SNV Story No. 9: Ageing also takes place in the mind

A profile of standardization expert Professor Raymond Saner

What do you think of when you hear the term “elderly person”? A lonely man wearing a tie and hat, sitting on a park bench all day long? Or a friendly grandmother baking apple cake with her grandchildren? A 60-year-old work colleague who still cannot use the new software properly? Or a 70-year-old with a purple-dyed punk haircut and leather jacket, hitting the open road on his motorbike? That last image was not what came to your mind, was it? We spoke with Professor Raymond Saner about ageing, social conventions and his work as an SNV standardization expert.

Professor Raymond is an authority in many different fields: an honorary professor at the University of Basel (Economics faculty), professor at the University of Lüneburg (environmental sciences), a globally sought-after consultant, expert, partner in research projects at the UN, negotiating expert, moderator and SNV standardization expert. He co-founded the «Centre for Socio-Eco-Nomic-Development (CSEND)» with his wife. Above all else, he struck us as a very open and likeable interlocutor, young at heart and speaking a «Basel German» that has lost none of its charm despite his many years spent abroad.

People age differently
We tend to think of elderly people as a homogeneous group – yet they are not. This age category can span up to four decades and thus encompass several generations at once. The image of elderly people is defined by numerous stereotypes and misconceptions. The «elderly» are thereby branded as those people who oppose change, do not want to learn new things, dislike young people, always criticize everything, burden the healthcare system and present criminals with easy and gullible prey. Yet cognitive ageing occurs much earlier than you might think. Our ability to remember already starts to decline from the age of 50, for example, and it also becomes more difficult for us to process information.

Studies have shown that people age very differently. What is encouraging is the fact that with the correct exercises, we can delay or positively influence this process. Train your cognitive abilities – or as Matthias Kliegel, a professorial colleague of Raymond Saner, puts it: «use it or lose it». And when training your memory, please erase the saying «you cannot teach an old dog new tricks» from your vocabulary. Today we know that even centenarians can still learn new things.

Ageing world-wide
Currently, 19% of Switzerland’s population is older than 65; 1.15 million are aged 65 to 79, and 454,000 are aged 80+. There are more women than men in the higher age brackets (Source: FSO). Italy has the oldest population in Europe. Globally, the percentage of the population that is elderly (65+) will be at 16% by 2050. 80% of these seniors will be living in countries with low to medium income-levels (Source: WSIS +15 Virtual Form 2020 organised by CSEND, Outcome Statements). In Japan, one in three citizens is already statistically classed as elderly. Japan has always preferred a homogeneous society and it is therefore no great surprise that robots are already being deployed here to provide care to the elderly. This may seem alienating at first glance, yet despite whatever scepticism we may feel, Japan is at least taking care of its elderly. Professor Saner cites the example of a care home in the USA that drugs its residents into docility to save on staffing costs. «Towards the end of their lives, people are discarded and must endure conditions that are simply not right», Professor Saner reflects.

Ageing-related issues affect society as a whole
There is no one single reason why Professor Saner focuses on ageing; instead, there are at least four. Reason 1: at age 72, he is himself part of the «Graduated Senior Class». Reason 2: his colleagues in Basel who have studied the phenomenon of intergenerational collaboration and its advantages to both age-groups. Reason 3: his work at the UN, where government representatives and NGOs have been holding regular meetings in New York for over 10 years now in order to prepare a convention on the protection of the elderly. Such conventions already exist for children and people with disabilities, but not as yet for the elderly population-group. And reason 4: his Taiwanese wife, Professor Lichia Saner-Yiu. Many of her relatives live in mainland China. There, it is expected that children take unconditional care of their parents, and so there are 240 million elderly people demanding such support from their offspring. This is a colossal figure, as Professor Saner points out, and yet another reason to find clever solutions and technologies for intergenerational co-existence. That is because this burden of expectation is incompatible with the life-plans of many of today’s younger people.

Standardization for the elderly
Professor Saner is bringing his knowledge and experience to bear in the « ISO Working Group 314», set up in 2017. This consists of three areas: «Ageing workforce», «Dementia inclusive» and «Carer inclusive».
His academic interest lies in being able to help shape sustainable standards for the workplace and for the co-existence of the different age-groups. He cites a Swiss study that found that over 23% of employees aged over 65 would like to continue working. This poses fresh challenges for employees and policy-makers. On the one hand, they must prevent older employees from taking younger people’s jobs. On the other hand, it is irrational to disregard the institutional knowledge and experience of seniors. The task is to find new solutions in the constellation of employers-pensioners-workers and also to prepare pensioners for entirely new opportunities. This is where standards come into play. We must not forget that the retired age groups also make a valuable contribution to their country. They continue to vote, pay taxes and keep society functioning with their volunteering work.
The ISO working group has representatives from China and Thailand through to Europe, Canada and the USA. «We are like the UN in miniature», Professor Saner opines. The working group is active as a participant at, and organiser of, conferences in China and Europe, and promotes international dialogue. The University of Venice, which offers a Master’s degree in Ageing, is also a partner. The working group also functions as an advisory body to companies and policy-makers. Professor Saner hopes that specific measures can be implemented in collaboration with companies in future. He is open to any related enquiries.

Culture is acquired knowledge
Alongside new standards, cultural change is also required. In our current society, when elderly people behave in unfamiliar ways, this is often rejected or even sanctioned. Yet many of them no longer wish to conform to the outmoded roles ascribed to seniors. This often leads to conflict, especially in countries with traditional and rigid social conventions. What is needed here is understanding on the part of the younger generation. For example, can one blame a professor if he does not want to spend his retirement serving merely as a childminder to his grandchildren? The generations must engage in mutual dialogue; even if elderly people may at first seem like silent, uninteresting people, they have stories to tell. «It is only when you encourage people to converse that you truly get to know them and their situation», Professor Saner says hearteningly. Interestingly, it is not just physical and mental exercise that keeps us young, but also human interaction and debate. And the longer that elderly people stay fit, the more beneficial this is to society as a whole.

Hopes for the future
When asked what the benefits of ageing are, Professor Saner opines: «Calmness. And I do not just allow myself to be guided by surface appearances any more, but instead tend to focus on the background context when it comes to people and situations.» When talking with him, one senses this reflectiveness on the part of the once typically rebellious member of the 1968 protest movement, and the fact that he has never lost his curiosity. His impressive wall of books attests to the fact that reading and writing are very important to him, and so it comes as no surprise that he was up until 1 a.m., completing his latest manuscript, the night before our Skype call. The fact that he can still – as he himself puts it – get away with this and achieve such things is the result not only of his physical health but also his mental fitness.
Professor Saner’s hope for the future is «that people remember that the future cannot simply be extrapolated from the present. That one entrusts oneself and the elderly with greater creative scope than is currently the case. That people forget outmoded stereotypes and thereby allow themselves to remain open to new knowledge and contribute to finding new solutions in collaboration with their fellow humans». Because, he adds, the world of the future will pose challenges and demand solutions that are unimaginable to us today. Look forward to new mental images.

Our sincere thanks to Professor Saner for giving us his valuable time.

Professor Raymond Saner

He was born in Switzerland in 1947 and is a Swiss citizen. He speaks fluent German, English and French. He holds a doctorate in Social Psychology from the Union Graduate School, Cincinnati, Ohio; a Master’s degree in Education from Lesley University Cambridge; and a BA in Economics from the University of Basel.

Dr Saner has over 20 years’ experience in the designing and management of projects for the development of institutions and the establishment of capacities in the public sector around the world. He has worked as a consultant to European and Asian governments, multinational companies and international organizations, including the United Nations development programme, the World Trade Organization and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. Most recently, he worked as a project manager overseeing – among other things – the development of managerial training centres in Russia and institutional reforms in Eastern Europe and South America. As a former lecturer at New York University’s Graduate School of Business, he is currently lecturing on international negotiation at the University of Basel (Switzerland) and previously served a guest professor at INSEAD (France).

The Centre for Socio-Eco-Nomic-Development (CSEND)
The CSEND is dedicated to finding socio-economic approaches to tackling the new challenges of the coming years and continuing in its role as a pioneer at the cutting edge of social, economic and political innovation.

Find out more

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Please calculate 3 plus 2.

All your data will be treated as strictly confidential and will only be used for the purposes of answering your query. For details on how your data will be processed, please refer to our Privacy Statement.

Back to top
Languages available

SNV-Story #9: Alter spielt sich auch im Kopf ab

Porträt des Normenexperten Prof. Raymond Saner

Woran denken Sie beim Stichwort ältere Menschen? An einen einsamen Herrn mit Krawatte und Hut, der den ganzen Tag auf der Parkbank sitzt? An eine freundliche Grossmutter, die mit ihren Enkeln Apfelkuchen bäckt? An einen 60-jährigen Arbeitskollegen, der das neue Computerprogramm immer noch nicht beherrscht? Oder an einen 70-Jährigen, der mit violetter Punkfrisur und Lederjacke sein Bike ausfährt? Das letzte Bild war nicht in Ihrem Kopf, richtig? Wir haben mit Prof. Raymond Saner über das Alter, gesellschaftliche Konventionen und seine Arbeit als SNV-Normenexperte gesprochen.

Prof. Raymond ist eine Kapazität auf vielen Gebieten: Titularprofessor an der Universität in Basel (Fachbereich Wirtschaft), Lehrstuhl-Inhaber an der Universität in Lüneburg (Umweltwissenschaften), weltweit gefragter Berater, Gutachter, Partner von Forschungsprojekten bei der UNO, Autor, Verhandlungsexperte, Moderator und SNV-Normenexperte. Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau ist er Gründer des «The Centre for Socio-Eco-Nomic-Development (CSEND)». In erster Linie war er uns ein sehr offener, sympathischer sowie jung gebliebener Gesprächspartner mit einem Baseldytsch, das trotz langer Auslandaufenthalte nichts von seinem Charme verloren hat.

Menschen altern unterschiedlich
Alte Menschen betrachtet man gerne als homogene Gruppe, sind sie aber nicht. Die Altersspanne kann bis zu vier Jahrzehnte und somit gleich mehrere Generationen umfassen. Viele Stereotypen und Missverständnisse prägen das Bild. So werden «die Alten» abgestempelt als diejenigen, die gegen Veränderungen sind, nichts Neues mehr lernen wollen, Junge ablehnen, immer kritisieren, das Gesundheitssystem belasten oder einfache Opfer für Kriminelle sind. Kognitives Altern beginnt jedoch viel früher, als Sie vielleicht denken. Bereits ab 50 ist beispielsweise die Gedächtnisleistung betroffen und auch das Verarbeiten von Informationen macht mehr Mühe.

Untersuchungen zeigen, dass Menschen sehr unterschiedlich altern. Ermutigend ist die Tatsache, dass man durch richtiges Verhalten diesen Prozess verlangsamen oder positiv beeinflussen kann. Trainieren Sie Ihre kognitiven Fähigkeiten – oder wie es Matthias Kliegel, ein Professorenkollege von Raymond Saner sagt: «Use it or lose it». Und wenn Sie Ihr Gedächtnis trainieren, streichen Sie bitte gleich: «Was Hänschen nicht lehrt, lernt Hans nimmer mehr!» aus Ihrem Wortschatz. So weiss man heute, dass auch 100-jährige die Fähigkeit zum Lernen nicht verlernen.

Weltweite Altersentwicklung
Aktuell leben in der Schweiz 19% Menschen, die älter als 65 Jahre sind: 1.15 Mio sind 65-79 und 454‘000 sind 80+. Dabei sind die Frauen in den höheren Altersklassen stärker vertreten als die Männer (Quelle: BFS). In Europa ist Italien das älteste Land. Weltweit wird der Anteil der älteren Bevölkerung (+65) im Jahre 2050 bei 16% liegen. 80% dieser Seniorinnen und Senioren werden in Ländern mit tiefem bis mittlerem Einkommen leben (Quelle: WSIS +15 Virtual Form 2020 organised by CSEND, Outcome Statements). In Japan zählt bereits jeder 3. Einwohner statistisch als alt. Japan hat schon immer eine homogene Gesellschaft bevorzugt und somit ist es auch nicht erstaunlich, dass hier bereits Roboter die Altersbetreuung übernommen haben. Vielleicht mag das auf den ersten Blick befremdlich wirken, doch aller Skepsis zum Trotz: Japan kümmert sich um seine Alten. Prof. Saner nennt ein Beispiel aus den USA, wo private Altersheime ihre Heimbewohner medikamentös ruhig stellen, um Personalkosten einsparen zu können. «Leute werden gegen Ende ihres Lebens parkiert und müssen Zustände über sich ergehen lassen, die einfach nicht richtig sind», sinniert Prof. Saner.

Altersthemen sind Gesellschaftsthemen
Es gibt nicht den einen Grund, weshalb sich Prof. Saner mit dem Altern beschäftigt, es gibt mindestens deren vier. Grund 1: Er zählt sich mit seinen 72 Jahren selbst zur «Graduated Senior Class». Grund 2: Kollegen in Basel, die das Phänomen intergenerationelles Zusammenarbeiten und die Vorteile für beide Altersgruppen erforscht haben. Grund 3: seine Arbeit bei der UNO, wo sich Regierungsvertreter und NGOs seit mehr als 10 Jahren regelmässig in New York treffen, um eine Konvention zum Schutz von älteren Leuten vorzubereiten. Solche Konventionen gibt es bereits für Kinder oder Menschen mit Behinderung, nicht aber für die ältere Bevölkerungsgruppe. Und Grund 4: seine Frau Prof. Lichia Saner-Yiu aus Taiwan. Viele ihrer Verwandten leben in Mainland China. Dort erwartet man von den Kindern, dass sie sich bedingungslos um ihre Eltern kümmern, und so fordern 240 Millionen ältere Menschen diese Unterstützung ein. Eine kolossale Zahl, wie Prof. Saner vermerkt, und ein Grund mehr, clevere Lösungen und auch Technologien für das Zusammenleben der Generationen zu finden. Denn dieses aufgezwungene Pflichtenheft lässt sich heute mit vielen Lebensentwürfen der Kinder nicht mehr vereinbaren.

Normungsarbeit für das Alter
Prof. Saner bringt sein Wissen und seine Erfahrung in die 2017 gegründete Arbeitsgruppe ISO TC 314 Ageing Societies» mit ein. Diese besteht aus drei Arbeitsbereichen: «Ageing workforce», «Dementia inclusive» und «Carer inclusive». Nähere Informationen findet man auch auf der eigenen Website der Arbeitsgruppe.
Sein akademisches Interesse besteht darin, nachhaltige Normen für den Arbeitsplatz und das Zusammenleben mitgestalten zu können. Er nennt eine Untersuchung aus der Schweiz, wonach mehr als 23% der Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer über 65 gerne weiterarbeiten würden. Das stellt den Arbeitgeber sowie die Politik vor neue Herausforderungen. Auf der einen Seite muss verhindert werden, dass ältere Arbeitnehmer jüngeren Personen den Arbeitsplatz wegnehmen. Auf der anderen Seite ist es irrational, auf das institutionelle Wissen und die Erfahrung der Senioren zu verzichten. Es gilt neue Lösungen im Dreieck Arbeitgeber-Pensionierte-Erwerbstätige zu finden oder Pensionierte auf ganz neue Möglichkeiten vorzubereiten. Dabei helfen Normen. Es darf nicht vergessen werden, dass auch pensionierte Altersklassen in einem Land einen wertvollen Beitrag leisten. So stimmen sie weiterhin ab, bezahlen Steuern und halten mit Freiwilligenarbeit die Gesellschaft am Funktionieren.
In der ISO-Arbeitsgruppe sind Mitglieder aus China über Thailand und Europa bis nach Kanada und USA vertreten. «Wir sind wie eine kleine UNO», meint Prof. Saner. Die Arbeitsgruppe ist als Teilnehmerin oder Veranstalterin von Konferenzen in China oder Europa aktiv und fördert so den internationalen Erfahrungsaustausch. Ein weiterer Partner ist die Universität in Venedig, die einen Master Degree in Ageing anbietet. Zudem sieht sich die Arbeitsgruppe als Beraterin für Unternehmen und die Politik. Prof. Saner wünscht sich, dass zukünftig auch konkrete Umsetzungen mit Unternehmen angegangen werden könnten. Für entsprechende Anfragen steht er offen.

Kultur ist gelerntes Wissen
Nebst neuen Normen ist auch ein Kulturwandel erforderlich. Zeigen ältere Menschen heute ungelernte Verhaltensmuster, wird das oft abgelehnt oder sogar sanktioniert. Viele wollen allerdings die ihnen zugewiesene und überholte Seniorenrolle nicht mehr ausfüllen. Vor allem in Ländern mit einem traditionellen und stark reglementierten Gesellschaftsbild führt das häufig zu Konflikten. Das Verständnis der jüngeren Bevölkerung ist gefragt. Kann man es beispielsweise einem Professor verwehren, wenn er im Ruhestand noch mehr bewirken will als nur der Aufpasser seiner Grosskinder zu sein? Zwischen den Generationen muss eine Diskussion stattfinden, auch wenn ältere Menschen auf den ersten Blick vielleicht nur als stumme, wenig spannende Personen auf der Bildfläche erscheinen, sie wissen zu erzählen. «Nur wenn man Leute zum Dialog einlädt, lernt man sie und ihre Situation wirklich kennen», ermutigt Prof. Saner. Spannenderweise hält nicht nur körperliche oder geistige Bewegung jung, sondern auch die zwischenmenschliche Interaktion und das Argumentieren. Und je länger ältere Menschen fit bleiben, desto gewinnender ist das für alle in der Gesellschaft.

Wunsch für die Zukunft
Nachgefragt, was die Vorteile des Alters sind, meint Prof. Saner «Gelassenheit. Und ich orientiere mich nicht mehr nur vordergründig, sondern nehme mehr den Hintergrund von Menschen und Situationen wahr. » Man spürt im Gespräch diese Reflektiertheit des einst typisch rebellischen 68ern und auch, dass er nie aufgehört hat, neugierig zu bleiben. Seine beeindruckende Bücherwand zeugt davon, dass Lesen und Schreiben zentrale Themen sind, und so verwundert es auch nicht, dass er am Vorabend unseres Skype-Gesprächs noch bis um 1 Uhr früh sein neustes Manuskript fertiggestellt hat. Dass er sich das – wie er es selbst nennt – noch gönnen und leisten kann, hat nebst seiner intakten Gesundheit auch mit seinem geistigen Fitnesslevel zu tun.
Prof. Saner wünscht sich für die Zukunft, «Dass Menschen sich daran erinnern, dass man die Zukunft nicht einfach von der Gegenwart extrapolieren kann. Dass man sich und älteren Menschen einen grösseren Spielraum zutraut, als er heute eingenommen wird. Dass man alte Stereotypen verlernt und sich so die Erlaubnis erteilt, offen zu bleiben für neues Wissen und beiträgt neue Lösungen mit seinen Mitmenschen zu erarbeiten». Denn wie er anfügt, wird die Zukunftswelt Herausforderungen und Lösungen parat halten, die wir uns heute noch gar nicht vorstellen können. Freuen Sie sich auf neue Bilder im Kopf.

Herzlichen Dank, Herr Prof. Saner, für Ihre wertvolle Zeit.

Prof. Raymond Saner

Er wurde 1947 in der Schweiz geboren und ist Schweizer Staatsbürger. Er spricht fliessend Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch. Er besitzt einen Doktortitel in Sozialpsychologie der Union Graduate School, Cincinnati, Ohio, einen Master in Education, Lesley University Cambridge, und einen BA in Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Universität Basel.

Dr. Saner verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der Konzeption und Leitung von Projekten zur Entwicklung von Institutionen und zum Aufbau von Kapazitäten im öffentlichen Sektor auf der ganzen Welt. Er war als Berater für europäische und asiatische Regierungen, multinationale Unternehmen und internationale Organisationen tätig, darunter das Entwicklungsprogramm der Vereinten Nationen, die Welthandelsorganisation und die Europäische Bank für Wiederaufbau und Entwicklung. In jüngster Zeit war er als Projektleiter unter anderem für die Entwicklung von Ausbildungszentren für Führungskräfte in Russland und für institutionelle Reformen in Osteuropa und Südamerika verantwortlich. Als ehemaliger Lehrbeauftragter an der Graduate School of Business der New York University lehrt er derzeit an der Universität Basel (Schweiz) über internationale Verhandlungen und war Gastprofessor am INSEAD (Frankreich).

The Centre for Socio-Eco-Nomic-Development (CSEND)
Das CSEND hat sich verpflichtet, den neuen Herausforderungen der kommenden Jahre mit sozio-ökonomischen Ansätzen zu begegnen und weiterhin eine Vorreiterrolle im Grenzbereich der sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Innovation zu spielen.

Erfahren Sie mehr

SI_Pfeil_recht_weiss
Was ist die Summe aus 9 und 3?

Wir behandeln Ihre Daten vertraulich und verwenden diese ausschliesslich zur Beantwortung Ihrer Anfrage. Wie Ihre Daten verarbeitet werden, sehen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Nach oben
Verfügbare Sprachen