SNV Story No. 9: CertX

Certification bodies are nothing to fear

At CertX, it all comes down to safety and security. As the first Swiss certification body for functional safety and cybersecurity, CertX plays a key role in ensuring that products and processes are reliable. A wide range of standards serve as the foundation for their work and their customers’ certifications. As a member of SNV, CertX is greatly involved in the development of standards, and therefore it is no surprise that standardization work is a fixed part of their employees job descriptions and is expressly stipulated by management.

Automation, robotics, drones, autonomous vehicles – there is so much we could talk about with the certification body CertX in Fribourg. When we sat down with CEO Jens Henkner, we decided to discuss operational cybersecurity, autonomous and electric vehicles, artificial Intelligence and, of course, standards.

Hacker attacks on cars or ventilators?
Cybersecurity is about more than just hacker attacks on a company’s e-mail system, servers or customer databases. Everything on a network can be hacked: from medical equipment to power grids, from home alarm systems to gas networks. These cases fall under the term «operational cybersecurity». For example, if a car has been manufactured after 2017, it contains a SIM card as standard. This SIM card automatically places an emergency call in the event of an accident. A small feature that connects the car to other systems, making it an attractive target for hackers. For example, in 2015, hackers were able to commandeer a Chrysler Cherokee with no cables and from a great distance using nothing but a laptop. The driver no longer had any control over the engine, steering or brakes. The result? Class action lawsuits, legal proceedings, software updates and the recall of 1.4 million Chrysler Jeeps.

A more recent example is the hacker attack on the largest petrol pipeline in the US, which resulted in Colonial Pipeline paying hackers millions in US dollars and Bitcoins in order to regain control over their petrol supply. To avoid these security gaps wherever possible, processes and products are evaluated and certified in terms of their security. «It’s a smart idea to involve a certification body early on in the process of developing a product or a service because the development process is a key element of a certification, and you cannot make any corrections after the fact,» explains Jens Henkner.

Hackers with good intentions?
In order to make it as difficult as possible for hackers with bad intentions to succeed, manufacturers, industrial users and end consumers must be aware of any security gaps and comply strictly with any and all preventive measures. Attacks like the one on Chrysler were carried out on purpose in order to alert companies to major gaps in security. In their free time, CertX employees are also involved in what is referred to as «ethical hacking» so that consumers and companies can avoid serious incidents. Jens Henkner emphasizes: «In order to achieve the greatest possible security, everyone – from developers to end users – has to develop and use networked devices correctly. We need cybersecurity to ensure that products that are secure in the factory remain secure in the real world. Unfortunately, many actors still choose to wait until something bad happens rather than take the necessary steps to prevent it from happening in the first place.»

Mistakes: a learning opportunity or a black mark?
«In the aerospace industry, it has long been standard practice to share information about mistakes so everyone can learn from them.» However, most industries are far from embracing this practice unconditionally. For example, it’s hard to imagine the automotive industry openly discussing their mistakes the way they do at Boeing. And yet, car makers are slowly changing their attitude towards mistakes. Jens Henkner feels certain that standards will play a key role here as well. He elaborates as follows: «Standards are just experience laid down in writing. As an engineer, I don’t see the point in reinventing the wheel.» CertX also believes in this approach. That is why in their day-to-day work with their customers, they see themselves as an expert partner rather than a stodgy inspection authority. «We are the co-pilot. We read the checklist and ask the right questions so that the customers can easily find the right solutions for themselves.»

Impressions from CertX:

SwissMoves test vehicle on the grounds of blueFACTORY in Fribourg

Impressions from CertX:

SwissMoves remote control stand at Mobility Day at the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR)

Impressions from Certx:

The autonomous TPF shuttle on the grounds of the Marly Innovation Center in front of the CertX office

Do I drive my car or does it drive me?
Traditional combustion engines are no longer the only mode of transport dominating our streets. The number of electric cars is steadily increasing. Phrases like «autonomous driving» are heating up the discussion about safe driving. If we believe the visionaries, street traffic will undergo a fundamental change in the coming years. It’s a fact that the automotive industry today is facing entirely different challenges compared to a just few years ago. Building mechanical and electric cars are two completely different disciplines. For example, when cars no longer have a clutch (the manual control that interrupts propulsion), manufacturers are faced with new tests that require functional, secure control systems. New puzzle pieces like charging stations or more powerful batteries are now also appearing on the radar. Today, the main issue facing electric cars is batteries catching fire, not problems with driver assistance systems. «Even in this kind of innovative environment, standards help by serving as examples of best practices and as a recipe book during development,» says Jens Henkner. «Raising awareness amongst employees and proper training are the keys to success. That is why we are proud that, before COVID-19, we trained more automotive employees in the area of standardization than anyone else in the world.»

What does Jens Henkner think about autonomous driving? He sees a great deal of potential when it comes to highway driving; however, given the complexity of inner-city driving, he finds it hard to imagine autonomous driving in that scenario any time soon. CertX believes in the multimodal transport of the future, and is therefore involved in the School Of Management Fribourg’s SwissMoves research project, where they contribute their knowledge of certifications in the areas of functional safety and cybersecurity.

And what about artificial intelligence?
Today, many applications use artificial intelligence, in particular for image recognition in various aspects of automation. The difficulty lies in the fact that after development, these neural networks effectively become a black box, making them difficult to monitor. For this reason, it is even more important to pursue a process-oriented approach and the corresponding certifications. If errors occur while someone is driving, for example, they are always attributed to individual drivers as failures and not seen as systematic errors. Artificial intelligence now needs to prove that it is safer than humans, that it does not exceed current human error rates, and that it is free of systematic errors. Real-world proof requires an immense amount of testing, which is prohibitively expensive in today’s development cycles. In addition, there are still almost no official standards in this area. «It’s no longer about evaluating the final results, but rather about optimally regulating the development process in order to achieve an equivalent level of safety.» Factors such as the dual-control principle, seamless documentation, a clean data basis, digitalized tests, etc., all play an important role in determining the safety of neural networks. «The biggest challenge is to pack agile systems into formalized standards. In the field of standardization work, there are sources of friction between everyone involved that I find to be extremely helpful because, at the end of the day, they lead to good results,» emphasizes Jens Henkner.

Certification bodies: spoilsports or partners?
CertX’s answer to this question is unequivocal. As the first Swiss certification body for functional safety and cybersecurity, they clearly see themselves as a partner. «Our knowledge of standards and standardization helps our customers adapt their processes from day one in order to achieve the greatest possible success, prevent errors during development, and therefore save time and money. At the same time, we also bring our practical knowledge to our standardization work with the SNV, which creates a loop, making standards more pragmatic and designing the development process to be more effective. Don’t be afraid of standards; you can take advantage of all of the knowledge collected in our guidelines and in our minds.»

CertX
CertX was founded in 2018. It is the first Swiss certification body for functional safety and cybersecurity and is accredited by the Swiss Accreditation Service (SAS). CertX’s five employees attach great importance to a high degree of impartiality, objectivity and trustworthiness. In addition to the application of existing standards, CertX also plays a role in designing future standards. For example, they are the Swiss delegates for ISO 21448 (SOTIF – Safety of the intended functionality for autonomous vehicles) and a member of the technical committee TC65 «Industrial process measurement, control and automation» for IEC 61508 and IEC 62443. CertX is integrated into a strong and innovative partner network.

Dr Jens Henkner
Jens Henkner studied Aerospace Technology at the Technical University of Munich and completed his doctoral thesis in the Department of Flight Mechanics in 1999. He started his career at Fairchild Dornier as the Head of the Development Team for the flight physics of the Dornier 728. As Chief Engineer, he was entirely responsible for the development of the 70-seat regional airliner. In 2003, he came to Airbus where shortly thereafter, he was named VP and Chief Engineer of the German share of the A330/340 programme, including responsibility for the safety of the active fleet. Another professional milestone was his work at Suzlon, an Indian OEM for wind turbines, where he served as the Managing Director of Suzlon Energy GmbH in Germany and, as the Head of Technology, led development teams in India, Germany, the Netherlands and Denmark. In 2018, he helped establish CertX as CEO. Jens Henkner is 55 years old and lives with his wife and son in Freiburg, Germany. He enjoys spending his free time in the mountains.

Amin Amini, Jens Henkner and VK Chong

at CES Asia in Shanghai

Find out more
CertX
CertX blog categories automotive industry | cybersecurity | drones | machinery |railways
SwissMoves

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Please add 1 and 2.

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #9: CertX

Keine Angst vor Zertifizierungsstellen

Bei CertX dreht sich alles um ein zentrales Wort: Sicherheit. Als erste Schweizer Zertifizierungsstelle für Funktionale Sicherheit und Cybersecurity leistet CertX einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Zuverlässigkeit von Produkten und Prozessen. Normen unterschiedlichster Art stellen dabei das Fundament für ihre Arbeit und die Zertifizierung bei ihren Kunden. Als SNV-Mitglied engagiert sich CertX stark in der Weiterentwicklung der Normen und somit ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass Normungsarbeit in den Stellenbeschreibungen der Mitarbeitenden verankert und im Kader verbindlich gefordert wird.

Automation, Robotics, Drohnen, selbstfahrende Züge – es gäbe so viel zu besprechen mit der Zertifizierungsstelle CertX in Fribourg. Wir haben uns mit CEO Jens Henkner für die Themen operationelle Cybersecurity, autonomisches und elektrisches Fahren, Künstliche Intelligenz und natürlich Normen entschieden.

Hackerangriff auf Auto oder die Beatmungsmaschine?
Cybersecurity betrifft nicht nur den Hackerangriff auf das E-Mail-System, die Firmenserver oder die Kundendatenbank. Sprichwörtlich alles, was vernetzt ist, kann gehackt werden: von medizinischen Geräten bis zum Stromnetz, von der heimischen Alarmanlage bis zum Gasnetz. Man spricht in diesen Fällen von «Operationeller Cybersecurity». Ist beispielsweise ein Auto nach 2017 angeschafft worden, hat es serienmässig eine SIM-Karte eingebaut, die im Notfall einen automatischen Emergency Call starten würde. Ein kleines Feature, dass das Auto mit anderen Systemen vernetzt und somit für Hacker attraktiv macht. So haben es beispielsweise Hacker 2015 geschafft, einen Chrysler Cherokee fremd zu steuern: Das alles ohne Kabel, aus grosser Entfernung und mit einem Laptop. Der Fahrer hatte keine Kontrolle mehr über Motor, Lenkung und Bremse. Sammelklagen, Gerichtsverhandlungen, Software-Anpassungen und eine Rückrufaktion von 1.4 Mio. Chrysler Jeeps waren die Folgen.

Ein jüngeres Beispiel ist der Hackerangriff auf die grösste Benzin-Pipeline in den USA, wo Colonial Pipeline den Hackern letztendlich Millionen bezahlte – in US-Dollars und Bitcoins – um wieder Kontrolle über die Benzinversorgung zu erhalten. Um solche Sicherheitslücken wo immer möglich zu vermeiden, werden Prozesse und Produkte sicherheitstechnisch überprüft und zertifiziert. «Es lohnt sich, eine Zertifizierungsstelle bereits frühzeitig in der Entwicklung eines Produktes oder einer Dienstleistung miteinzubeziehen, da der Entwicklungsprozess ein wesentliches Element einer Zertifizierung und im Nachhinein nicht mehr zu korrigieren ist», erläutert Jens Henkner.

Hacken mit ehrenswerten Absichten?
Um es Hackern mit düsteren Absichten so schwierig wie möglich zu machen, müssen Hersteller, industrielle Anwender sowie Endverbraucher sich der Sicherheitslücken bewusst sein und Vorsichtsmassnahmen strikte einhalten. Angriffe wie bei Chrysler werden von Hackern bewusst unternommen, um Firmen auf eminente Sicherheitslücken hinzuweisen. Auch Mitarbeitende der CertX beteiligen sich in der Freizeit am sogenannten «Ethical Hacking», damit Verbrauchern und Firmen grösseren Schaden erspart werden kann. Jens Henkner unterstreicht: «Nur wenn alle, von der Entwicklung bis hin zum Anwender vernetzte Geräte korrekt entwickeln und handhaben, ist die grösstmögliche Sicherheit gewährleistet. Damit sichere Produkte aus der Fabrik auch sicher bleiben, benötigt man Cybersecurity. Leider verfolgen viele Akteure noch das Floriani-Prinzip – nämlich die Gefahrenlage nicht zu lösen, sondern erstmal abzuwarten was passiert».

Sind Fehler Lehrmeister oder Tolggen im Reinheft?
«In der Luftfahrt ist man sich seit langem gewohnt, Fehler zu teilen und daraus gemeinsam zu lernen». Die meisten Branchen sind noch weit davon entfernt, diese Kultur vorbehaltlos zu leben. Öffentliche Diskussionen über Fehler wie bei Boeing kann man sich beispielsweise in der Autoindustrie nur schwer vorstellen. Doch langsam ändert sich auch hier die Einstellung zur Fehlerkultur. Jens Henkner ist überzeugt, dass Normen in diesem Bereich eine tragende Rolle spielen können. Er führt aus: «Normen sind in Schrift gegossene Erfahrung, als Ingenieur sehe ich als unsinnig an, das Rad zweimal zu erfinden». Diesem Grundsatz folgt auch CertX. In der täglichen Zusammenarbeit mit ihren Kunden sieht sie sich deshalb als kompetenter Partner und nicht als beamtenhafte Kontrollstelle. «Wir sind der Co-Pilot. Wir lesen die Checkliste und stellen die richtigen Fragen, so dass die Kunden eigenständig leicht die richtigen Lösungen finden.»

Swiss Moves Testfahrzeug auf dem Gelände der Blue Factory in Freiburg

Impressionen von CertX:

Swiss Moves Testfahrzeug auf dem Gelände der Blue Factory in Freiburg

Swiss Moves Stand für Fernkontrolle auf dem Mobilitätstag der HEIA-FR (Hochschule für Technik und Architektur in Freiburg)

Impressionen von CertX:

Swiss Moves Stand für Fernkontrolle auf dem Mobilitätstag der HEIA-FR (Hochschule für Technik und Architektur in Freiburg)

Das autonome Shuttle der TPF auf dem Gelände des Marly Innovation Centers vor dem CertX Büro.

Impressionen von Certx:

Das autonome Shuttle der TPF auf dem Gelände des Marly Innovation Centers vor dem CertX Büro.

Fahre ich mein Auto noch oder werde ich gefahren?
Der klassische Verbrennungsmotor ist nicht mehr der einzige Dominator auf den Strassen. Elektrische Autos bereichern das Strassenbild immer mehr. Schlagworte wie «autonomes Fahren» heizen die Diskussion um sicheres Fahren an. Glaubt man den Visionären, wird sich der Strassenverkehr in den nächsten Jahren grundlegend verändern. Fakt ist, dass sich der Automobilindustrie heute ganz andere Herausforderungen stellen als noch vor einigen Jahren. Mechanische oder elektrische Autos zu bauen sind zwei komplett unterschiedliche Disziplinen. Wenn zum Beispiel die Kupplung im Auto und somit die manuelle Kontrolle den Vortrieb zu unterbrechen plötzlich wegfällt, stellen sich ganz neue Prüfungen in den Weg der Hersteller, die funktional sichere Steuerungen erfordern. Neue Puzzlesteine wie Ladestationen oder leistungsintensivere Batterien erscheinen auf dem Radar. Heute kommen beispielsweise noch mehr Elektrofahrzeuge durch Brand zu Schaden und nicht durch Probleme bei den Fahrassistenten. «Auch in einem solch innovativen Umfeld helfen Normen, dienen sie doch als Best Practice und als Rezeptbuch bei der Entwicklung», ist Jens Henkner überzeugt. «Die Sensibilisierung und Ausbildung der Mitarbeitenden tragen wesentlich zum Erfolg bei. So sind wir stolz, dass wir vor Covid-19 weltweit die meisten Mitarbeitenden im Bereich Automotive auf dem Bereich der Normung ausgebildet haben.»

Und was meint Jens Henkner zum autonomen Fahren? Für Autobahnfahrten sieht er grosses Potenzial, dass aber in naher Zukunft autonom im Stadtverkehr gefahren wird, kann er sich aufgrund der Komplexität nicht vorstellen. CertX ist überzeugt vom multimodalen Transport der Zukunft und deshalb am Forschungsprojekt SwissMoves der Hochschule für Wirtschaft in Freiburg beteiligt, wo sie ihr Zertifizierungswissen im Bereich Funktionale Sicherheit und Cybersicherheit einbringen.

Und was ist mit künstlicher Intelligenz?
Viele heutige Anwendungen setzen auf künstliche Intelligenz, insbesondere bei der Bilderkennung in verschiedenen Bereichen der Automatisierung. Die Schwierigkeit ist, dass nach der Entwicklung die sogenannten neuronalen Netzwerke zu einer Blackbox werden und nur noch schwer überprüfbar sind. Hier gilt es umso mehr, prozessbezogen vorzugehen und dementsprechend zu zertifizieren. Passieren zum Beispiel Fahrern Fehler, werden diese immer dem einzelnen Menschen als Versagen zugeschrieben und nicht als Systemfehler betrachtet. Künstliche Intelligenz muss nun nachweisen, dass sie sicherer als der Mensch arbeitet, die heutigen menschlichen Fehlerraten nicht überschreitet und keine systematischen Fehler auftreten. Ein praktischer Nachweis erfordert einen immens hohen Testaufwand, der bei den heutigen Entwicklungszyklen praktisch nicht leistbar ist. Zusätzlich fehlen Normen in diesem Bereich noch weitestgehend. «Die Kunst ist nicht mehr das Endergebnis zu prüfen, sondern den Entwicklungsprozess optimal zu regeln, so dass ein sogenannter «Equivalent Level of Safety» erreicht werden kann. Faktoren wie 4-Augen-Prinzip, lückenlose Dokumentation, saubere Datenbasis, digitalisierte Tests und so weiter spielen eine wichtige Rolle dabei, die Sicherheit neuronaler Netzwerke zu beurteilen. «Die grosse Herausforderung ist es, agile Systeme in festgeschriebene Normen zu verpacken. Das gibt in der Normungsarbeit Reibungsflächen zwischen alle Beteiligten, die ich als sehr sinnvoll erachte, denn sie führen letztendlich zu guten Resultaten», betont Jens Henkner.

Zertifizierungsstelle: Spielverderber oder Partner?
Die Antwort von CertX darauf ist mehr als eindeutig. Als erste Schweizer Zertifizierungsstelle für Funktionale Sicherheit und Cybersecurity sehen sie sich klar als Partner. «Unser Normierungswissen hilft unseren Kunden dabei, ihre Prozesse von Anfang an auf den Weg des grösstmöglichen Erfolgs zu bringen, Entwicklungsfehler zu vermeiden und so Zeit sowie Geld zu sparen. Da wir unser Praxiswissen wiederum in die Normierungsarbeit bei der SNV einbringen, ist ein Kreislauf sichergestellt, der Normen pragmatisch und den Entwicklungsprozess erfolgsversprechender gestaltet. Haben sie keine Angst vor Normen, nutzen sie das gesammelte Wissen in all den Regelwerken und Köpfen von uns.»

CertX
CertX wurde 2018 gegründet und ist die erste Schweizer Zertifizierungsstelle für Funktionale Sicherheit und Cybersecurity, akkreditiert durch die Schweizerische Akkreditierungsstelle (SAS). Die fünf Mitarbeitenden legen grossen Wert auf hohe Unparteilichkeit, Objektivität und Glaubwürdigkeit. Nebst der Normenanwendung gestaltet die CertX zukünftige Normen mit. So sind sie die Schweizer Delegierten für ISO 21448 (SOTIF – Safety of the Intended Function für autonome Fahrzeuge) und Mitglied des technischen Komitees TC65 «Industrial process measurement, control and automation» für IEC 61508 & IEC 62443. CertX ist eingebunden in ein starkes und innovatives Partnernetzwerk.

Dr. Jens Henkner
Studierte an der TU München Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik und schloss 1999 am Lehrstuhl für Flugmechanik seine Doktorarbeit ab. Seine berufliche Laufbahn startete er bei Fairchild Dornier mit der Leitung des Entwicklungs¬¬team für die Flugphysik der Dornier 728. Als Chefingenieur wurde ihm die Verantwortung für die gesamte Entwicklung des 70-sitzigen Verkehrsflugzeug übertragen. Er wechselte 2003 zu Airbus und wurde kurze Zeit später als VP und Chefingenieur des deutschen Anteils am A330/340 Programm u. a. verantwortlich für die Sicherheit der fliegenden Flotte. Eine weitere Station war Suzlon, ein indischer OEM für Windenergieanlagen, wo er als Geschäftsführer der Suzlon GmbH Deutschland agierte und als Technologievorstand Entwicklungsteams in Indien, Deutschland, den Niederlanden und Dänemark leitete. 2018 baute er als CEO die CertX mit auf. Jens Henkner ist 55 Jahre alt, lebt mit seiner Frau und seinem Sohn in Freiburg. Die Freizeit verbringt er gerne in den Bergen.

auf der CES Asia in Shanghai

Amin Amini, Jens Henkner, VK Chong

auf der CES Asia in Shanghai

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Was ist die Summe aus 2 und 7?

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen