Since most Mammut employees also enjoy mountain-climbing activities, they know how important it is that everything works perfectly. Compliance with the standards also includes complete and systematic documentation of all tests.

The drop tower simulates the fall of an 80-kilogramme climber. (Source: Mammut Sports Group AG)

Hobby, profession, passion and commitment
It is evident that many employees have turned their hobby into their profession at Mammut, and that the boundaries between superiors in the organizational hierarchy and climbing enthusiasts are quickly blurred. “During my many years of work at Mammut, I shared a flat with three of my superiors. That says everything about our respectful and collegial approach,” André von Rotz adds. Mammut offers flexible working models so that the call of the mountain can be combined with the call of work. Mammut clothing is not a uniform for employees, but part of a philosophy of life – in the office, on the mountain and in one’s leisure time. The company is currently particularly proud of its in-house Mammut Eiger Extreme collection, with which temperatures even as low as –40 degrees Celsius are no reason not to go outside. However, the greatest goal is and remains the protection and motivation of like-minded people, namely those who also engage in Alpine sport.

«Swiss 1862»

Mammut is a Swiss outdoor company founded in 1862 that offers high-quality products and unique brand experiences to Alpine sport fans around the world. For more than 155 years, the world’s leading premium brand has stood for safety and groundbreaking innovation. Mammut products combine functionality and performance with contemporary design. With its combination of hardware, shoes and clothing, Mammut is one of the most complete suppliers in the outdoor market. Mammut Sports Group AG is active in around 40 countries and employs some 900 people. (Source: conzzeta.com )

André von Rotz

André von Rotz is an SNV expert in the CEN/TC 136/WG5 Mountaineering and Climbing Equipment standardization committee. He has been working for Mammut Sports Group AG for almost 10 years and is now responsible for compliance with standards as Team Leader Product Risk and Safety, Quality Management and Stewardship. He is a qualified mechanical engineer, patent manager, PSA expert and IRATA Rope Access Technician. In his free time, he is always ascending new peaks and is involved in these two associations, among others:

  • Vitamin Berg enables people with mental disabilities to experience the beauty of Alpine sport.
  • The Rebolting Association refurbishes existing climbing routes with standardized equipment.

André von Rotz

«It is key that we do precise work in the standardization committee. Otherwise, you will suffer from your own decisions later in the test lab.»

Additional information about Mammut Sports Group AG

Additional information

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #1: Mammut Sports Group AG

Bergsportler sind eine grosse Familie – am Berg und in der Normung

Die Erfolgsgeschichte von Mammut beginnt vor mehr als 155 Jahren im Aargau, als Kaspar Tanner die Seilwarenfabrik Lenzburg gründete und als erstes die Landwirtschaft belieferte. Die heutigen Bergseile aus hochwertigen Materialien haben mit den damaligen Hanfgarnen allerdings nicht mehr viel gemeinsam. Mammut bietet heute nebst Seilen weitere Ausrüstungsgegenstände, Schuhe und Bekleidung an. Die weltweit beliebte Marke produziert nach internationalen Standards. Als langjähriger Partner der Schweizerischen Normen-Vereinigung (SNV) nimmt Mammut auch aktiv an der Normungsarbeit teil.

Bildquelle: Mammut Sports Group AG

Vom kleinen Seon aus Berge versetzen
Die Gemeinde zählt gut 5000 Einwohner/-innen und beherbergt eine Schweizer Firmenperle, die jedes Jahr zwei Kollektionen an erstklassigen Outdoor-Artikeln für «Bergfans» auf den Markt bringt und dabei in zwei Produktkategorien sogar zu den Weltmarktführern gehört: Bergseile und Lawinenausrüstung. Produziert werden die Seile heute in Tschechien, auf Herz und Nieren geprüft werden sie weiterhin am Hauptsitz in Seon. Die Schweizer Premiummarke stellt sich dabei selbst hohe Qualitäts- und Nachhaltigkeitsstandards. Mammut hat schon lange erkannt, dass Normung eine strategisch relevante Chefsache und nicht eine Aufwandsposition in der Erfolgsrechnung ist.

Normen als Erfolgsfaktor
Produktentwicklung findet nicht immer präzise nach Lehrbuch statt. «Normen bringen uns Ordnung in das kreative Chaos. Dank der Normen wissen wir, in welchem Korridor wir uns bewegen können und dürfen. Sie geben uns die gleiche Sicherheit wie dem Bergsteiger das Seil», sagt André von Rotz, der seit beinahe zehn Jahren als Ingenieur und passionierter Bergsteiger zur Mammut-Familie gehört und heute «Teamleader Product Risk and Safety, Quality Management and Stewardship» ist.

Im Zusammenspiel zwischen Normen und Produktentwicklung ist es entscheidend, ob es sich um eine Produktverbesserung oder um eine Innovation handelt. Bei letzterem startet man von der grünen Wiese und definiert die Normen parallel zum Produkt mit. Das spart Zeit und schränkt nicht ein. Bei einer Produktoptimierung, die in eine bestehende Norm fällt, kann diese zum engeren Korsett werden und für Zeitverzögerung sorgen. Passen die alten Normen nicht exakt auf die entwickelten Neuheiten, wird ein Sicherheitslabel nicht vergeben. So kann es zu der paradoxen Situation kommen, dass man zwar ein lebensrettendes Produkt parat hat, das aber noch nicht verkauft werden darf. Als Beispiel nennt André von Rotz ein neuartiges Bergseil mit hervorragender Scharfkantenfestigkeit, das nur darauf wartet, den Markt zu erobern und Bergsteigern Leben zu retten. Mammut und die Mitbewerber mit einem ähnlichen Produkt sind allerdings optimistisch, dass die Norm demnächst angepasst wird und auch die neuen Produkteigenschaften einschliessen. Ein Grund mehr, wieso Mammut es bevorzugt, über die Schweizerischen Normen-Vereinigung (SNV) Normen mitzubestimmen als von anderen beeinflusst zu werden.

Im Testlabor werden täglich meterweise Bergseile zerstört, um allfällige Schwächen oder Normenabweichungen auszuschliessen. (Quelle: Mammut Sports Group AG)

Wer sicher hoch hinaus will, braucht mehr als Normen
Mammut stützt sich nicht nur auf die strengen Europäischen Normen, sondern stellt sich darüber hinaus noch weiteren Anforderungen. Die klassische Normenprüfung im Labor basiert zum grössten Teil auf Einzelkriterien wie beispielsweise der Reissfestigkeit. Mammut geht einen Schritt weiter und prüft die Artikel zusätzlich auf Praktikabilität draussen in der Natur. So leidet ein Seil bei einer Klettertour, wenn es beispielsweise an einer Südwand stundenlang starken UV-Strahlen ausgesetzt ist. Bei extremer Kälte wiederum darf es keine Funktionseinschränkung aufweisen und muss bei einem drohenden Absturz doch von null auf hundert optimalen Schutz bieten. Mammut führt nebst den akribischen Labortests deshalb für jede neue Kollektion im Freien zwei Testtage durch. Dafür gibt es allerdings nicht den Mammut-Berg, sondern je nach Testausgestaltung das passende Gelände, das immer wieder von neuem ausgekundschaftet wird. Die Praxistage führt Mammut gemeinsam mit Athleten und Lead-Usern durch. Mammut hat sich auch zum Ziel gesetzt, Fehlanwendungen von weniger erfahrenen Nutzern zu antizipieren und so unnötige Abstürze zu vermeiden. Der Schutz der Bergsteigerin und des Bergsteigers ist nicht nur eine leere Floskel in einem Strategiepapier, sondern täglich gelebte Berufung.

Sicherheit am Berg ist ein globales Thema
André von Rotz ist Mammutvertreter und SNV- Experte im Normen-Komitee «CEN/TC 136/WG 5 Mountaineering and climbing equipment». Diese Arbeitsgruppe entstand In den 90er Jahren unter der Führung des CEN (European Committee for Standardization).

Die Entwicklung der Normen für den Bergsport sind eng mit der Geschichte des Alpinismus verbunden. Bereits 1864 definiert «The Alpine Club» in Grossbritannien die erste Norm für Bergsteigerseile. 1932 übernimmt dann UIAA (Union Internationale des Associations d’Alpinisme/Internationaler Bergsteiger- und Kletterverband) die Normungsverantwortung. Aktuell gibt es über 2000 UIAA-Sicherheitslabels für mehr als 70 Hersteller.

Der Hochgebirgsführer Denis Pivot leitet heute diese Arbeitsgruppe mit 54 Expertinnen und Experten aus zwölf Ländern. (Quelle: cen.eu/Climb mountains safely, thanks to EN 893:2019!) Jährlich findet eine Konferenz für den internationalen Meinungsaustausch und die Weiterentwicklung der Normen statt. Man trifft sich zwar nicht direkt auf dem Berg, aber häufig am Berg, denn oft werden nach der kopflastigen Arbeit noch gemeinsame Klettertouren durchgeführt. Für alle in der Normung tätigen Expertinnen und Experten ist auffällig, wie kollegial es in dieser Arbeitsgruppe zugeht und wie respektvoll Mitbewerber hier miteinander umgehen. Es ist zu spüren, dass man sich einem höheren Ziel verschrieben hat und nicht nur Bürokratiesport betreibt. Jede getroffene Entscheidung könnte eines Tages sogar das Leben eines Mitentscheiders oder seiner Freunde retten.

Das Leben kann sprichwörtlich an einem Seil hängen
Werfen wir nochmals einen letzten Blick ins Mammut Testlabor. Pro Tag testen hier Fachleute kilometerweise Bergseile, mit unendlicher Neugierde und anhaltender Begeisterung. Mammut ist modern ausgerüstet und eines der Schmuckstücke ist der sogenannte «Drop-Tower», eine über mehrere Stockwerke hinweg eingerichtete Sturzanlage. Eine 80 Kilogramm schwere Fallmasse simuliert einen Bergsteiger, mit dem geprüft wird, ob das Bergseil auch bei einem Sturz aus fünf Metern Höhe den notwendigen Schutz bietet. Doch ein Test ist kein Test. Wiederholungen sind ein wichtiges Element im Testlabor. Fingierte Metallfinger übernehmen beispielsweise diese Arbeit beim Karabiner-Dauertest und drücken Tausende Male gegen den beweglichen Verschlussarm. Da die meisten Mammut-Mitarbeitenden selbst im Gebirge unterwegs sind, wissen sie von der Wichtigkeit einer einwandfreien Funktion. Zur Erfüllung der Normen gehört auch die lückenlose und systematische Dokumentation aller Versuche.

Der «Drop-Tower» simuliert den Absturz eines 80 Kilogramm schweren Bergsteigers. (Quelle: Mammut Sports Group AG)

Hobby, Beruf, Leidenschaft und Verpflichtung
Augenfällig ist, dass bei Mammut viele Mitarbeitende ihr Hobby zum Beruf gemacht haben und die Grenzen zwischen Vorgesetzten und Kletterfreunden verschwimmen. «Während meiner langjährigen Arbeit bei Mammut habe ich bereits schon mit drei meiner Vorgesetzten in einer WG zusammengewohnt. Das sagt alles über unseren respektvollen und kollegialen Umgang», ergänzt André von Rotz. Mammut bietet flexible Arbeitsmodelle, damit der Ruf des Berges mit dem Ruf der Arbeit kombiniert werden kann. Die Mammut Bekleidung ist für die Mitarbeitenden keine Uniform, sondern Teil einer Lebensphilosophie – im Büro, am Berg und in der Freizeit. Stolz ist man aktuell besonders auf die Eigenkollektion Mammut Eiger Extreme, mit der auch Temperaturen bis zu -40 Grad kein Grund sind, nicht nach draussen zu gehen. Das grösste Ziel ist und bleibt jedoch der Schutz und die Motivation des Gleichgesinnten, nämlich des Bergsportlers.

«Swiss 1862»

Mammut ist ein 1862 gegründetes Schweizer Outdoor-Unternehmen, das Bergsportfans auf der ganzen Welt hochwertige Produkte und einzigartige Markenerlebnisse bietet. Seit mehr als 155 Jahren steht die weltweit führende Premium-Marke für Sicherheit und wegweisende Innovation. Mammut Produkte vereinen Funktionalität und Leistung mit zeitgemässem Design. Mit der Kombination aus Hartwaren, Schuhen und Bekleidung ist Mammut einer der komplettesten Anbieter im Outdoor-Markt. Die Mammut Sports Group AG ist in rund 40 Ländern tätig und beschäftigt rund 900 Mitarbeitende. (Quelle: Conzzeta)

André von Rotz

André von Rotz ist SNV- Experte im «CEN/TC 136/WG5 Mountaineering and Climbing Equipment». Seit beinahe zehn Jahren ist er der Mammut Sports Group AG treu und heute als «Teamleader Product Risk and Safety, Quality Management and Stewardship» für die Einhaltung der Normen verantwortlich. Er ist diplomierter Ingenieur für Maschinenbau, Patentmanager, PSA Sachverständiger und IRATA Rope Access Technician. In seiner Freizeit erklimmt er immer wieder neue Gipfel und engagiert sich unter anderem in diesen zwei Vereinen:

  • Vitamin Berg ermöglicht es Menschen mit geistiger Behinderung, die Schönheit des Bergsports zu erleben.
  • Der Verein Rebolting saniert bestehende Kletterrouten mit normierten Ausrüstungsgegenständen

André von Rotz

«Es ist zentral, dass wir im Normenkomitee exakte Arbeit leisten. Andernfalls leidet man später im Testlabor unter seinen eigenen Entschlüssen.»

Weitere Informationen zur Mammut Sports Group AG

auf Youtube

auf Instagram

Weitere Informationen

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Bitte rechnen Sie 3 plus 3.

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen