SNV Story No. 11: A common language that transcends national borders

Portrait of standards expert Professor Corinne Gantenbein-Demarchi

Professor Corinne Gantenbein-Demarchi is Deputy Director of the Institute for Food and Beverage Innovation at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) in Wädenswil. She also is fully committed to teaching on a voluntary basis at the Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST). She contributes her valuable knowledge as chairperson of standardization committee “INB/NK 172 Food”. Next summer, she will be handing off her leadership position to another committed individual and immediately take on a new project. The SNV spoke with Professor Gantenbein-Demarchi about her diverse range of work.

Image caption: Professor Corinne Gantenbein-Demarchi is a volunteer at the Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) (source: B360 Education Partnerships)

SNV: Where does your fascination with food come from and what does food mean to you?
Professor Gantenbein-Demarchi: I developed a fondness for cooking and baking already as a child. What interests me about food is its limitless variety and practical relevance. After my doctorate, the desire to holistically illuminate a subject motivated me to take a position at a university of applied sciences – a place where the work is centred around application and where not only theory but also proximity to practice and thus to people is what counts. In my personal life, eating is about sheer enjoyment above all else. I do not pursue any strict nutritional philosophy and have always been willing to try everything, but I give preference to foods that are healthy and sustainable. There are certain foods I won’t eat for ethical reasons, such as frogs’ legs. I also like to try new things when travelling in Africa, and I only had to refuse food that was offered to me once – when I was the guest of honour and was presented with the brain from a whole sheep’s head. In that case my sense of reason kicked in, and I allowed my knowledge of pathogens to overrule my curiosity as a foodie.

SNV: How did you come to standardization work and what conclusions do you draw after 20 years of working in this area?
Professor Gantenbein-Demarchi: The SNV approached me, and looking back on it, I am quite grateful that the opportunity was presented to me. This work made me acutely aware of the importance of standards. While I studied at the ETH Zurich, standards and what they do were not on the curriculum. Today I also teach my students in Africa how valuable a standard is. Standards are a common language in the context of methodical procedures. If we follow standards, we understand each other better and break down boundaries. In the food sector, food safety is very often the focus of standards. It’s a topic that concerns us all. In 2019, the United Nations also launched World Food Safety Day (WFSD), which is now to be celebrated each year on 7 June. It was initiated by a Swiss woman by the name of Awilo Ochieng Pernet, who chaired the FAO-WHO Codex Alimentarius Commission between 2014 and 2017. Even today, up to 420,000 people die from food poisoning each year, and COVID-19 has also put the spotlight back on the importance of food safety.

SNV: Tell us more about your work as a volunteer for B360 at the Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST). What fascinates you about this task?
Professor Gantenbein-Demarchi: A colleague of mine was volunteering for B360 in Africa and I secretly envied him for that. However, since time was a commodity that was pretty scarce for me, I supported B360 in the beginning mainly by opening our home in Adliswil to African exchange students. When I then dropped to half time at the institute, I thought to myself, “It’s now or never!” I have been fascinated by the country of Namibia and its people since my first trip to Africa. The students’ joy, enthusiasm and eagerness to learn are incomparable. They appreciate being met at eye level and are grateful that we take them and their professional and personal concerns seriously. So it is not uncommon for someone to bring me a gift after class and give me a big hug – something that rarely happened to me while I was teaching at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZAHW). I’ve also cultivated very meaningful friendships over the years.

SNV: What do you do and what is your goal when you are in Africa?
Professor Gantenbein-Demarchi: Africa needs to take responsibility for itself and for its future. That is our ultimate goal. That’s why I like to ask the students in class to critically scrutinize and examine statements in detail, something that is often foreign to them and that they first have to learn to do. During my time there, I teach them how to carry out standardized quality controls and how they can gain respect in professional tasks in an international environment based on this methodology. I teach them to assume responsibility for projects themselves. For example, they need to carry out a standardized food inspection of a local product combined with an analysis of the food safety of the product. The objective is that they will be able to contribute to ensuring food safety later in their professional environment using the knowledge acquired from me and my B360 colleagues. In countries where many people die each year from food contamination, an approach like this is highly relevant, especially when you consider that water is also a foodstuff. The graduates are to use their acquired skills as a springboard to remain in their country and help build a healthy Africa there.

SNV: How would the students describe their professor from faraway Europe?
Professor Gantenbein-Demarchi: I think that they would say that I am very active as well as dedicated, but also challenging to study under. Many make a long journey from their informal settlements to attend classes at the university on time. After they arrive, they often first take care of recharging their cell phone batteries and then begin to doze off. It definitely helps when I can involve them in a playful way and allow them to make their own personal contribution to the lessons.

SNV: Is it sometimes difficult for you to understand African culture?
Professor Gantenbein-Demarchi: Africa feels, thinks and acts differently than we do. Africans think less about tomorrow, with today being much more important. They are also firmly rooted in tradition to varying degrees, depending on their ethnicity. For example, a former student once took me on a little trip. “I have a surprise for you,” is what he said to me before he took me on a visit to a family from the Herero ethnic group, which is known for wearing eye-catching hats. The hats consist of two lengths of fabric wound around a roll of newspaper and do not require a needle. There I met a young woman – dressed in a Western manner in a miniskirt and T-shirt – who was open-minded in her discussions about current political and social issues. Then she put on her traditional costume in my honour, and I noticed that she not only looks more traditional with every hand movement, but that her external appearance did something with what was going on inside her head. In a short time, a modern woman was transformed into a woman who sees her role entirely in the tradition of the Hereros. In her case this means that she follows her chosen husband to his farm to live according to the Herero traditions. It really made me think.

SNV: What do you wish for the future of your students?
Professor Gantenbein-Demarchi: In the short term, I really hope that the COVID-19 situation improves and that they will be able to return to classroom education at the university. Digital learning is incredibly difficult or even impossible for them to implement. In the long term, I would like them to gain a foothold in the working environment, to stay at home and make their knowledge available to their own country. The great danger is that well-educated people will migrate and thus slow down Namibia’s development.

SNV: And what does your future look like after retirement? Will standards continue to have an effect on your life?
Professor Gantenbein-Demarchi: In the summer of 2021, I will hand over the deputy directorship of the institute and dedicate myself to the project of a new building for the institute. Standards play a key role in it. From placement and design of the electrical sockets to the exterior facade, we will be developing a complex infrastructure to create a standardized model building for the future. In this project I will get to know standards and their meaning from a completely different perspective.

I look forward to having more time in my personal life – for me, for my loved ones, for my hobbies and also for my first grandson. And I will continue my work in Africa with great passion, of course.

(Image source: B360 Education Partnerships)

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
What is the sum of 6 and 5?

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #11: Eine gemeinsame Sprache, die Landesgrenzen überschreitet

Porträt der Normenexpertin Prof. Dr. Corinne Gantenbein-Demarchi

Prof. Dr. Corinne Gantenbein-Demarchi ist stellvertretende Leiterin des Instituts für Lebensmittel- und Getränkeinnovation an der ZHAW in Wädenswil. Zusätzlich lehrt sie mit vollem Engagement und ehrenamtlich an der NUST Namibia University of Science and Technology. Ihr wertvolles Wissen bringt sie als Vorsitzende in das «INB/NK 172 Lebensmittel» ein. Im nächsten Sommer gibt sie die Leitungsaufgabe ab, um gleich wieder ein neues Projekt zu übernehmen. Die SNV hat mit Prof. Gantenbein über ihr abwechslungsreiches Wirken gesprochen.

Bildbeschrieb: Prof. Dr. Corinne Gantenbein-Demarchi engagiert sich ehrenamtlich an der NUST Namibia University of Science and Technology (Quelle: B360 Education Partnerships)

SNV: Woher kommt Ihre Faszination für Lebensmittel und was bedeutet Essen für Sie?
Prof. Gantenbein: Schon als Kind habe ich gerne gekocht und gebacken. An Lebensmitteln interessiert mich die unendliche Vielfalt und der Praxisbezug. Das ganzheitliche Beleuchten von einem Thema motivierte mich nach dem Doktorat an eine Fachhochschule zu gehen. An einen Ort also, wo sehr anwendungsorientiert gearbeitet wird und nicht nur Theorie, sondern auch die Nähe zur Praxis und damit verbunden zum Menschen zählt. Im Privaten bedeutet Essen für mich vor allem Genuss. Ich verfolge keine strikte Ernährungsphilosophie und habe schon immer alles probiert, doch favorisiert wird gesund und nachhaltig. Einzelne Lebensmittel wie beispielsweise Froschschenkel esse ich aus ethischen Überlegungen nicht. Auch bei meinen Reisen in Afrika bin ich experimentierfreudig und musste bis jetzt nur einmal eine Grenze ziehen. Und zwar, als man mir als Ehrengast von einem ganzen Schafskopf das Hirn angeboten hat. Da überwiegt bei mir dann die Ratio und ich denke an Krankheitserreger und nicht mehr an das Lukullische.

SNV: Wie sind Sie zur Normenarbeit gekommen und welches Fazit ziehen Sie nach 20 Jahren Normungsarbeit?
Prof. Gantenbein: Die SNV ist auf mich zugekommen und dafür bin ich im Nachhinein sehr dankbar. Denn diese Arbeit hat mich für die Wichtigkeit der Normen sensibilisiert. Während des Studiums an der ETH standen Normen und deren Wirkungskraft nicht auf dem Lehrplan. Heute bringe ich auch meinen Studentinnen und Studenten in Afrika bei, wie wertvoll eine Norm ist. Normen sind eine gemeinsame Sprache im Kontext von methodischem Vorgehen. Befolgt man sie, hilft dies für das gegenseitige Fachverständnis und baut Grenzen ab. Im Lebensmittelbereich steht sehr oft die Lebensmittelsicherheit im Zentrum der Normen. Ein Thema, das uns alle angeht. So hat die UNO 2019 auch den World Food Safety Day ins Leben gerufen, der nun jedes Jahr am 7. Juni gefeiert wird. Initiiert hat ihn die Schweizerin Awilo Ochieng Pernet, die zwischen 2014 und 2017 den Vorsitz des «FAO/WHO Codex Alimentarius Commission» innehatte. Noch heute sterben jedes Jahr bis zu 420'000 Menschen an Lebensmittelvergiftungen und auch COVID-19 hat die Wichtigkeit der Lebensmittelsicherheit wieder ins Rampenlicht gebracht.

SNV: Erzählen Sie uns mehr über Ihr freiwilliges Engagement für B360 an der NUST Namibia University of Science and Technology. Was fasziniert Sie an dieser Aufgabe?
Prof. Gantenbein: Ein Kollege von mir war für B360 in Afrika im Einsatz und dafür habe ich ihn heimlich beneidet. Da Zeit bei mir jedoch ein sehr knappes Gut war, unterstützte ich B360 am Anfang vor allem dadurch, dass wir den afrikanischen Austauschstudenten unser Zuhause in Adliswil öffneten. Als ich dann mein Pensum am Institut auf 50% reduzierte, dachte ich: «Jetzt oder nie!». Seit der ersten Reise nach Afrika haben mich dieses Land und seine Leute fasziniert. Die Freude, Begeisterungsfähigkeit und Lernbegierde der Studentinnen und Studenten sind einmalig. Sie schätzen es, dass ihnen jemand auf Augenhöhe begegnet und sind dankbar, dass wir sie und ihre beruflichen sowie privaten Anliegen ernst nehmen. So ist es keine Seltenheit, dass mir jemand nach dem Unterricht ein Geschenk mitbringt und mich herzlich umarmt. Etwas, das mir während meiner Lehrtätigkeit an der ZHAW eher selten passiert ist. Über die Jahre sind so auch wertvolle Freundschaften entstanden.

SNV: Was umfasst Ihre Tätigkeit und mit welchem Ziel sind Sie in Afrika unterwegs?
Prof. Gantenbein: Afrika muss Eigenverantwortung für sich und seine Zukunft übernehmen. Das ist unser grösstes Ziel. Deshalb fordere ich die Studentinnen und Studenten auch schon mal gerne im Unterricht auf, kritisch zu hinterfragen und Aussagen genau zu durchleuchten. Etwas, das für sie oft fremd ist und sie erst lernen müssen. Während meines Einsatzes lehre ich, wie sie normierte Qualitätskontrollen durchführen müssen und wie sie dank dieser Methodik bei beruflichen Aufgaben auch im internationalen Umfeld Respekt gewinnen können. Ich lehre sie selbstständig Projekte zu übernehmen. So müssen sie jeweils an einem lokalen Produkt eine normierte Lebensmittelkontrolle durchführen, verbunden mit einer Analyse zur Lebensmittelsicherheit des Produkts. Ziel ist es, dass sie später in ihrem beruflichen Umfeld mit dem erworbenen Wissen, von mir und meinen B360 Kolleginnen und Kollegen, einen Beitrag zur Gewährleistung der Lebensmittelsicherheit leisten können. In Ländern, in denen jährlich viele Menschen an Lebensmittelverunreinigung sterben, ist ein solches Vorgehen von hoher Relevanz. Vor allem wenn man bedenkt, dass auch Wasser ein Lebensmittel ist. Die Abgängerinnen und Abgänger sollen ihre erworbenen Fähigkeiten als Sprungbrett nutzen, um in ihrem Land zu bleiben und dort an einem «gesunden» Afrika mitzubauen.

SNV: Wie würden die Studierenden ihre Professorin aus dem fernen Europa umschreiben?
Prof. Gantenbein: Ich denke, sie würden mich als sehr aktiv, engagiert aber auch herausfordernd beschreiben. Viele haben eine lange Anreise von ihren «informal settlements», um rechtzeitig an der Uni den Unterricht zu verfolgen. Nach ihrer Ankunft kümmern sie sich häufig zuerst um das morgendliche Aufladen ihrer Handybatterie und nicken dann wieder ein. Hier hilft es dann definitiv, wenn ich sie spielerisch miteinbeziehen kann und sie ihren ganz persönlichen Beitrag am Unterricht leisten dürfen.

SNV: Ist es für Sie manchmal schwierig, sich in die afrikanische Kultur einzufühlen?
Prof. Gantenbein: Afrika fühlt, denkt und handelt anders als wir. Die Afrikanerinnen und Afrikaner denken weniger an morgen, das «Heute» hat einen viel grösseren Stellenwert. Weiterhin sind sie je nach Ethnie unterschiedlich stark in Traditionen verankert. So hat mich beispielsweise ein ehemaliger Student auf eine kleine «Reise mitgenommen». «I have a surprise for you» meinte er, bevor er mich auf einen Besuch bei einer Herero Familie mitgenommen hat. Eine Ethnie, die bekannt ist für das Tragen von auffälligen Hüten. Die Hüte bestehen aus zwei Stoffbahnen, die um eine Zeitungsrolle gewickelt werden und ohne eine Nadel auskommen. Dort habe ich eine junge Dame – «westlich» im Minirock und T-Shirt gekleidet –, die aufgeschlossen zu aktuellen politischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen diskutiert hat, getroffen. Dann hat sie mir zu Ehren ihre Tracht angezogen und ich habe bemerkt, dass sie mit jeder Handbewegung nicht nur traditioneller aussieht, sondern dass das Äussere auch was mit ihrem Inneren macht. So ist in kurzer Zeit aus einer «modernen» Frau, eine Frau geworden, die ihre Rolle ganz in der Tradition der Hereros sieht. In ihrem Fall heisst das, dass sie ihrem auserwählten Mann auf seinen bäuerlichen Betrieb folgt, um dort nach den Traditionen der Hereros zu leben. Das hat mich sehr nachdenklich gestimmt.

SNV: Was wünschen Sie sich für die Zukunft Ihrer Studierenden?
Prof. Gantenbein: Kurzfristig vor allem, dass sich die COVID-19 Situation verbessert und sie wieder zum physischen Unterricht an der Uni erscheinen können. Der digitale Unterricht ist für sie unglaublich schwierig bis unmöglich umzusetzen. Langfristig wünsche ich mir, dass sie im Arbeitsumfeld Fuss fassen, dass sie zuhause bleiben und so ihr Wissen dem eigenen Land zur Verfügung stellen. Die grosse Gefahr ist, dass gut ausgebildete Kräfte abwandern und somit Namibias Entwicklung gebremst wird.

SNV: Und wie sieht Ihre Zukunft nach der Pensionierung aus? Werden Normen Ihr Leben weiterhin beeinflussen?
Prof. Gantenbein: Im Sommer 2021 werde ich die stellvertretende Institutsleitung abgeben und mich ums Projekt «Neubau Institut» kümmern. Dabei spielen Normen eine unglaublich zentrale Rolle. Von der Platzierung und Ausgestaltung der Steckdosen bis hin zur Aussenfassade werden wir eine komplexe Infrastruktur ausbauen und so ein normiertes Mustergebäude für die Zukunft errichten. In diesem Projekt lerne ich Normen und ihre Bedeutung nochmals aus einem ganz anderen Blickwinkel kennen.

Privat freue ich mich darauf, mehr Zeit zu haben. Für mich, meine Liebsten, meine Hobbies und auch für meinen ersten Enkel. Und natürlich werde ich meine Arbeit in Afrika mit grosser Leidenschaft weiterführen.

(Bildquelle: B360 Education Partnerships)

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Was ist die Summe aus 7 und 6?

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen