SNV story No. 1: Accessibility for people with assistance dogs

Expert profile of Katharina Eberle

Katharina Eberle is not only dedicated to her work as Head of Training at the Foundation Swiss School for Guide Dogs for the Blind in Allschwil, but has also been active in the world of standardization in her role as an expert since 2017. She is Switzerland’s expert in the development of standards within the CEN/TC 452 «Assistance dogs». The Swiss delegation is currently comprised of just one person. At present, Katharina Eberle and her organization are the only ones participating in this project. With a brief picture story, she has documented her work for the SNV while attending an expert meeting in Zagreb in November 2019.

Image caption: Katharina Eberle (Source: Foundation Swiss School for Guide Dogs for the Blind in Allschwil)

When is an assistance dog actually an assistance dog?
The aim of the standardization work performed by the CEN/TC 452 «Assistance dogs» is to achieve uniform accessibility for people with assistance dogs throughout Europe. The term «assistance dog» refers to a dog that has been specially trained to perform tasks that increase the level of independence of, and minimize the limitations placed on, people with disabilities.

Image caption: This autism dog has been specially trained to assist in the daily lives of children suffering from an autism spectrum disorder. (Source: Foundation Swiss School for Guide Dogs for the Blind in Allschwil)

The planned standards are intended to create internationally uniform regulations concerning the training, deployment and access rights of assistance dogs and people with assistance dogs. Are assistance dogs allowed in to a major event? What sort of training does an assistance dog have to undergo? Who is allowed to train them? What kind of dog truly qualifies as an assistance dog?

Image caption: A guide dog safely leads a visually impaired person past obstacles. (Source: Foundation Swiss School for Guide Dogs for the Blind in Allschwil)

Directly influencing standards
How did Katharina Eberle come to serve as an expert in the world of standardization? Previously, the foundation had already been indirectly involved in the development of other standards via another Swiss expert. When the development of European standards for assistance dogs was initiated once more, the Foundation Swiss School for Guide Dogs for the Blind decided to participate in the work directly.

Around 60 experts from across Europe (Belgium, the Netherlands, France, England, Ireland, Italy, Slovenia, Turkey, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Romania, Finland, Norway, Sweden, etc.) are involved in the standardization work of CEN/TC 452. As mentioned earlier, Katharina Eberle is the sole Swiss representative. Some countries field large delegations that include not only experts from the assistance dog sector, but also employees from national government departments.

Worth the effort
The greatest challenge facing this international project is definitely balancing the interests of small and big training schools, as well as those of persons with self-trained assistance dogs. In addition, not all the participants are used to collaborating in major projects.

Katharina Eberle does not simply regard the standardization work as an additional task to her day job. She especially values the international network. This is why she enjoys working on the creation of the new standard, and is convinced that she benefits from this personally as well as professionally: «The close collaboration with other experts grants us insights into the work of others, which helps us to learn. This provides me with peers at my own level for me to talk to.»

SNV story No. 1
SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Please calculate 6 plus 3.

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #1: Barrierefreiheit für Menschen mit Assistenzhund

Portrait der Expertin Katharina Eberle

Katharina Eberle engagiert sich nicht nur in ihrer Arbeit als Bereichsleiterin Ausbildung bei der Stiftung Schweizerische Schule für Blindenführhunde Allschwil. Seit 2017 ist sie auch als Expertin in der Normung tätig. Für die Schweiz ist sie bei der Erarbeitung von Normen im CEN/TC 452 «Assistance Dogs» die Expertin. Die Schweizer Delegation besteht zurzeit nur aus einer Person. Frau Eberle und ihre Organisation sind momentan die einzigen, die sich an dieser Arbeit beteiligen. Für die SNV hat Katharina Eberle mit einer kurzen Bildergeschichte ihre Arbeit während eines Expertenmeetings in Zagreb im November 2019 dokumentiert.

Bildbeschrieb: Katharina Eberle (Quelle: Stiftung Schweizerische Schule für Blindenführhunde Allschwil)

Wann ist ein Assistenzhund ein Assistenzhund?
Ziel der Normungstätigkeiten des CEN/TC 452 «Assistance Dogs» ist eine einheitliche Barrierefreiheit für Menschen mit Assistenzhund in ganz Europa. Unter «Assistenzhund» versteht man einen Hund, der speziell für die Wahrnehmung von Aufgaben zur Erhöhung der Unabhängigkeit und zur Minderung von Einschränkungen von Menschen mit Behinderung ausgebildet wurde.

Bildbeschrieb: Der Autismushund wurde speziell ausgebildet, um Kinder, die an einer Autismusspektrumstörung leiden, im Alltag zu begleiten. (Quelle: Stiftung Schweizerische Schule für Blindenführhunde Allschwil)

Mit den geplanten Normen sollen Ausbildung, Einsatz und Zutrittsrechte für Assistenzhunde bzw. Menschen mit Assistenzhunden international einheitlich geregelt werden. Dürfen Assistenzhunde mit in eine Grossveranstaltung? Welches Training muss ein Assistenzhund absolvieren? Wer darf ihn trainieren? Welcher Hund ist wirklich ein Assistenzhund?

Bildbeschrieb: Der Führhund leitet einen sehbehinderten Menschen sicher an Hindernissen vorbei. (Quelle: Stiftung Schweizerische Schule für Blindenführhunde Allschwil)

Normen direkt beeinflussen
Wie kam Katharina Eberle zur Expertenarbeit in der Normung? Über eine andere Schweizer Expertin wirkte die Stiftung indirekt bereits früher an der Erarbeitung anderer Normen mit. Als die Erarbeitung von europäischen Normen zum Thema «Assistance Dogs» erneut lanciert wurde, entschied man bei der Stiftung Schweizerische Schule für Blindenführhunde, sich an der Arbeit direkt zu beteiligen.

An den Normen des CEN/TC 452 arbeiten rund 60 Experten aus Europa mit (Belgien, Niederlande, Frankreich, England, Irland, Italien, Slowenien, Türkei, Kroatien, Tschechien, Rumänien, Finnland, Norwegen, Schweden etc.). Wie eingangs erwähnt, ist Katharina Eberle die einzige Schweizer Vertreterin. In anderen Ländern gibt es teils grosse Delegationen, bei welchen neben den Fachexperten aus der Assistenzhundebranche auch Mitarbeitende staatlicher Departemente mitarbeiten.

Der Aufwand lohnt sich
Die grösste Herausforderung bei diesem internationalen Projekt ist wohl, alle Interessen von kleinen und grossen Schulen sowie von Haltern mit selbsttrainierten Assistenzhunden unter einen Hut zu bringen. Weiter sind es nicht alle Beteiligten gewohnt, in grossen Projekten zusammenzuarbeiten.

Die Normungsarbeit sieht Katharina Eberle nicht nur als zusätzliche Leistung zu ihrer täglichen Arbeit. Besonders schätzt sie das internationale Netzwerk. Sie engagiert sich deshalb gerne für die Entstehung der neuen Norm und ist überzeugt, dass sie persönlich sowie beruflich davon profitiert: «Dank der engen Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Fachleuten erhalten wir Einblick in die Arbeit anderer, was ein Lernfeld darstellt. So habe ich Partner für den Austausch auch auf meiner Stufe».

SNV-Story #1
SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Bitte rechnen Sie 2 plus 3.

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen