Story No. 10: Fabrics that not only dreams are made of

Expert profile of Dr Anne Bonhoff

Dr Anne Bonhoff is Head Chemist of UL Retail & Industry. As a recognized expert in pollutants, toxicology, environmental issues, ecological trends and legislation, she drafts and develops tailored solutions for chemicals management and sustainability along the entire supply chain. UL is one of the leading international testing and certification companies, employing more than 14,000 people worldwide. Dr Anne Bonhoff is active in the field of toxic substances in textiles as an expert in the working groups CEN/TC 248/WG 26 (Textiles – Test methods for analysis of EC-restricted substances) and ISO/TC 38/WG 22 (Textiles – Composition and chemical testing). The SNV spoke to her about her impressive and diverse committee work.

Image caption: Dr Anne Bonhoff, standards expert in textiles
and leather since 2004.

SNV: Can standardization work be interesting?
Dr Anne Bonhoff: I am fascinated by the fact that the topics are never-ending, and that science can contribute countless creative aspects. There are always new procedures and developments that have a profound influence on standardization and in other committees.

SNV: Could you provide an example where this is the case?
Dr Anne Bonhoff: When we wash our clothes made of synthetic fibres such as polyester, polyamide (nylon) and similar fabrics, fine plastic fibres – microfibres – come off and end up in our wastewater. These microfibres, which are smaller than five millimetres and not biodegradable, are referred to as “microplastics”. Since sewage treatment plants do not filter out all microplastics, some of them end up in our waters. These microplastics can be ingested by aquatic organisms and consequently enter the food chain.

Representatives of standardization institutes in Japan and Italy have launched standardization processes in the area of microfibres – i.e. microplastics from textiles. We’re still at the very beginning of this process, and I am quite pleased to be able to contribute to a joint target formulation in this area. This is a particularly hot topic right now and something I find absolutely fascinating. The aim of this work is to find an international consensus on how we will measure microfibres in wastewater in future.

The results obtained with this standard will enable manufacturers of textile items to make an informed choice about fabric types that release fewer microfibres when laundered. The standard could also be used to test the efficiency of fibre retention filters for washing machines.

As you can see, standardization triggers an extremely dynamic process with many twists and turns along the way and is associated with new possibilities.

SNV: What is the current status of this process?
Dr Anne Bonhoff: As an SNV expert in the new working group, I have been nominated to deal with the following topics within CEN/TC 248:

  • Textiles and textile products – Microplastics from textile sources.
    Part 1: Determination of fibre loss from fabrics when they are laundered.
  • Textiles and textile products – Microplastics from textile sources.
    Part 2: Qualitative and quantitative evaluation of microplastics.

I believe that the standard will be complete in approximately three to five years.

SNV: Can the industry wait that long?
Dr Anne Bonhoff: Due to the constant changes and new trends in the textile and fashion sector, the industry cannot wait for a finished standard. That’s why there are also sector-specific committees that are developing their own guidelines on a voluntary basis. These committees stay up to date with the current state of standardization work and use the existing findings to derive rules they want to set for themselves. I’m also a member of several committees important for the textile industry, such as the Lab Advisory Group of the ZDHC Foundation and the Laboratory Technical Advisory Committee of the AFIRM Group.

SNV: What is your role in those committees?
Dr Anne Bonhoff: What’s particularly interesting about my work is that I act as a liaison between these industry bodies and standardization. I contribute my experience and expertise, and bring together understanding from both worlds. As an expert, I have access to a compelling network of key players, not only from the textile industry but along the entire value chain.

SNV: You often deal with toxic substances in textiles and leather – can you give our readers tips on what to look out for when purchasing clothes?
Dr Anne Bonhoff: I try to wash every new garment before I wear it, except when it’s a winter coat or an outdoor jacket. My experience in such matters has made me quite strict in this regard.

In the course of my work, I’ve also become familiar with many brands and know who produces what and how. That allows me to now give preference in my purchasing habits to brands that use textiles produced without toxic substances. In general, I’ve become much more reserved in my consumption of textile and leather goods.

I would also like to take the opportunity to provide another bit of practical advice: I never empty the lint filter of the washing machine and dryer into the drain, but instead put the accumulated lint into the waste bin. Otherwise, the fibres that the screen was able to hold back will still end up in the wastewater.

Image caption: Dr Anne Bonhoff recommends when buying clothes, preference should be given to brands that use textiles produced without harmful substances.

AFIRM Group

Founded in 2004, the Apparel and Footwear International RSL Management (AFIRM) Group is a brand-driven membership organization of apparel and footwear companies collaborating to promote chemicals management in the global supply chain. AFIRM focuses on continuous advancement of chemicals management, including phasing out or limiting restricted substances to established limits in apparel, footwear and accessories.

Find out more

ZDHC Foundation: Roadmap to Zero

The ZDHC Foundation monitors the implementation of the “Roadmap to Zero” programme and is a global multi-stakeholder initiative of more than 160 participating companies from the fashion and footwear industry. The programme covers the entire value chain, in which global brands, chemical suppliers, manufacturers and other organizations work hand in hand.

Textile and fashion brands have joined forces under “Brands to Zero” with the aim of reducing their chemical footprint in order to make a relevant contribution to protecting the environment. The advantages of membership include sustainable chemicals management and outstanding expertise along the entire value chain.

Find out more

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Please calculate 7 plus 2.

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #10: Stoffe, aus denen nicht nur Träume sind

Porträt der Normenexpertin Dr. Anne Bonhoff

Dr. Anne Bonhoff ist leitende Chemikerin von UL Retail & Industry. Als anerkannte Expertin für Schadstoffe, Toxikologie, Umweltfragen, ökologische Trends und Gesetzgebung entwirft und entwickelt sie massgeschneiderte Lösungen für Chemikalienmanagement und Nachhaltigkeit in der gesamten Lieferkette. UL ist eines der führenden internationalen Prüfungs- und Zertifizierungsunternehmen und beschäftigt weltweit über 14’000 Mitarbeitende. Anne Bonhoff ist im Bereich Schadstoffe in Textilen als Expertin in den Arbeitsgruppen CEN TC 248 WG 26 (Textilien - Prüfverfahren zur Bestimmung von durch die Europäische Kommission verbotenen Substanzen) und ISO TC 38 WG 22 (Textilien - Zusammensetzung und chemische Prüfung) tätig. Die SNV hat mit ihr über ihre beeindruckende und vielfältige Gremienarbeit gesprochen.

Bildbeschrieb: Dr. Anne Bonhoff, seit 2004 Normenexpertin
im Bereich Textilien und Leder

SNV: Kann Normungsarbeit interessant sein?
Dr. Anne Bonhoff: Mich fasziniert, dass die Themen nie zu Ende sind und die Wissenschaft sehr viele kreative Aspekte einbringen kann. Immer wieder gibt es neue Verfahren und Entwicklungen, die in der Normung und auch in anderen Gremien wichtigen Einfluss finden.

SNV: Könnten Sie ein Beispiel nennen, wo dies der Fall ist?
Dr. Anne Bonhoff: Wenn wir unsere Kleider aus Chemiefasern wie Polyester, Polyamid (Nylon) und ähnlichen Stoffen waschen, lösen sich feine Kunststofffasern, Mikrofasern ab, die ins Abwasser gelangen. Diese Mikrofasern, die kleiner als 5 mm und nicht biologisch abbaubar sind, werden als Mikroplastik bezeichnet. Da Kläranlagen nicht alles Mikroplastik herausfiltern, gelangt einiges in unsere Gewässer. Dieses Mikroplastik kann von Wasserorganismen aufgenommen werden und infolgedessen in die Nahrungskette gelangen.

Vertreter von Normungsinstituten in Japan und Italien haben Standardisierungsprozesse im Bereich Mikrofasern - dem Mikroplastik aus Textilien – gestartet. Hier sind wir noch am Anfang und ich freue mich sehr, an der gemeinsamen Zielsetzung mitzuarbeiten. Dieses Thema ist derzeit hochaktuell und für mich extrem spannend. Ziel dieser Arbeit ist es, international einen Konsens zu finden, wie wir künftig Mikrofasern im Abwasser messen.

Die mit dieser Norm erzielten Ergebnisse ermöglichen es Herstellern von Textilartikeln, eine fundierte Auswahl der Stoffarten zu treffen, die weniger Mikrofasern beim Waschen freisetzen. Weiter könnte diese Norm verwendet werden, um die Effizienz von Faserrückhaltefiltern für Waschmaschinen zu testen.

Sie sehen, die Normung löst einen äusserst dynamischen Prozess aus, der sich fortlaufend entwickelt und neue Möglichkeiten mit sich bringt.

SNV: Wie ist der aktuelle Stand dieses Prozesses?
Dr. Anne Bonhoff: Ich bin als Expertin von der SNV in der neuen Arbeitsgruppe, die sich innerhalb des CEN/TC248 um die folgenden Themen kümmern wird, nominiert:

  • Textilien und Textilprodukte - Mikroplastik aus textilen Quellen.
    Teil 1: Bestimmung des Faserverlustes aus Geweben beim Waschen
  • Textilien und Textilprodukte - Mikroplastik aus textilen Quellen.
    Teil 2: Qualitative und quantitative Bewertung von Mikroplastik.

Ich gehe davon aus, dass die Norm in etwa 3 bis 5 Jahren fertiggestellt ist.

SNV: Kann die Industrie so lange warten?
Dr. Anne Bonhoff: Aufgrund der ständigen und trendorientierten Entwicklung in der Textil- und Modebranche kann die Industrie nicht die fixfertige Norm abwarten. Deshalb gibt es auch branchenspezifische Gremien, die quasi freiwillig eigene Leitplanken erarbeiten. Diese Gremien halten sich dabei an den aktuellen Stand der Normungsarbeiten und leiten aus den vorhandenen Erkenntnissen ab, welche Regeln sie sich bereits selber setzen wollen. Ich bin ebenfalls in mehreren für die Textilindustrie wichtigen Gremien vertreten, z.B. in der Lab Advisory Group der ZHDC Foundation und in dem Laboratory Technical Advisory Committee der AFIRM Group.

SNV: Was ist Ihre Rolle in den Gremien?
Dr. Anne Bonhoff: Besonders interessant an meiner Arbeit ist, dass ich als Bindeglied zwischen diesen Industriegremien und der Normung stehe. Ich bringe meine Erfahrungen und mein Fachwissen ein und trage das Verständnis aus den beiden Welten zusammen. Als Expertin habe ich Zugang zu einem hochspannenden Netzwerk mit Schlüsselakteuren, nicht nur aus der Textilindustrie, sondern aus der kompletten Wertschöpfungskette.

SNV: Sie beschäftigen sich oft mit Schadstoffen in Textilien und Leder – können Sie unseren Leserinnen und Lesern einen Tipp geben, worauf beim Kauf von Kleidung zu achten ist?
Dr. Anne Bonhoff: Wenn möglich wasche ich jedes neue Kleidungsstück bevor ich es trage, ausser bei einem Wintermantel oder einer Outdoor Jacke. Sonst bin ich aufgrund meiner Erfahrungen in dieser Sache unterdessen ziemlich strikt.

Im Laufe meiner Arbeit habe ich zudem viele Brands kennengelernt und weiss, wer wie produziert, so dass ich bereits beim Kauf Marken bevorzuge, die schadstofffrei hergestellte Textilien verwenden. Generell bin ich beim Konsum von Textil- und Lederartikeln deutlich zurückhaltender geworden.

Weiter möchte ich die Gelegenheit nutzen, um einen weiteren praktischen Hinweis zu geben: Ich entleere das Flusensieb von Waschmaschine und Trockner niemals in den Abfluss, sondern gebe die angesammelten Flusen in den Mülleimer. Ansonsten gelangen auch noch die Fasern, die das Sieb zurückhalten konnte, ins Abwasser.

Bildbeschrieb: Dr. Anne Bonhoff empfiehlt beim Kleiderkauf Marken, die schadstofffrei hergestellte Textilien verwenden, zu bevorzugen.

AFIRM Group

Die 2004 gegründete Apparel and Footwear International RSL Management (AFIRM) Group ist eine markenorientierte Mitgliederorganisation von Bekleidungs- und Schuhunternehmen, die sich gemeinsam für die Förderung des Chemikalienmanagements in der globalen Lieferkette einsetzen. Der Schwerpunkt von AFIRM liegt auf der kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklung des Chemikalienmanagements, einschliesslich des schrittweisen Verzichts auf bzw. der Beschränkung von Substanzen auf festgelegte Grenzwerte in Bekleidung, Schuhen und Accessoires.

Mehr erfahren

ZDHC Foundation: Roadmap to Zero

Die ZDHC-Stiftung überwacht die Umsetzung des "Roadmap to Zero"-Programms und ist eine globale Multi-Stakeholder-Initiative von mehr als 160 mitwirkenden Firmen aus der Mode- und Schuhindustrie. Das Programm umfasst die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette, in der globale Marken, Chemikalienlieferanten, Hersteller und andere Organisationen Hand in Hand zusammenarbeiten.

Unter «Brands to Zero» haben sich Textil- und Modemarken zusammengeschlossen mit dem Ziel, den chemischen Fussabdruck zu reduzieren und damit einen relevanten Beitrag an den Umweltschutz zu leisten. Die Mitglieder profitieren unter anderem von einem nachhaltigen Chemikalienmanagement und hohem Fachwissen aus der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette.

Mehr erfahren

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Was ist die Summe aus 2 und 3?

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen