SNV Story No. 3: committed to international standardization with her heart and soul

Profile of Eliane Galbussera, standards expert and quality manager

Eliane Galbussera studied chemistry (University of Applied Sciences) and is now the business owner of Quality & Care GmbH. For more than 20 years, the professional life of management consultant Eliane Galbussera has revolved around standards and regulations in one way or another. In 2019 she joined the INB/ SC 410 «Quality management and corresponding general aspects for medical devices» as a standards expert. Here is her story, which reveals the career path of a thoroughbred expert.

Image caption: The standards expert Eliane Galbussera visits the SNV in Winterthur

Standards trigger a sense of curiosity
After completing her studies in chemistry, Eliane Galbussera was responsible for the introduction of a QMS in accordance with ISO 9001 at a recycling company in her position as Quality Manager. She subsequently switched to the pharmaceutical industry, before later moving to the medical industry. As she not only wanted to answer questions, but rather also pose them, she trained to become an auditor and has worked in this role for the two certification bodies Bureau Veritas Certification GmbH and Swiso GmbH since 2013. The QMS expert views standards as efficient and important instruments for an organization, as well as during the development of a product.

Her thirst for knowledge and her curiosity later led to her delving deeper into the creation and handling of standards and it is therefore almost logical that she has also been working for the SNV as an expert in the committee for INB/ SC 410 «Quality management and corresponding general aspects for medical devices» since autumn 2019.

International standards as a source of motivation

«Thanks to my membership in the national standardization committee, including for the standards SN EN ISO 13485 «Medical devices – Quality management systems – Requirements for regulatory purposes», IEC 62304 «Medical device software» and ISO 14971 «Medical devices – Application of risk management to medical devices», I am always one step ahead of developments.»

As an expert, she works on specific standards, including IEC 62366-1:2015/FDAmd «Usability» which was only voted on recently.

The experienced specialist is happy to participate in standardization work, but only if she can make an effective contribution due to the fact that she knows the standard under discussion and has already applied it. She likes to stay on the ball, contribute her specialist knowledge and is able to take a step back when others know more than her.

Eliane Galbussera puts her heart and soul into standardization work as she likes to deal actively with the associated content in a different way to the manner that she does as a user. She critically assesses the individual paragraphs and checks whether they are still in line with state-of-the-art developments or require improvement. She is convinced that you gain a better understanding of a standard if you are involved in it. And she values being able to actively shape the standard.

Introducing a medical device in the US would be impossible without standards
Before Eliane Galbussera set up her own company in 2019, she assumed responsibility for the international introduction of a medical device in her role as Director for Quality Management & Regulatory Affairs at the multi-award-winning start-up company Ava AG – a Swiss digital health company that wants to revolutionize the health of women and already has offices in Zurich, San Francisco, Makati and Belgrade. Ava AG has developed a fertility tracker that supports women with family planning and does not require hormonal medication or invasive procedures. The company was recognized at CES 2017 (CES = Consumer Electronics Show) as the Best of Baby Tech and by Women’s Health as the Editors’ Choice and was also awarded the title of the best Swiss start-up in 2017 and 2018.

As the tracker is a medical device, certain standards have to be adhered to. Thanks to a Medical Device Single Audit Program (MDSAP), Ava AG has been able to launch its product simultaneously in several markets. The QMS expert was also responsible for the fact that the company was certified in accordance with SN EN ISO 13485 «Medical devices – Quality management systems – Requirements for regulatory purposes» in 2016.

During the entire introduction process, Eliane Galbussera valued the availability of existing standards: «I believe the fertility tracker would only have been half as good without standards. Standards also place demands. You need to pass certain tests. Only then, for example, do you have the right to a certificate of conformity in Europe. A kind of distinction, the CE.»

Four questions to Eliane Galbussera – the expert in the interview

We have invited Eliane Galbussera for an interview at SNV to find out how she became a standards expert. In the following film «Norm sei Dank» she tells us that, among other things, it is very important to her to be up-to-date and to be able to influence the development of a standard. Find out more about international standardization work from the mouth of the committed expert. Unfortunately the film is only available in German.

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
What is the sum of 4 and 3?

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #3: Mit Herzblut engagiert für die internationale Normung

Porträt der Qualitätsmanagerin und Normenexpertin Eliane Galbussera

Eliane Galbussera ist studierte Chemikerin (FH) und heute Geschäftsinhaberin der Quality & Care GmbH. Seit über 20 Jahren dreht sich das Berufsleben der Unternehmensberaterin Eliane Galbussera auf irgendeine Art um Normen und Regulatorien. Im 2019 trat sie als Normenexpertin dem INB/NK 410 «Medizinprodukte - Qualitätsmanagement und zusammenhängende generelle Aspekte» bei. Hier ist ihre Geschichte, die den Werdegang einer Vollblutexpertin aufzeichnet.

Bildbeschrieb: Die Normenexpertin Eliane Galbussera zu Besuch in der SNV in Winterthur

Normen machen neugierig
Nach ihrem Chemiestudium ist Eliane Galbussera als Qualitätsmanagerin zunächst in einem Recyclingunternehmen für die Einführung eines QMS nach ISO 9001 zuständig. Anschliessend wechselt sie in die Pharma- und später in die Medizinalbranche. Weil sie Fragen nicht nur beantworten, sondern sie auch stellen will, absolviert sie die Auditorenausbildung und ist seit 2013 auch als Auditorin für die zwei Zertifizierungsstellen Bureau Veritas Switzerland AG und Swiso GmbH tätig. Die QMS-Expertin betrachtet Normen als effiziente und wichtige Instrumente sowohl innerhalb einer Organisation als auch bei der Entwicklung eines Produkts.

Eliane Galbusseras Wissensdurst und Neugier wecken den Wunsch in ihr, sich vertieft mit der Entstehung und Bearbeitung von Normen zu beschäftigen. So ist es nur noch ein logischer Schritt, dass sie seit Herbst 2019 für die SNV als Expertin im Komitee für INB/NK 410 «Medizinprodukte – Qualitätsmanagement und zusammenhängende generelle Aspekte» tätig ist.

Internationale Normen motivieren

«Dank meiner Mitgliedschaft im nationalen Normenkomitee, unter anderem für die Normen SN EN ISO 13485 «Medizinprodukte – Qualitätsmanagementsysteme – Anforderungen für regulatorische Zwecke», IEC 62304 «Medizingeräte-Software» und SN EN ISO 14971 «Medizinprodukte – Anwendung des Risikomanagements auf Medizinprodukte», bin ich der Entwicklung immer einen Schritt voraus.»

Als Expertin arbeitet Eliane Galbussera an konkreten Normen, so beispielsweise auch an IEC 62366-1:2015/FDAmd «Gebrauchstauglichkeit» die erst kürzlich zur Abstimmung gekommen ist.

Und als erfahrene Fachperson beteiligt sie sich gerne an der Normungsarbeit, allerdings nur, wenn sie selbst einen wirksamen Beitrag leisten kann, weil sie die diskutierte Norm kennt und sie bereits angewandt hat. Sie bleibt gerne am Ball, bringt ihr Fachwissen ein und kann sich dort zurücknehmen, wo andere mehr wissen.

Eliane Galbussera engagiert sich mit Herzblut für die Normungsarbeit, weil sie sich gerne aktiv mit den Inhalten auseinandersetzt, und zwar auf eine andere Art, als sie es als Anwenderin tut. Sie beurteilt die einzelnen Absätze kritisch und prüft, ob sie noch auf dem Stand der Technik sind oder ob sie bereits zu optimieren wären. Sie ist überzeugt davon, dass man nur dann ein besseres Verständnis für die Norm bekommt, wenn man in den Prozess eingebunden ist. Sie schätzt es, Normen aktiv gestalten zu können.

Einführung eines Medizinprodukts in den USA wäre ohne Normen unmöglich
Bevor sie 2019 ihr eigenes Unternehmen gründet, ist Eliane Galbussera als Director Quality Management and Regulatory Affairs beim mehrfach prämierten Start-up-Unternehmen Ava AG für die internationale Einführung eines Medizinprodukts verantwortlich. Ava ist ein Schweizer Digital-Health-Unternehmen, das die Gesundheit von Frauen revolutionieren will und heute über Büros in Zürich, San Francisco, Makati (PHL) und Belgrad verfügt. Ava hat einen Fruchtbarkeitstracker entwickelt, der Frauen bei der Familienplanung unterstützt und dabei ohne hormonelle Medikamente oder invasive Eingriffe auskommt. Das Unternehmen wird auf der CES 2017 (CES = Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas) als «Best of Baby Tech», vom Magazin Women’s Health als «Editors’ Choice» sowie 2017 und 2018 als das beste Schweizer Start-up ausgezeichnet.

Da es sich beim Tracker um ein Medizinprodukt handelt, müssen bestimmte Normen eingehalten werden. Dank eines Medical Device Single Audit Programs (MDSAP) kann die Ava AG das Produkt gleichzeitig auf verschiedenen Märkten einführen. Die QMS-Expertin Galbussera ist zudem dafür verantwortlich, dass das Unternehmen im Jahr 2016 nach SN EN ISO 13485 «Medizinprodukte – Qualitätsmanagementsysteme – Anforderungen für regulatorische Zwecke» zertifiziert wird.

Eliane Galbussera schätzt während der gesamten Einführungsprozesse die Verfügbarkeit von bestehenden Normen: «Ich glaube, der Fertility-Tracker wäre ohne Normen nur halb so gut geworden. Normen fordern auch. Man muss gewisse Prüfungen bestehen. Nur dann hat man beispielsweise in Europa das Recht auf eine Konformitätsbescheinigung. Der Hinweis, dass ein Produkt den europäischen Rechtsvorschriften entspricht, ist das CE-Kennzeichen.»

Vier Fragen an Eliane Galbussera – die Expertin im Interview

Wir haben Eliane Galbussera zu einem Interview in die SNV eingeladen, um zu erfahren, wie sie Normenexpertin wurde. Sie erzählt uns im folgenden Film «Norm sei Dank», dass es ihr unter anderem sehr wichtig ist, up-to-date zu sein und die Entstehung einer Norm beeinflussen zu können. Erfahren Sie mehr über die internationale Normungsarbeit aus dem Munde der engagierten Expertin.

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Bitte rechnen Sie 5 plus 7.

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen