SNV Story No. 8: Zurich Forensic Science Institute

The truth about forensic sleuths

Most of us, if we’re honest, have gleaned most of what we know about forensics from fiction. As a result, we tend to associate forensic science with poorly-lit examination rooms, oddball characters and of course, the obligatory corpse with a label on its toe, waiting patiently in its refrigeration unit for someone to uncover the secrets it hides. The reality of forensic science – and especially the division of roles between forensic scientists and the police – is rather different, with many more layers. As Dr Michael Bovens of the Zurich Forensic Science Institute (Forensisches Institut Zürich – FOR) so humorously puts it: “The skills you often see a single, fictional “supercop” display are actually distributed among many of us who work here. We aren’t quite as quick, or quite as photogenic, but we definitely drink better coffee!” There is a huge range of tasks that might need to be done on any given day, so every day is different. Sometimes you will be securing evidence at the scene of an incident, sometimes you will be analyzing and evaluating in the laboratory, and sometimes you will be reporting findings to the investigating authority, to name just a few of the tasks.

The Zurich Forensic Science Institute (FOR) is very proud of the quality of its work. As the leading forensic science institute in Switzerland, authorities from other cantons and even other countries often seek the support of FOR. The Swiss Association for Standardization (SNV) spoke to Dr Michael Bovens about the institute, its work and its involvement in the standardization committee ISO/TC 272.

Since 2015, FOR has been a member of the committee for the development of standards in the field of Forensic Science in ISO/TC 272, which began its standardization work in 2013. The key motive for participating was to be able to influence the design of the standard. After all, the standards set here would affect the institute’s daily work going forward. It was crucial to balance maintaining high quality with keeping the entire process practical and feasible. In other words, what is theoretically possible or possible from a purely academic point of view is not necessarily an improvement in practice, nor is it necessarily customer-oriented. Dr Michael Bovens illustrates the point with a simple image: «There are many possible ways to eat soup, but not all of them are efficient or effective. A spoon is definitely preferable to chopsticks.»

Standardizing the process, not the discipline
The aim of the ISO/TC 272 standardization committee is to publish a series of standards on forensic sciences in five parts: laboratory and field-based forensic science techniques and methodology, the detection and collection of physical evidence, subsequent analysis, interpretation of results and reporting of results and findings. Some parts of the series of standards have already been adopted. The current plan is to finalize the remaining parts that are still in development by 2023.

Image: The five parts of the standardization work on forensic science described in ISO TC 272.

Michael Bovens, Doctor of Chemistry, Chief Scientist of FOR and Chairperson of the ENFSI (European Network of Forensic Science Institutes) took us through the individual parts of the ISO 21043 series of standards.

 

Definition: Who’s right? The fingerprint examiner or the chemist?
When specialists from different fields come together to discuss something, misunderstandings and miscommunications often occur. One of the reasons for this is that each person approaches the question from their own specialist angle. Each expert has their own vocabulary, their way of interpreting things and their own understanding of the problem. Attempting to reach a consensus on terminology often leads to lengthy discussions. The committee experienced this first-hand when establishing its terminology. Let’s take the term «identification» as an example. What do you think of when you hear this word? For a fingerprint examiner, a fingerprint has been identified once it has been matched to a single person. For a chemist, a substance (such as cocaine) has been identified once it has been unambiguously assigned to a particular classification using instrument-based analytical methods. The unique or individual properties of the specific sample in question are not of interest here. Classification is sufficient. The individual properties of a single sample only come into play in material recognition when there are questions about whether samples might have a common origin – whether they might come from the same production batch. With that in mind, it is easy to see how discussing and verifying various «definitions» can take a few years, especially when it comes to topics related to investigation requirements.

Image: Taking a random sample from an item seized as evidence to detect narcotics. (Source: FOR)

Recognition: guided by traces, not by hunches
Securing evidence on site is the first and most pivotal element in the evidence chain. Every trace on the site, no matter how small, must be found, recorded, properly labelled, secured, transported and stored. Throughout the process, it is vital to ensure that nothing is contaminated or destroyed. The task is to bring the material that bears witness to the crime back to the laboratory with its original qualities completely intact. The Zurich Forensic Science Institute (FOR) always attends a crime scene with at least two experts to secure traces. This is to ensure that traces are secured in the most objective way possible. The aim is to prevent anyone from being misled into jumping to conclusions due to the pressure of external expectations. The forensic scientist is responsible for the trace, which is the material – the factual evidence – that builds up a plausible picture of a course of events. Tasks such as reading between the lines, picking up on moods and emotions, talking to witnesses and interviewing suspects to establish their picture of the course of events are the responsibility of the investigators, the investigating authority in charge of the proceedings, and lawyers – these tasks are not part of the forensic scientist’s remit.

Image: Reproduction of traces made by polygrip pliers implicated in a crime on sheet lead for the purpose of comparison in a tool trace investigation. (Source: FOR)

Analysis: What makes a result a result?
Once the evidence has been transported to the laboratory, the next step in the process begins: analysis. The time this takes varies depending on the question that needs to be answered. Analysis produces results that are in themselves sufficiently meaningful and of sufficient evidential value that they can stand on their own merit and do not need to be viewed in context – apart from the tolerances that need to be taken into account. For example, identifying and, if necessary, the determining the concentration of a narcotic in a sample may in itself be sufficient for proceedings to go ahead.

After a road accident, for instance, any residues of narcotics on the driver’s clothes or in their urine can be detected and unambiguously classified. However, this still does not tell us much about the driver’s driving ability at the time of the accident, i.e., the actual effect of the narcotic on this particular person at that time. In such situations, results can no longer stand on their own merit. They need to be viewed in context – and that context is often controversial. Forensic scientists call the context the «underlying hypothesis». That task here is to assess how well the results that have been obtained fit the various hypotheses. This approach to analysis is explained in the fourth part of the series of standards.

Interpretation: when the result of the analysis is not sufficient in and of itself to answer the question that needs answered.
This is usually the case with complex series of events that can no longer be conclusively reconstructed. There are various possible explanations for the final result. In such cases, the results from the material analyses act as «silent, objective witnesses» and the task of the forensic scientist is to assess how well the results obtained match the various hypotheses.

Image: Powder deposits: combustion residue that comes out of a gun when it is fired. (Source: FOR)

Reporting: when non-lawyers write for lawyers
At the end of an examination, the information that has been gathered needs to be documented and packaged in a concise report. It is important to remember that the target audience for these reports – in Switzerland, this is the judiciary – speaks its own language, which is not necessarily the same as the language of forensic science.

The Zurich Forensic Science Institute (FOR) entrusts its employees with the entire process chain as far as possible. The person who is called to the scene of the crime to secure the evidence also writes the report at the end, and this report serves as the basis for decisions in court. Neutrality and objectivity are paramount. Forensics is not there to acquit or condemn, but only to describe, analyse and evaluate results in the light of hypotheses.

When drafting standards, it is important to bear in mind that the countries participating in the standardization process have different penal procedures. For example, there is the «adversarial system» used in Commonwealth countries (such as the UK, Australia and New Zealand) and in the USA, and there is the «inquisitorial system» used in Switzerland and other continental European countries. Although we now have state-of-the art instruments, new technologies and even artificial intelligence, human beings are still responsible for decisions made throughout the entire forensic process, from securing evidence on site to pronouncing the judgement. The people who work in forensics have always been the most valuable problem solvers in the process. Without people, the case simply doesn’t get solved.

It’s therefore easy to see why Bovens loves his job as a chemist and the «highest-ranking forensic scientist in Europe». This work is anything but everyday. And when it all gets a bit too much, the 25 km cycle home provides the perfect way to switch off.

The fingerprint as an identifier
The skin on the inner surface of the hands and feet is anatomically different from the skin on the rest of the body. It has papillary ridges (skin ridges), but no hairs, sebaceous glands or scent glands. The papillary ridges are raised lines that increase adhesion and grip. The sense of touch is also located in the papillary ridges. Therefore, fingerprints and handprints are images of these papillary ridges that occur because we leave imprints composed of sweat and other secretions on objects with our fingers and hands when we touch them. Special methods can be used to make these residues visible at the crime scene or on seized evidence. Depending on where the trace was secured, on the specific circumstances and on the statements given, a fingerprint identification may exonerate or incriminate the person in question. In 2020, FOR matched over 1000 visualized fingerprints to an individual or a trace – a significant increase in the number of hits compared to the previous year, which also had more hits than the year before it. The number of fingerprint hits now exceeds the number of DNA hits, which clearly demonstrates that the fingerprint still holds a unique position in forensics, even in the age of DNA.
(Source: FOR, Annual Report 2020)

Image: A fingerprint is carefully prepared to ensure optimal quality for identification using the comparison database. (Source: FOR)

Profile: the Zurich Forensic Science Institute – Forensisches Institut Zürich (FOR)

  • The customer: Zurich City and Cantonal Police, police corps and bodies responsible for legal proceedings in the cantons
  • The future: as of 1 January 2022, the Canton and City of Zurich will establish FOR as an independent institution under public law.
  • The head: Thomas Ottiker (since 1 September 2017)
  • The employees: 162 in total (63 at Zurich City Police and 99 at Zurich Cantonal Police – 122 men and 40 women, average age 49.1 years)
  • The professions: chemical laboratory assistants, physicists, chemists, accident analysts, secretaries, engineers, gunsmiths, weapons disarmers, biologists, phoneticians and many more.
  • Scope of work in 2020: almost 28,000 assignments (including police records services and ID checks) and more than 3,300 forensic investigations

(Source: FOR, Annual Report 2020)

The many faces of forensics
Case reports from the FOR annual reports of 2018 to 2020

FOR prepared five expert reports on the extensive investigations into the Ju-52 plane crash in August 2018. The specialist from the 3D Centre Zurich (3D-Zentrum Zürich – 3DZZ) conducted complex 3D evaluations of video recordings and photographs taken by aircraft occupants and witnesses in order to reconstruct the final phase of the flight and the crash.

A stolen queen! In the wine-growing region of Zurich, a beekeeper noticed that 14 of her 16 queen bees had disappeared. They could only have been taken by someone with knowledge of bees and with suitable equipment. A FOR employee who keeps bees as a hobby was assigned the task of securing evidence. The search for traces proved fruitless – not surprising since beekeepers of course wear protective clothes all over – but local media covered the story sympathetically. The 14 bee colonies could not survive without their queens, resulting in around CHF 3500 worth of damage.

Surveillance cameras captured an arsonist setting a fire. His claim that the recordings had been manipulated to frame him was refuted thanks to an expert opinion from the image forensics department.

A photofit of Leonardo da Vinci needed to be created for a new biography on the star of the Renaissance. During creation, the author (a Leonardo da Vinci buff) acted as the «eyewitness», while FOR’s Dr Grit Schüler worked in cooperation with the University of Zurich to show what Leonardo da Vinci might have looked like around 1490 as a beardless man in his late thirties according to the evidence.

Someone in a stolen tractor ran over a Robidog dog waste bin and some other items and caused additional property damage. The end of a joint led the police to the juvenile culprit. He had missed the last train so he procured another means of transport for himself.

In a collaborative, cross-team effort, the chemists of FOR solved a mysterious prison break. The analysis of traces on the broken bars revealed residues of a strong acid applied by the prisoner to cause the iron to rust and become brittle.

A female corpse proved difficult to identify. DNA tests and other investigations yielded no clear result. With the help of morphological image comparison and superimposition (3D skull reconstruction), it was possible to establish the identity of the elderly lady.

(Source: FOR, Annual Reports 2018–2020)

Dr Michael Bovens: FOR’s «Foreign Secretary»
«Looking back on my 25 years in police forensics, I never could have imagined that my doctorate in chemistry would lead me on a career path that provides such variety. When I became Head of the Chemistry Division and later Head of the Central Analytics Department, I quickly had to expand my professional network to other countries. These days, I often travel abroad as the sole representative of FOR in this exciting field of forensics. When I was appointed «Designated Chairperson of the ENFSI» at the end of 2017 (and was subsequently elected to the position in May 2018), I was given responsibility for the European Network of Forensic Science Institutes (73 laboratories in 39 countries). I’m honoured to be recognized as «Europe’s highest-ranking forensic scientist» and by the trust that has been placed in me. As the Chairperson of the ENFSI, I will take the lead on ENFSI business for another two years together with the Executive Board. It’s a wonderful challenge to act as Chief Scientist and as a kind of «Foreign Secretary» for FOR at the same time – it provides plenty of variety.» – Dr Michael Bovens
(Source: FOR, Annual Report 2019)

Dr Michael Bovens

Doctor of Chemistry, Chief Scientist of FOR and Chairperson of the ENFSI (European Network of Forensic Science Institutes)

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
What is the sum of 3 and 2?

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #8: Forensisches Institut Zürich

Auf dem Marktplatz der Spurensucher

Die Forensik kennen wir meistens – Hand aufs Herz – aus dem Krimi. Deshalb verbinden wir diese Wissenschaft hauptsächlich mit schlecht beleuchteten Untersuchungsräumen, schrulligen Figuren und grösstenteils mit an den grossen Zehen beschrifteten Leichen, die in Kühlboxen darauf warten, dass man ihnen ihre Geheimnisse entlockt. Die Wirklichkeit und die Rollenverteilung zwischen der Forensik und der Polizei sind vielschichtiger und sehen ein bisschen anders aus. «Die im Film oft auf „den Superkommissar“ vereinten Kompetenzen sind bei uns auf mehrere Personen verteilt; wir sind nicht ganz so schnell, vielleicht nicht ganz so fotogen, trinken aber definitiv den besseren Kaffee», so fasst Dr. Michael Bovens vom Forensischen Institut Zürich das reale Bild mit einem Schmunzeln zusammen. Die Spannbreite der Tätigkeit ist riesig und kein Arbeitstag gleicht dem anderen: Spurensicherung am Ereignisort, Analyse und Auswertung im Labor und anschliessende Berichterstattung zuhanden der Untersuchungsbehörde.

Das Forensische Institut Zürich (FOR) ist stolz auf seine Qualitätsarbeit. Gerne wird das FOR als führendes forensisches Kompetenzzentrum der Schweiz schon mal von anderen Kantonen oder ausländischen Behörden zur Unterstützung zugezogen. Die Schweizerische Normen-Vereinigung (SNV) hat mit Dr. Michael Bovens über das Institut, seine Arbeit und sein Engagement im Normenkomitee ISO/TC 272 gesprochen.

Seit 2015 ist das FOR Mitglied im Komitee zur Ausarbeitung von Normen rund um das Thema «Forensic Science» im ISO/TC 272, welches im Jahr 2013 seine Normungsarbeit aufgenommen hat. Ausschlaggebendes Motiv zur Mitarbeit war, bereits bei der Gestaltung der Norm Einfluss auf diese zu nehmen. Denn die Normen werden später die tägliche Arbeit beeinflussen. Einerseits soll die Qualität hochgehalten werden, andererseits will man die Praktikabilität im Gesamtprozess nicht verlieren. Denn was theoretisch oder rein akademisch vielleicht auch noch möglich wäre, bedeutet nicht gleichzeitig eine Verbesserung in der Praxis oder heisst nicht unbedingt, kundenorientiert zu sein. Oder wie Dr. Michael Bovens es bildlich vereinfacht: «Suppe kann man auf unterschiedlichste Weise essen – aber nicht jede ist effizient und zielführend. Der Löffel ist hier dem Essstäbchen klar vorzuziehen».

Nicht die Disziplin normen, sondern den Prozess
Ziel des Normenkomitees ISO/TC 272 ist die Publikation einer Normenreihe «Forensic sciences» mit fünf Teilen, die sich auf labor- und feldbasierte forensische Wissenschaftstechniken und -methodik, die Erkennung und Sammlung von physischen Spuren, die anschliessende Analyse, die Interpretation der Resultate sowie auf die Berichterstattung von Ergebnissen und Befunden beziehen. Einzelne Teile der Normenreihe sind bereits verabschiedet. Der aktuelle Plan ist, dass sich die weiteren Teile, die sich noch in der Entwicklung befinden, bis 2023 finalisiert werden.

Bild: Die 5 Teile der Normungsarbeit rund um das Thema «Forensic science», die im ISO TC 272 beschrieben werden.

Michael Bovens, Doktor der Chemie, Leitender Wissenschafter des FOR und «Chairman ENFSI» (The European Network of Forensic Science Institutes) hat uns durch die einzelnen Teile der Normenreihe ISO 21043 Forensik geführt.

 

Definition: Wer hat Recht? Der Daktyloskop oder der Chemiker?
Unterhalten sich Leute aus unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen, gibt es in der Kommunikation nicht selten Verständnisprobleme. Das liegt unter anderem daran, dass jeder eine Fragestellung aus seinem Blickwinkel anders beurteilt. Jede Fachperson hat ein eigenes Vokabular, eine eigene Auslegeordnung und ein eigenes Verständnis des Problems. Die Einigung auf Begrifflichkeiten führt oft zu langatmigen Diskussionen. Das hat auch das Komitee bei der Ausarbeitung der Terminologie erfahren. Veranschaulichen wir das am Begriff «Identifizierung». Was stellen Sie sich darunter vor? Für einen Daktyloskopen ist beispielsweise ein Fingerabdruck identifiziert, wenn er ihn einer Person im Sinne der Individualisierung zuordnen kann. Für den Chemiker ist die Identifizierung einer Substanz wie beispielsweise Kokain dann erledigt, wenn er durch Anwendung von instrumentalanalytischen Methoden die Substanz eindeutig im Sinne der Klassifizierung identifiziert hat. Einzigartige bzw. individuelle Eigenschaften der Probe sind hier nicht von Interesse – eine Klassifizierung ist ausreichend. Fragen der Individualisierung kommen bei der Materialbeschaffung erst dann ins Spiel, wenn die Frage der gemeinsamen Herkunft im Sinne eines Produktionsbatches gestellt werden. Mit diesem Hintergrund kann man nachvollziehen, warum die Diskussion und Klärung über verschiedene «Definitionen» bereits ein paar Jahre andauern, insbesondere hinsichtlich Anforderungen an die Untersuchung.

Bild: Entnahme einer Stichprobe zum Nachweis von Betäubungsmittel in einem sichergestellten Asservat. (Quelle: FOR)

Recognition: Die Spur leitet und nicht das Bauchgefühl
Die Spurensicherung vor Ort ist das erste zentrale Element in der Beweiskette. Jede noch so kleine Spur vor Ort soll gefunden, aufgenommen, ordnungsgemäss beschriftet, gesichert, transportiert und gelagert werden. Während des gesamten Prozesses darf nichts verunreinigt oder zerstört werden. Es gilt, die Ursprungsqualität der materiellen Tatzeugen einwandfrei ins Labor zu bringen. Das Forensische Institut Zürich erscheint immer mit mindestens zwei Expertinnen oder Experten zur Spurensicherung. Dies, um stets Sachlichkeit und Objektivität in bestmöglicher Form zu gewährleisten. Es soll verhindert werden, dass sich eine Person durch den Erwartungsdruck von aussen auf voreilige Schlüsse fehlleiten lässt. Die Spur, das Material, der Sachbeweis zur plausiblen Darlegung des Gesamtbildes eines Hergangs ist Aufgabe der Forensikerin oder des Forensikers. Zwischen den Zeilen lesen, Stimmungen und Emotionen aufnehmen, mit Zeugen reden, Tatverdächtige einvernehmen und so ihr Bild des Herganges herleiten, ist Aufgabe der Ermittler und der Verfahrensleitung als untersuchende Behörde sowie der Anwälte - nicht der Forensik.

Bild: Reproduzieren von Vergleichsspuren mit einer inkriminierten Polygripzange auf Walzblei zur Werkzeugspurenuntersuchung. (Quelle: FOR)

Analyse: Wann ist ein Resultat ein Resultat?
Nach dem Transport der Beweismittel ins Labor beginnt der nächste Schritt im Prozess – die Analyse. Je nach Fragestellung ist diese schneller erledigt oder bedarf mehr Zeit. Die Analyse liefert Resultate, die als solche bereits genügend Aussagekraft und Beweiswert haben, damit sie für sich alleinstehen können und – neben den zu berücksichtigenden Toleranzen – nicht in einen Kontext gestellt werden müssen. So kann die Identifizierung und allenfalls Gehaltsbestimmung eines Betäubungsmittels in einer Probe für die Verfahrensleitung bereits ausreichend sein.

Beispielsweise können nach einem Verkehrsunfall an den Kleidern des Fahrers und in seinem Urin Rückstände von Betäubungsmitteln nachgewiesen und eindeutig klassifiziert werden. Dies sagt aber noch wenig über seine Fahrfähigkeit zum Unfallzeitpunkt, also die individualisierte Wirkung des Betäubungsmittels auf die Person zu jenem Zeitpunkt, aus. In solchen Situationen können Resultate nicht mehr für sich alleinstehen, sondern müssen in einen – oft umstrittenen – Kontext gestellt werden. Dieser Kontext wird in den Verfahren von den Forensikern als «zugrundeliegende Hypothese» bezeichnet: Es gilt zu beurteilen, wie gut die erhaltenen Resultate zu den verschiedenen Hypothesen passen. Diese Vorgehensweise der Beurteilung wird im vierten Teil der Normenreihe erläutert.

Interpretation: Wenn das Resultat der Analyse für sich selbst nicht ausreicht, um die gestellte Frage zu beantworten.
Das ist meist bei komplexen und nicht mehr eindeutig rekonstruierbaren Abläufen der Fall. Das Endergebnis ist auf unterschiedliche Art erklärbar. Die Resultate aus den Materialanalysen dienen dann als «stille, objektive Zeugen» und die Forensikerin oder der Forensiker beurteilt, wie gut die erhaltenen Resultate mit den verschiedenen Hypothesen vereinbar sind.

Bild: «Schmauch» - Verbrennungsrückstände, die bei der Schussabgabe aus der Waffe austreten. (Quelle: FOR)

Reporting: Wenn Nicht-Juristen für Juristen schreiben
Am Schluss einer Untersuchung gilt es, die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse zu dokumentieren und in treffende Worte zu packen. Dabei darf nicht vergessen werden, dass die Zielgruppe der Berichte – in der Schweiz die Justiz – ihre eigene Sprache spricht, die nicht zwingend mit dem Forensik-Vokabular identisch ist.

Das Forensische Institut Zürich überträgt seinen Mitarbeitenden möglichst die gesamte Prozesskette. Die Person, die an den Tatort gerufen wird und dort die Spuren sichert, verfasst am Schluss auch den Bericht, der im Gericht als Entscheidungsbasis dient. Dabei gelten als oberstes Gebot die Neutralität und die Sachlichkeit. Durch die Forensik wird weder freigesprochen noch verurteilt, es wird ausschliesslich beschrieben, analysiert und Resultate im Lichte der Hypothesen bewertet.

Für die Normenerstellung ist zu beachten, dass es in den am Normungsprozess teilnehmenden Ländern unterschiedliche Strafverfahren gibt. So kennen wir das «Adversarial System» aus dem Commonwealth-Raum (wie UK, Australien, Neuseeland) und den Vereinigten Staaten oder das «Inquisitorial System» wie es in der Schweiz oder in weiteren kontinentaleuropäischen Ländern angewendet wird. Trotz modernsten Instrumenten, Technologien und gar künstlicher Intelligenz steht der Mensch bei den Entscheidungen im gesamten forensischen Prozess in der Verantwortung, von der Spurensicherung vor Ort bis zur Urteilsverkündung. Der wichtigste Puzzler oder die wertvollste Puzzlerin sind und bleiben die Mitarbeitenden. Ohne Mensch läuft in der Falllösung nichts.

Man versteht, wieso der Chemiker und «höchste Forensiker Europas» seinen Beruf liebt. Denn der Alltag kehrt nie in seine Arbeit ein. Und wenn ein Tag emotional doch zu aufwühlend war, kann er auf der 25 Kilometer langen Velofahrt nach Hause perfekt abschalten.

Aktenzeichen Fingerabdruck
Die Haut an den Handinnenseiten und Fusssohlen unterscheidet sich anatomisch von der übrigen Haut. Sie weist Hautleisten oder Papillarleisten auf, aber keine Haare, Talg- und Duftdrüsen. Es handelt sich bei diesen Leisten um linienförmige Erhebungen, durch die sich die Haftung und Griffigkeit erhöht. Ausserdem ist in den Papillarleisten der Tastsinn lokalisiert. Finger- und Handabdrücke sind demnach Abbilder dieser Hautleisten, da wir mit unseren Fingern und Händen Abdrücke aus Schweiss und anderen Sekreten auf Gegenständen hinterlassen. Mit speziellen Methoden lassen sich diese Rückstände am Tatort oder auf sichergestellten Asservaten sichtbar machen. Je nach Sicherungsort, konkreten Umständen und Aussagen kann sich eine Identifizierung für die betroffene Person entlastend oder belastend auswirken. Im Jahr 2020 konnten im FOR über 1000 sichtbar gemachte Fingerabdrücke einer Person oder Spur zugeordnet werden, womit die bereits im Vorjahr gesteigerte Trefferanzahl nochmals deutlich erhöht wurde. Die Anzahl Treffer übersteigt neu die Anzahl DNA-Treffer und zeigt deutlich, dass dem Fingerabdruck auch im Zeitalter der DNA nach wie vor eine einzigartige Stellung zukommt.
(Quelle: FOR, Jahresbericht 2020)

Bild: Ein Fingerabdruck wird so aufbereitet, dass die Qualität optimal für die Identifizierung mit der Vergleichsdatenbank ist. (Quelle: FOR)

Steckbrief - Forensisches Institut Zürich FOR

  • Auftraggeber: Stadt- und Kantonspolizei Zürich, Polizeikorps und Verfahrensleitungen aus den Kantonen
  • Zukunft: Das FOR wird per 1. Januar 2022 als selbständig öffentlich-rechtliche Anstalt von Kanton und Stadt Zürich errichtet.
  • Leiter: Thomas Ottiker (seit 1. September 2017)
  • Mitarbeitende: 162 (63 Stadtpolizei Zürich und 99 Kantonspolizei Zürich davon 122 Männer und 40 Frauen, Altersdurchschnitt 49.1)
  • Berufe: Chemielaborantinnen/Chemielaboranten, Physiker/innen, Chemiker/innen, Unfallanalytiker/innen, Sekretär/innen, Ingenieurinnen/Ingenieure, Büchsenmacher/innen, Entschärfer/innen, Biologinnen/Biologen, Phonetikerinnen/Phonetiker und viele mehr.
  • Arbeitsumfang 2020: knapp 28'000 Aufträge (inkl. Erkennungsdienstliche Erfassungen und Ausweisprüfungen) und mehr als 3'300 Spurensicherungen

(Quelle: FOR, Jahresbericht 2020)

Vielfältige Spurensuche
Fallbeschreibungen aus den FOR-Jahresberichten 2018-2020

Über die umfangreichen Untersuchungen zum Absturz der Ju-52 im August 2018 wurden durch das FOR fünf Gutachten erstattet. Die Spezialistin des 3DZZ führte aufwendige 3D-Auswertungen von Videoaufzeichnungen und Fotografien von Flugzeuginsassen und Zeugen durch, um die letzte Flugphase und den Absturz zu rekonstruieren.

Königin gestohlen! Im Zürcher Weinland bemerkte eine Imkerin, dass 14 ihrer 16 Bienenköniginnen verschwunden waren. Die Tiere konnten nur durch eine «bienenkundige Person» mit tauglicher Ausrüstung entwendet worden sein. Mit der Spurensicherung wurde ein FOR-interner Freizeitimker beauftragt. Da sich Imker bekanntlich umfassend schützen, blieb die Spurensuche erfolglos, wurde aber in den lokalen Medien wohlwollend kommentiert. Die 14 Bienenvölker sind ohne Königinnen nicht überlebensfähig, wodurch ein Schaden von circa 3500 Franken entstand.

Ein Brandstifter wurde beim Legen eines Brandes durch Überwachungskameras gefilmt. Seine Behauptung, wonach die Aufnahmen manipuliert worden seien, um den Verdacht auf ihn zu lenken, konnte mithilfe eines Gutachtens der Bildforensik widerlegt werden.

Für eine neue Biografie über Leonardo da Vinci sollte ein Phantombild des Renaissance-Superstars erstellt werden. Beim Erstellen fungierte der Buchautor und Da-Vinci-Kenner als «Augenzeuge», während Dr. Grit Schüler vom FOR in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Zürich seinen Angaben entsprechend aufzeigte, wie da Vinci um 1490 als bartloser Enddreissiger ausgesehen haben könnte.

Mit einem entwendeten Traktor wurde unter anderem ein «Robidog»-Kasten umgefahren und weiterer Sachschaden verursacht. Ein Joint Stummel führte die Polizei zum jugendlichen Täter. Er hatte den letzten Zug verpasst und beschaffte sich deshalb eine alternative Fahrgelegenheit.

In einer teamübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit klärten die Chemikerinnen und Chemiker im FOR einen mysteriösen Gefängnisausbruch auf. Die Spurenanalyse der abgerissenen Gitterstäbe deuteten auf Rückstände einer starken Säure hin, die vom Gefangenen aufgetragen wurde, um das Eisen zum Rosten zu bringen und damit brüchig zu machen.

Die Identifizierung einer weiblichen Leiche stellte sich als schwierig heraus. Unter anderem lieferten die DNA-Untersuchungen kein klares Ergebnis. Mittels morphologischem Bildvergleich und Superprojektion (3D-Schädel-Rekonstruktion) konnte die Identität der älteren Dame geklärt werden.

(Quelle: FOR, Jahresberichte 2018-2020)

Dr. Michael Bovens: Der «Aussenminister»
«Ich blicke auf eine 25-jährige Tätigkeit im polizeilich-forensischen Umfeld zurück, wie ich sie mir als promovierter Chemiker abwechslungsreicher nicht vorstellen könnte. Als Sektionschef Chemie und später Fachbereichsleiter Zentrale Analytik drängte sich schon bald die Erweiterung meines beruflichen Netzwerks ins Ausland auf. Gegenwärtig bin ich oft als Einzelkämpfer für das FOR in einem spannenden Umfeld im Ausland unterwegs. Mit der Ernennung zum «Designated Chairman von ENFSI» Ende 2017 und der nachfolgenden Wahl im Mai 2018 wurde mir die Verantwortung für das Europäische Forensik-Netzwerk übertragen (73 Labore in 39 Länder). Ich freue mich über diese internationale Anerkennung als «höchster Forensiker Europas» und das damit verbundene Vertrauen. Als ENFSI Chairman führe ich mit dem Executive Board die Geschäfte dieser Gesellschaft noch für weitere zwei Jahre – eine vielseitige Herausforderung für mich als Leitender Wissenschafter und quasi FOR-Aussenminister.» - Dr. Michael Bovens
(Quelle: FOR, Jahresbericht 2019)

Doktor der Chemie, Leitender Wissenschafter des FOR und «Chairman ENFSI» (The European Network of Forensic Science Institutes)

Dr. Michael Bovens

Doktor der Chemie, Leitender Wissenschafter des FOR und «Chairman ENFSI» (The European Network of Forensic Science Institutes)

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Bitte addieren Sie 1 und 9.

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen