SNV Story No. 6: A passion for perfection and safety

Expert profile of Philipp Lüdi

Swiss SMEs continue to bring outstanding and unique services to the international market time and time again. And the true pearl and hidden champion that is the Biel-based company DT Swiss is no different. DT Swiss is the global market leader in the field of road and mountain bike wheels; it employs around 600 employees worldwide who manufacture and market high-quality bicycle components. We paid a visit to the in-house DT Swiss test lab to shadow lab director Philipp Lüdi.

Image caption: Philipp Lüdi, Manager Prototyping/Testing at DT Swiss and standards expert of SNV since 2016

Lab fascination: the interface between man and machine
Philipp Lüdi works together with his team and development engineers to ensure that the Swiss company markets bike products which are world-leading thanks to their outstanding quality and performance. In his role as lab director, he is also responsible for the expertise he brings to the international working group for tyres/trims ( ISO/TC 31/ SC 10) on behalf of the SNV.

When Philipp Lüdi visited a medical technology company as part of his training at the engineering school in Biel, he was fascinated by the lab and the interface between man and machine in this field. He knew that this was the career for him. From there he went on to take up an internship before assuming a permanent position in the company’s biomechanics lab. When Biel-based Swiss wheel manufacturer DT Swiss advertised the position of lab director, Philipp Lüdi, a bike enthusiast in his spare time too, seized his chance and switched to the sport sector.

Quality, safety and performance are par for the course
The mechanical test lab of DT Swiss is home to a well-rehearsed team of four, the majority of whose work focuses on internal testing jobs. Philipp Lüdi’s job is to coordinate, prioritize and plan these jobs. Most of the tests are carried out for the development team, subjecting prototypes to rigorous testing. Approval for series production depends on the success of these lab tests. The lab also tests products from ongoing production to ensure they meet the relevant quality requirements.

Before DT Swiss products are launched on the market, Philipp Lüdi and his team test them to their limits and beyond in their in-house test lab. Find out more in this video:

DT Swiss also has its own in-house wheel design department which specializes in prototype and small series production. It builds the wheel prototypes which then go on to be tested in the test lab.

Right to the limit of perfection
In addition to coordinating and planning test orders, Philipp Lüdi is also responsible for the further development of existing test methods. For him and his colleagues at DT Swiss, it goes without saying that it is not just the products that have to be continually optimized, the methods of testing their properties and documenting the tests are also subject to ongoing development. Given this passion for perfection, it is little wonder that the team in Biel are now largely developing and building their own testing equipment.

Services to standardization
In his role as director of the test lab, Philipp Lüdi is also responsible for the standardization work done by the company. He is heavily involved in the working group ISO/TC 31/ SC 10/ WG 16 (Tyre designations and dimensions for bicycle tyres and rims). The group meets once or twice a year and holds additional online meetings in the interim periods. Its aim is to further develop standards while taking into consideration new market developments and to ensure that even the latest products meet technical requirements relevant to safety.

What advantages does Philipp Lüdi see in this collaboration for standardization? “Our company benefits from this process firstly because we experience trends first-hand and, secondly, because we can play an active role in shaping other developments. As a major bike component manufacturer, we are heavily invested in ensuring that products reaching the market are safe. Most major bike manufacturers and competitors are also represented in the committee, which make it ideal for networking”, explains Philipp Lüdi.

The bicycle industry is very fast moving, new concepts are constantly appearing on the market and existing components are continually being optimized. While the standardization process may be slow in comparison to the development process, it plays a very important role, particularly when it comes to safety. Standards define minimum requirements for products, thus guaranteeing safe bikes for the end customer. DT Swiss on the other hand sets itself standards which go beyond the basic safety requirements with a view to guaranteeing outstanding product performance. These requirements are set out in an in-house works standard.

Picture sources: DT Swiss

About DT Swiss AG

DT Swiss AG is a global company based in Biel that develops, manufactures and distributes high-quality bike components. DT Swiss products stand for precision and reliability and are developed with a view to offering reliable components that guarantee an unforgettable cycling experience on any terrain. Swiss engineering ingenuity and innovation played a central role in the transformation of DT Swiss from little more than a spoke manufacturer into one of the world’s leading suppliers of spokes, nipples, trims, hubs, wheels, and suspension systems in next to no time. Driven by a passion for cycling, more than 600 employees across six locations throughout the world work on setting new standards with DT Swiss products.

In addition to expanding the product range, the company is also investing in new production sites. Approximately 600 employees develop, manufacture and distribute the company’s first-class products throughout the world. DT Swiss has production and distribution sites in Germany, Poland, France, the USA and Taiwan. The same machines used at the Swiss site are used at all their sites, thus guaranteeing the same high production standard and the same Swiss quality.

Performance test center

The performance test centre houses 29 testing facilities ranging from small-scale equipment to large test stands; most of the new equipment is developed and built in-house.

Wheel tests

A total of 2115 wheel tests were carried out at the DT Swiss performance test centre in 2019.

Wheel mileage

You could go around the world about 37 times with the wheel mileage travelled on the drum test rigs in one year (approximately 1.5 million km).

Philipp Lüdi

Philipp Lüdi also likes to be on the bike during private time.

Wheel design department

DT Swiss also has its own in-house wheel design department which specializes in prototype and small series production.

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Please calculate 1 plus 3.

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #6: Aus Passion für Perfektion und Sicherheit

Porträt des Normenexperten Philipp Lüdi

Immer wieder überraschen Schweizer KMU mit hervorragenden und einzigartigen Leistungen im internationalen Markt. Als wahre Perle und sogenannter Hidden Champion darf auch das Bieler Unternehmen DT Swiss bezeichnet werden. DT Swiss ist Weltmarktführer im Bereich von sportiven Fahrradrädern und beschäftigt weltweit rund 600 Mitarbeitende, die hochwertige Fahrradkomponenten produzieren und vermarkten. Wir warfen einen Blick in das hauseigene Testlabor von DT Swiss und schauten Philipp Lüdi, dem Laborleiter, über die Schulter.

Bildbeschrieb: Philipp Lüdi, Manager Prototyping/Testing bei DT Swiss und SNV-Normenexperte seit 2016

Faszination Labor: Die Verbindung von Mensch und Technik
Philipp Lüdi sorgt zusammen mit seinem Team und den Entwicklungsingenieuren dafür, dass das Schweizer Unternehmen Produkte auf den Markt bringt, die in der Fahrradwelt dank ihrer hervorragenden Qualität und Performance die weltweite Marktführerschaft einnehmen. In seiner Funktion als Laborleiter verantwortet er auch die Expertise, die er für die SNV in der internationalen Arbeitsgruppe für Reifen/Felgen ( ISO/TC 31/ SC 10/ WG 16) einbringt.

Als Philipp Lüdi im Rahmen seiner Ausbildung an der Technikerschule in Biel ein Medizinaltechnik-Unternehmen besichtigt, faszinieren ihn das Labor und die Verbindung von Menschen und Mechanik in dieser Branche. Für ihn steht fest, dass dies die berufliche Richtung ist, die er einschlagen will. Sein Weg führt ihn über ein Praktikum zu einer Festanstellung im Biomechanik-Labor des Unternehmens. Als der Schweizer Radproduzent DT Swiss in Biel die Position des Laborleiters ausschreibt, ergreift Lüdi, der privat ebenfalls gerne auf dem Bike unterwegs ist, seine Chance und wechselt in die Sportbranche.

Qualität, Sicherheit und Performance sind Programm
Im mechanischen Testlabor von DT Swiss arbeitet ein eingespieltes vierköpfiges Team, welches zum grössten Teil interne Testaufträge abarbeitet. Für Philipp Lüdi gilt es, diese Aufträge zu koordinieren, zu priorisieren und zu planen. Die meisten Tests werden für das Entwicklungsteam durchgeführt, indem Prototypen auf Herz und Nieren getestet werden. Produktionsfreigaben erfolgen nach bestandenen Labortests. Auch Produkte aus der laufenden Produktion werden vom Labor auf die Erfüllung der entsprechenden Qualitätsanforderungen getestet.

Bevor die Produkte von DT Swiss im Feld eingesetzt werden, testen sie Philipp Lüdi und sein Team im internen Testlabor teils bis an die Belastungsgrenzen und darüber hinaus. Erfahren Sie mehr in diesem Video:

DT Swiss verfügt zudem über eine hausinterne Laufradbauabteilung, die auf die Herstellung von Prototypen und Kleinserien spezialisiert ist. Sie baut für das Testlabor jeweils die Prototypen-Laufräder, die getestet werden sollen.

Bis ans Limit der Perfektion
Philipp Lüdi ist nicht nur für die Koordination und Planung der Testaufträge verantwortlich, sondern auch für die Weiterentwicklung bestehender Testmethoden. Denn für ihn und seine Kollegen bei DT Swiss ist es selbstverständlich, dass nicht nur die Produkte ständig weiter optimiert werden müssen, sondern dass auch die Methoden, ihre Eigenschaften abzuprüfen und die Tests zu dokumentieren, einer laufenden Entwicklung unterliegen. Bei dieser hohen Passion für Perfektion wundert es auch wenig, dass die Bieler unterdessen ihre Testanlagen weitgehend selber entwickeln und bauen.

Im Einsatz für die Normung
In seiner Funktion als Leiter des Testlabors ist Philipp Lüdi auch verantwortlich für die Normungsarbeit des Unternehmens. Besonders involviert ist er in der Arbeitsgruppe ISO/TC 31/ SC 10/ WG 16 (Tyre designations and dimensions for bicycle tyres and rims). Man trifft sich ein- bis zweimal jährlich und führt zwischendurch zusätzlich Meetings online durch. Ziel ist es, die Normen unter Berücksichtigung von neuen Marktentwicklungen weiterzuentwickeln und sicherzustellen, dass auch neuere Produkte sicherheitstechnisch relevante Anforderungen erfüllen.

Welchen Vorteil sieht Philipp Lüdi in der Mitarbeit für die Normung? «Unser Unternehmen profitiert von diesem Engagement, weil wir so zum einen Tendenzen aus erster Hand erfahren und zum anderen Entwicklungen aktiv mitgestalten können. Als grosser Fahrradkomponentenhersteller ist es uns ein Anliegen, dass sichere Produkte auf den Markt kommen. Auch sind die meisten grossen Fahrradproduzenten und Mitbewerber im Gremium vertreten, was ein gutes Networking ermöglicht», so Lüdi.

Die Fahrradbranche ist sehr schnelllebig, ständig werden neue Innovationen auf den Markt gebracht und bestehende Komponenten optimiert. Auch wenn die Normung im Vergleich zu diesen Fortschritten träge ist, spielt sie vor allem für die Sicherheit eine sehr wichtige Rolle. Die Minimalanforderungen an die Produkte sind dank der Normen definiert und garantieren den Endkunden sichere Fahrräder. Über die grundlegenden Sicherheitsanforderungen hinaus setzt sich DT Swiss jedoch mit weiterführenden Anforderungen auseinander, um eine herausragende Performance der Produkte sicherzustellen. Diese Anforderungen sind über eine hausinterne Werksnorm entsprechend festgelegt.

Bildquellen: DT Swiss

Über DT Swiss AG

Die DT Swiss AG mit Sitz in Biel ist ein weltweit agierendes Unternehmen, das hochwertige Fahrradkomponenten entwickelt, produziert und vermarktet. DT-Swiss-Produkte stehen für Präzision und Zuverlässigkeit und werden mit dem Ziel entwickelt, jedem Fahrer für jedes Terrain verlässliche Komponenten für ein unvergessliches Fahrerlebnis zu bieten. Schweizer Ingenieurskunst und Innovationskraft spielten eine zentrale Rolle dabei, dass sich DT Swiss innerhalb kurzer Zeit vom reinen Speichenhersteller zu einem der weltweit führenden Anbieter von Speichen, Nippeln, Felgen, Naben, Laufrädern sowie Federungssystemen entwickelt hat. Angetrieben von der Leidenschaft für den Radsport arbeiten mehr als 600 Mitarbeitende an insgesamt sechs Standorten weltweit daran, dass DT-Swiss-Produkte Massstäbe setzen.

Nicht nur in den Ausbau der Produktpalette wird investiert, sondern auch in neue Produktionsstätten. Rund 600 Mitarbeitende entwickeln, produzieren und vermarkten die erstklassigen Produkte in der ganzen Welt. DT Swiss verfügt über Fabrikations- und Verkaufsstandorte in Deutschland, Polen, Frankreich, Taiwan und in den USA. An allen Standorten gewährleisten dieselben Maschinen wie in der Schweiz denselben hohen Produktionsstandard und die gleiche Schweizer Qualität.

Performance-Test-Center

Im Performance-Test-Center gibt es 29 Testeinrichtungen, von kleineren Vorrichtungen bis hin zu grossen Prüfständen, wobei mittlerweile die meisten neuen Anlagen im Haus entwickelt und gebaut werden.

Laufradtests

2019 wurden im Performance-Test-Center von DT Swiss 2’115 Laufradtests durchgeführt.

Laufleistung

Mit der abgespulten Laufleistung auf den Trommelprüfständen könnte man im Jahr ca. 37 Mal die Welt umrunden (ca. 1,5 Mio. km).

Philipp Lüdi, der Biker

Philipp Lüdi ist auch privat gerne auf dem Bike unterwegs.

Laufradbauabteilung

DT Swiss verfügt zudem über eine hausinterne Laufradbauabteilung, die auf die Herstellung von Prototypen und Kleinserien spezialisiert ist.

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Bitte addieren Sie 5 und 8.

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen