Story No. 12: 31 years of service as an SNV expert

Expert profile of Dr Jean-Marc Suter

To conclude our series on various SNV experts, we would like to put the spotlight on Dr Jean-Marc Suter, who has been working in the field of standardization for 31 years. His more than three decades of experience as an expert means that he is able to draw on an enormous reservoir of knowledge. That made him a natural choice for our December story, for which we interviewed Dr Jean-Marc Suter about individual anecdotes and highlights of his career in international standardization. We at the SNV would like to take this opportunity to extend our heartfelt thanks to Dr Jean-Marc Suter for his great dedication and the valuable work he has accomplished as an expert and leader of various standardization projects benefiting many sectors of the Swiss economy.

His first experiences as an expert
Dr Jean-Marc Suter still remembers the very first ISO session he attended in Nice in July 1989, with two things making an impression on him in particular. First, he still remembers today that it rained incessantly throughout the week. And second, the plenary session of the technical committee ISO/TC180 was translated into French by simultaneous interpreters even though all the participants understood English.

In addition to expertise, negotiating skills are required
An impressive example demonstrates that the now 78-year-old physicist brought qualities such as specialist knowledge, patience and willingness to compromise to his work as an expert. For an ISO standard, discussions were held over a period of five years in regard to what surface should be chosen for calculating the efficiency of solar collectors. There were hard-fought economic interests involved. It was ultimately agreed that three different reference surfaces could be used, namely the gross surface, the aperture surface and the absorber surface.

This anecdote shows that it takes much more than just expertise. In addition to specialist knowledge, it is indispensable to have negotiating skills and understanding as well as respect for the sometimes quite disparate interests of the stakeholders. It is only thanks to such skills and characteristics that a lasting consensus could be found that was perceived to be fair for all involved. These and other experiences have taught Dr Jean-Marc Suter, “that it is important to compromise. A standard may ultimately be somewhat limited in its application, but for it to be useful to the market, it needs to work for everyone.”

Emotions also play a role in standardization
When Dr Jean-Marc Suter attended a standardization meeting in the 1990s, a test procedure for uncovered solar collectors was discussed, for which it was necessary to come to an agreement on three or four parameters. One participant had recently written a doctoral thesis on the subject, while a scientist referred to test results from a renowned European testing laboratory. When the committee decided on three parameters after several hours of discussion, the advocate of the fourth parameter left the session, sat down on the stairs outside and burst into tears. While the standards to which individual products and applications are subjected are not visible to most consumers, Dr Jean-Marc Suter’s experience here clearly demonstrates that the process of creating standards can actually be quite charged with emotion.

It is not only companies and experts who can have opinions that differ; public authorities can also diverge in the interests they represent. An example of this would be in the drafting of a hot water standard, with Switzerland’s Federal Office of Public Health and Federal Office of Energy having different requirements for hygiene and energy efficiency.

Patience and precision lead to a masterpiece
When asked about the highlight of his 31 years of standardization work, it does not take long for Dr Jean-Marc Suter to come up with an answer. The three-language terminology standard ISO 9488, in which 162 terms were defined, was brought to publication by him in 1999 after 10 years of detailed work. Each term had to be checked and adjusted to accommodate nuances of language in the individual countries. The standard adopted at the time, which is currently being revised, can be called his personal masterpiece.

The future belongs to technology combinations
Dr Jean-Marc Suter’s inspiration has always been his interest in technology that is close to his heart. Suter sees the real potential of solar energy systems in combination with other technologies – such as solar energy and storage.

Storage of solar energy continues to be a hotly debated topic today, and it is commonly believed that no sufficient solution for storing heat from summer for use in winter has been found. Suter finds this astonishing because an energy technology company in Burgdorf, Switzerland, proved that it was possible to store solar energy in 1991. To do so, the company filled a swimming pool in January with hot water it had stored in August. Dr Jean-Marc Suter is looking forward to future solar energy being able to be successfully combined with other technologies to a much greater extent. It is also important to him that hygiene rules are observed not only in solar water heating systems but in all hot water supplies.

Dr Jean-Marc Suter

Dr Jean-Marc Suter is the founder and owner of Suter Consulting and a renowned expert in the field of solar energy use. He led a team of researchers at the Swiss National Research Centre (now the Paul Scherrer Institute in Aargau) and taught physics. He has also been lecturing in the field of renewable energy since 1984 and speaks four languages. Dr Jean-Marc Suter has made significant contributions to the development of several complex technical manuals and numerous standards. He is an expert on standardization in the field of solar energy use (e.g. ISO 9488) as well as on solar power systems for heating drinking water in buildings ( EN 12977-1 to 3); was active in various working groups in ISO/TC180, CEN/TC312, CEN/TC164 and CEN/TC228; and chaired the national standardization committee INB/NK144 for many years.

Image caption: The 78-year-old expert likes to spend his free time in the mountains
and has been a tour guide for the Swiss Alpine Club for 20 years.

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
What is the sum of 7 and 8?

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

Story #12: 31 Jahre im Einsatz als SNV-Experte

Porträt des Normenexperten Dr. Jean-Marc Suter

Zum Abschluss unserer Serie über verschiedene SNV Expertinnen und Experten möchten wir Dr. Jean-Marc Suter vorstellen, der sich während 31 Jahren in der Normung engagiert hat. Über 30 Jahre Expertenerfahrung sind ein enormes Repertoire an Fachwissen. Deshalb haben wir für unsere Dezember-Story mit Dr. Jean-Marc Suter über einzelne Anekdoten und Highlights während seiner Tätigkeit für die internationale Normung gesprochen. Wir von der SNV danken Dr. Jean-Marc Suter an dieser Stelle von Herzen für sein wertvolles Engagement als Experte und Leiter verschiedener Normungsprojekte zugunsten der davon betroffenen Wirtschaftszweige in der Schweiz.

Erste Erfahrungen als Experte
Dr. Jean-Marc Suter erinnert sich noch gut an seine allererste ISO-Sitzung, an der er im Juli 1989 in Nizza teilgenommen hat. Zwei Dinge haben ihn besonders beeindruckt. Erstens weiss er noch heute, dass es während der ganzen Woche ohne Unterbruch geregnet hat. Und zweitens wurde die Plenarsitzung des Technischen Komitees ISO/TC180 von Simultanübersetzern ins Französische übersetzt, obwohl alle Teilnehmenden Englisch verstanden.

Neben Fachwissen braucht es Verhandlungsgeschick
Dass der heute 78-jährige Physiker für die Expertentätigkeit passende Qualitäten wie Fachwissen, Geduld und Kompromissbereitschaft mit sich brachte, lässt sich an einem eindrücklichen Beispiel beschreiben. Für eine ISO-Norm wurde während 5 Jahren darüber diskutiert, welche Fläche für die Berechnung des Wirkungsgrades von Sonnenkollektoren gewählt werden sollte. Es waren harte Marktinteressen damit verbunden. Zum Schluss einigte man sich darauf, dass drei verschiedene Bezugsflächen, nämlich die Bruttofläche, die Aperturfläche und die Absorberfläche herangezogen werden können.

Diese Anekdote zeigt, dass es weit mehr braucht als reines Know-how. Neben den Fachkenntnissen sind immer wieder Verhandlungsgeschick und Verständnis sowie Respekt für die teils sehr unterschiedlichen Interessen der Teilnehmenden unabdingbar. Nur dank solchen Eigenschaften lässt sich ein nachhaltiger Konsens finden, der für alle Involvierten stimmig ist. Dr. Jean-Marc Suter hat aus dieser und aus anderen Erfahrungen gelernt, «…dass es wichtig ist, Kompromisse einzugehen. Vielleicht ist eine Norm zum Schluss in ihrem Anwendungsgebiet etwas eingeschränkt, aber damit sie für den Markt nützlich ist, muss sie für alle passen.»

Emotionen gibt es auch in der Normung
Als Dr. Jean-Marc Suter in den 90er Jahren an einer Normungssitzung teilnahm, wurde über ein Testverfahren für unabgedeckte Sonnenkollektoren diskutiert. In diesem Zusammenhang musste man sich auf drei oder vier Parameter einigen. Dazu hatte ein Teilnehmer kürzlich eine Doktorarbeit verfasst, ein Wissenschaftler andererseits bezog sich auf Testresultate aus einem renommierten europäischen Prüflabor. Als sich das Gremium nach mehrstündiger Diskussion auf drei Parameter festlegte, verliess der Verfechter des vierten Parameters die Sitzungsrunde, setzte sich draussen auf die Treppe und brach in Tränen aus. Während für die meisten Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten die Normen hinter einzelnen Produkten und Anwendungen nicht sichtbar sind, zeigt dieses Erlebnis von Dr. Jean-Marc Suter deutlich, dass vor allem die Entstehung von Normen sehr wohl emotional sein kann.

Verschiedene Meinungen können übrigens nicht nur seitens der Unternehmen und der Fachpersonen aufeinandertreffen. Auch Behörden können unterschiedliche Interessen vertreten. So beispielsweise bei der Aufbereitung einer Warmwasser-Norm, bei der das Bundesamt für Gesundheit und das Bundesamt für Energie verschiedene Ansprüche an die Hygiene und an die Energieeffizienz haben.

Geduld und Präzision für ein Meisterwerk
Auf die Frage nach dem Highlight seiner 31-jährigen Normungsarbeit muss Dr. Jean-Marc Suter nicht lange überlegen. 1999 erschien die dreisprachige Terminologie-Norm ISO 9488, die er nach 10 Jahren Detailarbeit zur Publikation brachte und in der 162 Begriffe definiert wurden. Jeder einzelne Begriff musste auf Sprachnuancen in den einzelnen Ländern überprüft und abgestimmt werden. Diese damalige Norm, die zurzeit revidiert wird, darf als sein persönliches Meisterwerk bezeichnet werden.

Die Zukunft gehört der Kombination von Technologien
Dr. Jean-Marc Suters Quelle für seine Motivation war immer das Interesse an der Technologie, die ihm am Herzen lag. Das eigentliche Potenzial von Solaranlagen sieht Suter in der Kombination mit anderen Technologien – also beispielsweise Sonnenenergie und Speicherung.

Noch heute ist zum Beispiel das Speichern von Sonnenenergie ein heiss diskutiertes Thema. Es herrscht die gängige Meinung, dass das Speichern von Wärme vom Sommer in den Winter noch nicht genügend gelöst ist. Das erstaunt Suter, denn bereits 1991 bewies ein Energietechnikunternehmen im schweizerischen Burgdorf, dass das Speichern von Sonnenenergie möglich ist, indem es im Januar einen Swimmingpool mit Warmwasser befüllte, das im August gespeichert wurde. Dr. Jean-Marc Suter freut sich darauf, dass in Zukunft Sonnenenergie noch viel stärker mit anderen Technologien erfolgreich kombiniert werden kann. Es ist ihm auch wichtig, dass Hygieneregeln nicht nur in solaren Wassererwärmungsanlagen, sondern in allen Warmwasserversorgungen eingehalten werden.

Dr. Jean-Marc Suter

Dr. Jean-Marc Suter ist Gründer und Inhaber von Suter Consulting und eine renommierte Persönlichkeit im Bereich der Sonnenenergienutzung. Er führte ein Team von Forschenden im nationalen Forschungszentrum der Schweiz (heute das Paul-Scherrer-Institut im Aargau) und lehrte Physik. Zudem war er seit 1984 als Dozent im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien tätig und spricht vier Sprachen. Dr. Jean-Marc Suter trug massgeblich zur Erarbeitung von mehreren komplexen technischen Handbüchern sowie zahlreichen Normen bei. Er war Experte für Normen im Bereich der Sonnenenergienutzung (z.B. ISO 9488) sowie für Solaranlagen zur Trinkwassererwärmung in Gebäuden ( EN 12977-1 bis 3), in diversen Working Groups im ISO/TC180, CEN/TC312, CEN/TC164, CEN/TC228 tätig und langjähriger Vorsitzender im nationalen Normenkomitee INB/NK144.

Bildbeschrieb: Seine Freizeit verbringt der 78-Jährige gerne in den Bergen und ist seit
20 Jahren Tourenleiter des Schweizer Alpen-Clubs.

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Bitte rechnen Sie 5 plus 8.

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen