SNV Story No. 8: How algae are used to test the quality of our water

Expert profile of Dr Cornelia Kienle

Algae are a true natural wonder, and their uses are as diverse as they are surprising. They bring that je ne sais quoi to superlative sushi, help power engines and are traded as superfoods. But did you know that there is an algae bank in Northern Germany? In this SNV story, you will find out why the Swiss Ecotox Centre is one of the algae bank’s permanent customers, and what this fact has to do with standards.

A fascination with the aquatic world
For this story, we spoke to biologist Dr Cornelia Kienle. Since childhood, she has been fascinated with water and everything that lives in it. It is therefore unsurprising that, when she was still a girl, she transformed her parents’ pond into a test laboratory and enjoyed biology more than any other subject at school. During her university studies, her interests grew to include marine biology and the effects of pollutants on bodies of water. In her doctoral thesis, she engaged intensively with the influence of oxygenation deficiency and pollutants on the development of fish embryos and larvae. Dr Cornelia Kienle has been working as a scientist at the Ecotox Centre since its foundation in 2008, and is also active as an SNV expert.

Image caption: Dr Cornelia Kienle in the laboratory of the Ecotox Centre in Dübendorf

Good water quality benefits us all
The Ecotox Centre in Dübendorf is Switzerland’s centre for applied ecotoxicology. It assesses the impact of chemicals on our environment and develops strategies for evaluating and mitigating risks. The majority of the projects carried out at the Centre are either self-funded or commissioned by its most important client, the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN). Among other things, Dr Cornelia Kienle observes the water quality in water treatment plants after different treatment stages. The more effective the water treatment plant, the greater the benefits to the water cycle. In this context, she and her team work with so-called biotests. In layperson’s terms, these tests involve adding living cells or organisms to the water and analyzing the level and the effects of any micropollutants still present. To ensure that more of these biotests are conducted in a standardized manner both nationally and internationally in future, the Ecotox Centre is collaborating with the Swiss Association for Standardization to conduct pioneering work.

Not all algae are the same
From her predecessor, Dr Cornelia Kienle inherited her status as an SNV expert and her role as chair of standardization committee 107, “Water quality”. However, professional discussions at the national and international level are nothing new to her, as she has been active in biotest working groups for a while now. And it has become apparent to her time and again that the need for standardized biotests is growing. Test results are only comparable when it can be guaranteed that they have been carried out in a uniform manner. To this end, she is working together with the SNV to define standards that can serve as the basis for an ISO standard and for the enforcement of these standards at the international level. The Ecotox Centre is planning to submit an application to the SNV for a new ISO standard relating to algae-based biotests this year. As part of the standardization process, the materials, the methodology and the documentation involved in biotests are being precisely prescribed, and the comparability of results from different laboratories is minutely evaluated. This is the context in which the algae bank in Germany comes into play. Instead of gold bars, its deposit boxes contain painstakingly indexed algae cultures. If a laboratory wishes to conduct a standardized biotest, it must source its algae exclusively from such an official body. The standardized biotest is similar to a recipe, with even the wording of the initial steps being reminiscent of that found in cookery books.

Image caption: Algae under the microscope at the Ecotox Centre in Dübendorf

The water treatment plants of the future
One example for the intensive use of biotests is the analysis of the effects of micropollutants on water-dwelling organisms in Swiss water treatment plants, and the issuing of action recommendations for optimizing the respective plant’s operations. Today, there are two main techniques for improving water quality, i.e. ozonation and treatment with active charcoal; these are deployed after the biological treatment stage. The Ecotox Centre has been collaborating with the FOEN, the Swiss Water Association (VSA) and various water treatment plant operators for some time now in order to investigate the benefits and the efficiency of such advanced water treatment processes with the aid of biotests. Also involved in this process is Eawag, ETH Zurich’s Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology, which provides support in the form of chemical analyses. It is down to the success of this collaboration that around 100 Swiss water treatment plants will soon be equipped with cutting-edge technology. Switzerland is thereby securing a leading international position in terms of the water quality provided by water treatment plants. This benefits not only our reputation, but also the country’s entire population, fauna and cultural landscape.

Where there is water, there is life
The quality of our water determines the quality of our lives. Dr Cornelia Kienle and her team at the Ecotox Centre dedicate each day to this end. The standardization of biotests is an important prerequisite to their work having a major international impact. Yet the Ecotox Centre is in no danger of running out of tasks. There are still plenty of other areas requiring improvements and standards. One keyword here: agriculture. For example, the canton of Thurgau initiated a project in collaboration with local farmers in which measures designed to reduce agricultural run-off are implemented. The Ecotox Centre is monitoring the success of these measures with the use of biotests. It is easy to see why this varied work ticks all the boxes for the dream job of a biologist and nature-lover. The only small downside? You cannot be beside the seaside in Switzerland.

Picture sources:  Ecotox Centre in Dübendorf

Everyone can help improve water quality: five simple rules for everyday life

  1. Save water
    Turn off the tap while cleaning your teeth; fit aerators to your taps
  2. Shop smart
    Pay attention to biodegradable ingredients (detergents, shampoos, cleaning products, etc.)
  3. Use the correct dosage
    Observe manufacturer recommendations
  4. Dispose of waste items correctly
    Never flush medication down the toilet
  5. Engage critically
    You do not need special cleaning products for everything; water by itself is often sufficient
SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Please calculate 1 plus 8.

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #8: Wie Algen unser Wasser prüfen

Porträt der Normenexpertin Dr. Cornelia Kienle

Algen sind ein wahres Wunder der Natur, und die Möglichkeiten, sie einzusetzen, sind ebenso vielfältig wie überraschend. Sie verleihen dem besten Sushi das gewisse Etwas, sie helfen beim Antrieb von Motoren oder werden als Superfood gehandelt. Aber wussten Sie, dass es in Norddeutschland eine Algenbank gibt? Wieso das schweizerische Oekotoxzentrum dort Dauerkunde ist und was diese Tatsache mit Normen zu tun hat, lernen Sie in dieser SNV-Story.

Faszination Wasserwelt
Für diese SNV-Story haben wir mit der promovierten Biologin Dr. Cornelia Kienle gesprochen. Seit Kindertagen interessiert sie sich für Gewässer und alles, was darin lebt. So erstaunt es nicht, dass sie bereits damals den elterlichen Weiher zu einem Testlabor umfunktioniert hat und kein anderes Schulfach der Biologie das Wasser reichen konnte. Während des Studiums sind Interessengebiete wie Meeresbiologie und die Auswirkung von Schadstoffen in Gewässern hinzugekommen. In ihrer Doktorarbeit setzte sie sich intensiv mit dem Einfluss von Sauerstoffmangel und Schadstoffen auf die Entwicklung von Fischembryonen und -larven auseinander. Seit der Gründung des Oekotoxzentrums im Jahr 2008 arbeitet Dr. Cornelia Kienle dort als Wissenschaftlerin und wirkt zusätzlich als SNV-Expertin.

Bildbeschrieb: Dr. Cornelia Kienle im Labor des Oekotoxzentrums in Dübendorf

Hohe Wasserqualität dient allen
Das Oekotoxzentrum in Dübendorf ist das Zentrum für angewandte Ökotoxikologie in der Schweiz. Es beurteilt den Effekt von Chemikalien auf unsere Umwelt und entwickelt Strategien zur Risikobewertung und -minderung. Neben selbst finanzierten Projekten sind die Projekte des Bundesamts für Umwelt BAFU die wichtigsten Aufträge. Dr. Cornelia Kienle beobachtet unter anderem die Wasserqualität nach den verschiedenen Reinigungsstufen in Kläranlagen. Je effektiver eine Kläranlage arbeitet, desto besser für den Wasserkreislauf. Im Rahmen dieser Beobachtung arbeiten sie und ihr Team mit sogenannten Biotests. Auf einen einfachen Nenner gebracht, werden dem Wasser lebende Zellen oder Organismen hinzugefügt und der Grad sowie die Wirkung der noch vorhandenen Mikroverunreinigung analysiert. Damit künftig noch mehr dieser Biotests national und international genormt ablaufen, leistet das Oekotoxzentrum in Zusammenarbeit mit der Schweizerischen Normen-Vereinigung Pionierarbeit.

Algen sind nicht gleich Algen
Dr. Cornelia Kienle hat den Status als SNV-Expertin und Vorsitzende des Normenkomitees 107 «Wasserbeschaffenheit» von ihrem Vorgänger geerbt. Der Austausch auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene ist für sie jedoch nichts Neues, da sie schon seit Längerem in Biotest-Arbeitskreisen zugange ist. Immer wieder hat sich dabei herausgestellt, dass der Bedarf an genormten Biotests wächst. Nur wenn eine einheitliche Durchführung gewährleistet werden kann, sind Testresultate vergleichbar. Gemeinsam mit der SNV werden hierfür Normen definiert, die als Grundlage für eine ISO-Norm sowie für eine internationale Durchsetzung der Normen gelten können. So soll noch in diesem Jahr ein Antrag für eine neue ISO-Norm zum Thema Biotest mit Algen bei der SNV eingereicht werden. Im Rahmen der Normierung werden die verwendeten Arbeitsmittel, die Ausführung sowie die Dokumentation von Biotests präzise vorgeschrieben, und auch die Vergleichbarkeit der Ergebnisse zwischen verschiedenen Laboren wird genau untersucht. In diesem Zusammenhang kommt auch die Algenbank in Deutschland ins Spiel. Dort liegen in den Schliessfächern nämlich keine Goldbarren, sondern fein säuberlich geordnete Algenkulturen. Möchte ein Labor einen genormten Biotest durchführen, dürfen die Algen nur von einer solchen offiziellen Stelle bezogen werden. Der genormte Biotest ist so ähnlich wie ein Kochrezept, beginnt er doch auch mit den Worten «Man nehme».

Bildbeschrieb: Algen unter dem Mikroskop im Oekotoxzentrum in Dübendorf

Kläranlagen auf dem Sprung in die Zukunft
Biotests werden beispielsweise intensiv genutzt, um die Auswirkungen von Mikroverunreinigungen auf Wasserlebewesen in Schweizer Abwasserreinigungsanlagen (ARA) zu analysieren und Handlungsempfehlungen für die Optimierung des Betriebs der ARA auszusprechen. Heutzutage existieren zwei Haupttechniken zur Steigerung der Wasserqualität. Bei diesen nach der biologischen Reinigungsstufe eingesetzten Methoden handelt es sich um die Ozonung und die Behandlung mit Aktivkohle. Das Oekotoxzentrum arbeitet seit Längerem mit dem BAFU, dem Verband der Schweizer Abwasser- und Gewässerschutzfachleute und verschiedenen ARA-Betreibern zusammen, um die Vorteile und die Effizienz einer solchen weitergehenden Abwasserreinigung mit Biotests zu untersuchen. Mit beteiligt ist Eawag, das Wasserforschungsinstitut des ETH-Bereichs, das mit chemischen Analysen unterstützt. Resultat dieser Zusammenarbeit ist, dass in nächster Zeit in der Schweiz rund 100 Kläranlagen mit modernster Technik aufgerüstet werden. Damit sichert sich die Schweiz einen internationalen Spitzenrang hinsichtlich der von ARA gelieferten Wasserqualität. Dies kommt nicht nur unserem Renommee zugute, sondern der gesamten Bevölkerung, der Tierwelt und der Kulturlandschaft.

Wo Wasser ist, ist Leben
Wasserqualität ist Lebensqualität. Dr. Cornelia Kienle setzt sich am Oekotoxzentrum mit ihrem Team täglich dafür ein. Die Normung von Biotests ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung dafür, dass die geleistete Arbeit auch auf internationaler Ebene einen gewichtigen Einfluss haben kann. Die Arbeit wird dem Oekotoxzentrum jedoch noch lange nicht ausgehen. Es gibt noch viele andere Bereiche, wo Verbesserungen und Normen notwendig sind. Ein Stichwort: Landwirtschaft. Hier hat beispielsweise der Kanton Thurgau ein Projekt ins Leben gerufen, in dem Massnahmen zur Verringerung landwirtschaftlicher Einträge gemeinsam mit den im Thurgau ansässigen Landwirten umgesetzt werden. Das Oekotoxzentrum begleitet das Monitoring des Erfolgs dieser Massnahmen mit Biotests. Es ist einfach nachzuvollziehen, wieso die abwechslungsreiche Arbeit alle Kriterien für den Traumjob einer Biologin und Naturliebhaberin erfüllt. Einziger Wermutstropfen? Das Meer fehlt in der Schweiz.

Bildquellen: Oekotoxzentrum Dübendorf

Jeder kann die Wasserqualität verbessern: Fünf einfache Regeln für den Alltag

  1. Wasser sparen
    Während des Zähneputzens Wasser abstellen, Wasserhähne mit Sparaufsatz aufrüsten
  2. Clever einkaufen
    Auf biologisch abbaubare Inhaltsstoffe achten (Waschmittel, Shampoo, Putzmittel usw.)
  3. Richtig dosieren
    Beachten Sie die Empfehlungen der Hersteller
  4. Korrekt entsorgen
    Medikamente gehören nie in die Toilette
  5. Kritisch hinterfragen
    Man braucht nicht für alles ein Spezialmittel; Wasser allein ist häufig ein ausreichend wirksames Reinigungsmittel
SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Bitte addieren Sie 3 und 3.

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen